Reading and Writing Skills for
Students of Literature in English:
Modernism and Modernity
Enric Monforte
Jacqueline Hurtley
Bill Phillips
Cicely Hamilton
How the Vote Was Won (1909)
Cicely Hamilton (1872-1952)
The campaign for women’s suffrage
1832 First Reform Act
1860 Suffrage societies formed
John Stuart Mill
1867 Second Reform Act
1870 Married Women’s Property Act
First women admitted to Cambridge
University (1871)
Newnham began in a house for five students in
Regent Street, Cambridge. Lectures for Ladies
had been started and such was the demand from
those who could not travel in and out on a daily
basis, that the philosopher Henry Sidgwick, one
of the organisers of the lectures, risked renting a
house in which young women attending the
lectures could reside. He persuaded Anne
Jemima Clough, who had previously run a school
in the Lake District, to take charge of this house.
1882 Married Women’s Property Act
1884 Third Reform Act
The fin-de-siècle
The ‘womanly woman’ vs.
the ‘New woman’
National Union of Women’s Suffrage
Societies (NUWSS) (1897)
Dame Millicent Fawcett (née Garrett)
(1847-1929), suffragist and educational
reformer who led the women’s suffrage
movement for over five decades. A
founder of Newnham College, Cambridge
International Women’s Suffrage
Alliance (1902)
The International Women’s Suffrage Alliance
was founded at the initiative of Carrie Chapman
Catt (1859-1947), president of the National
American Woman Suffrage Association. By the
end of 1920 it had affiliated societies in 30
countries throughout the world, with its
headquarters in London.
The aim of the Alliance was to aid the
enfranchisement of the women of all nations
through the international co-operation of the
national societies
Women’s Social and Political Union
(WSPU) (1903)
Mrs Emmeline Pankhurst
Statue of Emmeline Pankhurst by
the Houses of Parliament, London
(Left) Artists’ Suffrage
League (1907)
(Right) A march of The
Actresses' Franchise
League (created in 1908)
at Hyde Park Corner,
London (ca.1913)
Men’s League for Women’s Suffrage (1907)
Women Writers’ Suffrage League (1908)
In 1908 two members of the Women’s Social and Political
Union (WSPU), Cicely Hamilton and Bessie Hatton, formed
the Women Writers’ Suffrage League (WWSL). The WWSL
stated that its object was "to obtain the vote for women on the
same terms as it is or may be granted to men. Its methods are
those proper to writers - the use of the pen”.
1914-1918 First World War
1918 Women Suffrage Act
1928 All women over 21 given vote
Some suffrage plays
Florence Bell and Elizabeth Robins, Alan’s
Wife (1893)
Elizabeth Robins (left), Votes for Women (1907)
Inez Bensusan, The Apple (1909)
Beatrice Harraden, Lady Geraldine’s Speech (1909)
Bessie Hatton, Before Sunrise (1909)
Gertrude Jennings, A Woman’s Influence (1909)
Elizabeth Baker, Chains (1909), Miss Tassey (1910),
Edith (1912), Partnership (1917).
Some suffrage plays
Maud Arncliffe-Sennet, An Englishwoman’s
Home (1910)
H.M.Paull, The Anti-Suffragist (1910)
Vera Wentworth, An Allegory (1911)
Evelyn Glover, A Chat with Mrs Chiky (1912)
Miss Appleyard’s Awakening (1912)
Githa Sowerby, Rutherford and Son (1912)
Francis Sheehy Skeffington (right), The
Prodigal Daughter (1914)
Some of Cicely Hamilton’s works
• The Sixth Commandment (1906)
• Diana of Dobson’s (1908)
• Marriage as a Trade, How the Vote Was Won
and A Pageant of Great Women (1909)
• Just to Get Married and The Homecoming
• A Matter of Money (1911)
Some of Cicely Hamilton’s works
• Phyl (1913)
• First war novel:William, the Englishman
• Second war novel: Theodore Savage (1922)
• The Old Adam (1926)
• Full Stop (1931)
• Autobiography: Life Errant (1935)
• Essay: Lament for Democracy (1940)
How the Vote
Was Won (1909)
The cast of How the Vote Was Won