Suffrage at Last

• Leaders of women’s suffrage - Lucretia Mott, Elizabeth Cady

Stanton, and Susan B. Anthony

• In 1866, Anthony and Stanton founded American Equal Rights


• In 1890 – Wyoming first state to grant full women’s suffrage

Civil disobedience - nonviolent refusal to obey a law in an effort to change it

• Two paths toward suffrage:

• 1. Constitutional amendment

• 2. Individual states hold power

• Constitutional amendment approach stalled many times before

• 1890 – Anthony, Stanton, and Stone founded the National

American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA)

• From 1892 – 1900 Anthony served as president of organization

• Carrie Chapman Catt and Alice Paul emerges

• Formed the Congressional Union (CU) – organization founded by


• A split in the movement had Paul performing radical militant movements while Catt and the NAWSA discouraged those actions

• Catt worked on state suffrage campaigns

• In 1917 New York allowed women’s suffrage

• WWI had more women in factories than ever before

• 18 th Amendment – prohibited liquor – no longer fought suffrage

• 1919 - Congress proposed and passed the suffrage amendment 19 th

Amendment – last major reform of Progressivism