Second Oldest Church

The Trinity United Methodist Church
Methodism was first preached in the area in 1816. Reverend Moses Potter
held services in the log schoolhouse. Circuit riders also held services when in
the area.
The Methodist Episcopal Church was built in 1870 and dedicated in 1871
when Rev. J.H. Knott was the pastor.
With a growing congregation and the closing of the Columbia Methodist
meeting house, the decision was made to renovate and enlarge the building.
The Reverend Guy Roberts was the pastor during the renovations which
were completed in 1908.
The word “Episcopal” was dropped from the name in 1939.
The Methodist Church has the largest seating capacity of any church in town
allowing many concerts and large funerals to be held there.
The four stained glass windows on the Bridge Street side are unique. They
represent four organizations: The Grand Army of the Republic, The Grange,
The Knights of Pythias, and The Odd Fellows.
Information provided by Arnold Goodrum, President of the Colebrook
Historical Society.
Picture provided by Shannon Pryor