The Republic of China Powerpoint Notes

The Republic
of China
• 1911: Republican Revolution overthrew Qing
• 1912: Yuan Shikai became president and
later dictator.
• 1916-1927: Warlord Period.
• 1927: Nationalists turned on Communists
after defeating warlords.
• 1934: Communists went on Long March.
• 1931-1945: Japanese invasion.
• 1945: Communists and Nationalists
battled for control of China.
• 1949: Nationalists fled to Taiwan.
Communists were victorious and
proclaimed the People’s Republic of
Sun Yatsen
• Leader of Republican
Revolution of 1911
• Rallied supporters with
his “Three Principles of
the People”
– Nationalism
– Democracy
– Livelihood
Yuan Shikai
• Manchu general
• Joined revolution instead
of crushing it
• Became China’s first
president in 1912
• Disbanded government
and ruled as a dictator
• Tried to become emperor
• Died in 1916, throwing
China into chaos
Warlord Period
• 1916 to 1927
• China dominated
by different
regional military
• Nationalist and
Parties grow in
Nationalist Party
• Kuomintang (KMT)
• Founded by Sun Yatsen
• Later led by Chiang Kaishek
• Gained control of China
in 1927 with support of
Communist Party
• Chinese Communist Party
• Grew out of May 4th
Movement (1919)
• Founded in 1921
• Later led by Mao Zedong
Nationalists vs. Communists
• After working together
to defeat warlords,
Nationalists turned on
the Communists in
• Communists were
forced on the Long
March in 1934
• Mao Zedong emerged
as Communist leader
The Long
Japanese Invasion
• 1931: Japan invaded
Manchuria and
established Manchuko
with Pu Yi as the
puppet emperor
• 1937: Japan launched
major invasion and
occupied Shanghai and
Rape of Nanking
• After a bloody battle
to take Shanghai,
the Japanese
moved on Nanking
• Nanking fell with
little resistance due
to poor Chinese
military leadership
• Massacre occurred over a six week period starting on
December 14, 1937
• 300,000 estimated deaths
• Over 10 million Chinese died during WWII