Winners 2009/10

2009/10 winners:
Overall Winners:
Mathilde van der Merwe of Stellenbosch University for her article In memory of a snail , and Melissa
Boonzaaier of Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University for an audio script on the sea turtles of South
The two runners-up are Subhashin Pillay of Wits for her article on the science romantic love, and Sediqa
Khatieb of the SA National Biodiversity Institute for her audio script on Geographical Information
Special winners:
The competition this time also had special prizes for the best article and script on genetics and related
research in South Africa. The prizes were awarded to Dionne Shepherd of the University of Cape Town
for her article on epigenetics, which she calls “the soft side of evolutionary theory”, and Lauren Brom of
the University of Pretoria for her script titled Getting to the root of stem cells.