Uploaded by johnsonxx003

Blooms Taxonomy

Garrett Johnson
February 9, 2019
Bloom’s Taxonomy
In 1956 Benjamin Bloom and his colleagues came up with what is called Bloom’s
Taxonomy, an essential framework for teachers to use to zero in on higher order
thinking. It gives a hierarchy of six levels, which can help educators in creating
questions. Not all questions are on the same level and Bloom’s Taxonomy asserts that
learning should be progressive from lower to higher levels of cognitive thinking. This
resource was revised in 2001 by a group of cognitive psychologists. The six different
cognitive levels from simple to complex are as follows: remember, understand, apply,
analize, evaluate, and create. The first level, or foundation, is remembering. Being able
to recall or recognise facts. The second level is understanding. Where an individual
comprehends the material and can explain concepts. Third is applying. Here you begin
to implement your understanding in new situations. At the next step you are able to
analyze and break the material apart into pieces and understand how they relate to one
another and the overall purpose. At the fifth level you evaluate through comparing
things to standards. On the sixth and most complex level you understand the material
so, that you are able to rearrange and the elements and put it together into a new
original work around the subject.