Media Planning Worksheet The Basics Reach: Percentage of people (or HH’s) who see and ad at least once. (Average) Frequency: Number of times people see the ad on average GRP’s: Gross rating points—Total weight of a plan=Reach X Frequency TARP’s: Total target audience rating points—Total weight of plan to target= Target Reach X Frequency Efficiency Measures CPM=Cost of ad X 1,000/Total viewers CPP=Cost of ad/rating Cost Tonight Show $75,000 American Idol $300,000 Note: Total US Households: 110,000,000 Households (Reach) 7,400,000 19,000,000 Rating 6.7 17.2 Calculate the CPM and the CPP for each show: Tonight Show: CPM ________________ CPP________________ American Idol: CPM ________________ CPP________________ Putting Reach and Frequency Together Effective Reach (Frequency) = Percentage of people with 3 + exposures All plans with a reach of 60% and an average frequency of 6 will have 360 GRP’s BUT their EFFECTIVE REACH could be very different! Why? Because of frequency distribution. Here are two frequency distributions for a plan with 60% Reach and 6 Average Frequency Frequency Distribution: Quintiles Top 20% Next 20% Next 20% Next 20% Bottom 20% Frequency (Plan 1) 10 8 6 4 2 Frequency (Plan 2) 18 6 3 2 1 Plans one and two both have average frequency of 6, but plan one has an effective reach of 48%. Plan two has an effective reach of _____________.