Suggested Titles Available in Our School Library
Cole, J. (1996). The magic school bus blows its top: a book about volcanoes. New York, NY:
Scholastic. J 551.21 COL

The class learns about volcanoes as they take an explosive field trip.
Langley, A. (2006). Hurricanes, tsunamis, and other natural disasters. Boston, MA:
Kingfisher. 363.34 LAN

Stunning photographs help take readers into the world of natural
disasters.
Lauber, P. (1993). Volcano: the eruption and healing of Mount St. Helens. New York, NY: Aladdin
Paperbacks. 551.2 LAU

Provides a visual account of the destruction created by the 1980
Mount Saint Helens eruption and how the surrounding area has
recovered since.
Murray, P. (1996). Volcanoes. Plymouth, MN: Child's World. J 551.2 MUR

Explains the geological structure of volcanoes and their causes.
Place, M. (1981). Mount St. Helens : a sleeping volcano awakens. New York, NY:
Dodd, Mead. 979.7 PLA

Discusses the 1980 eruptions of Mount Saint Helens, one of the active
volcanoes that rings the Pacific Ocean.
Rubin, K. (2007). Volcanoes & earthquakes. New York, NY: Simon & Schuster Books for Young
Readers. 551.21 RUB

Brings volcanoes and earthquakes to life with 3-D illustrations.
Thompson, B. (1977). Volcanoes. Minneapolis, MN: Lerner Publications Co. J 551.2 THO

Introduces the formation of volcanoes to young readers with
descriptions of famous volcanoes both active and dormant.
Watts, C. (2006). Natural disasters. New York, NY: DK Publishing. 363.34 WAT

Describes a wide range of natural disasters including earthquakes,
tsunamis, floods, volcanoes, landslides, hurricanes, tornadoes,
wildfires, and epidemics.
Suggested Titles Available at the Local Library
Fradin, J. and D. (2007). Volcanoes. Washington, D.C.: National Geographic. J 551.21 FRA

Provides an introduction to volcanoes and colorful illustrations of
formations.
Jennings, T. (2010). Violent volcanoes. Mankato, MN: Smart Apple Media. J 551.21

Discusses volcanoes and how they work using dynamic full-color
photographs, cutaway diagrams, maps, statistics, and case studies.
Lindeen, M. (2008). Anatomy of a volcano. New York, NY: Children's Press. J 551.21 LIN

Describes volcanic structures and the effects volcanoes have on the
environment.
O'Meara, D. (2008). Volcano : a visual guide. Richmond Hill, Ont.: Firefly Books. 551.21 DON

Describes the features and structure of volcanoes, the factors that
determine whether a volcano is active, dormant, or extinct; and what
volcanoes reveal about the geological history of Earth.
Rau, D. (2008). Volcanoes. New York, NY: Marshall Cavendish Benchmark. J 551.21 RAU

Provides a basic introduction to volcanoes, including geographical
information and what happens when they erupt.
Schreiber, A. (2008). Volcanoes! Washington, D.C.: National Geographic. J 551 SCH

Offers a stunning visual look at the formation and explosive beauty of
a live volcano during the various stages of eruption.
Schuh, M. (2010). Volcanoes. Mankato, MN: Capstone Press. J 551.21

Describes volcanoes, how they form, and the damage they cause.
Van Rose, S. (2008). Volcano. New York, NY: DK Publishing. J 551.2 VAN

Details the power of volcanoes and earthquakes--from hot spots to
tsunamis.
Periodical Articles
Adam, C. (2009). GO WITH THE FLOW. Travel Weekly Australia, (123), 30-36. Retrieved from
Business Source Premier database.

Provides a personal account of her trip to volcanic hotspots in the
Hawaiian Islands.
Bojanowski, A. (2009). Plan to pierce heart of "supercolossal" volcano. New Scientist,
204(2733), 18-19. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.

Details a drilling experiment taking place in Europe to relieve pressure
building in a dangerous volcano.
Bollschweiler, M., Stoffel, M., Vázquez-Selem, L., & Palacios, D. (2010). Tree-ring reconstruction
of past lahar activity at Popocatépetl volcano, Mexico. Holocene, 20(2), 265-274.
Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.

Explains the process scientists are using to project potential
hazardous volcanic areas using residual data from previous eruptions.
Geiger, B. (2010). ACTIVE EARTH. National Geographic Explorer, 9(4), 8. Retrieved from MAS
Ultra - School Edition database.

Explains the relationship between the formation of the earth and
cataclysmic events such as volcanoes.
Joel, A. (2010). It's hard to put a finger on a volcano's pulse. Washington Post, The, Retrieved
from Newspaper Source database.

Focuses on the difficulties seismologists face when trying to
accurately predict volcanic eruptions.
Troy, L. (2010). Blast nearly wiped man off planet. Daily Telegraph, The (Sydney), 46.
Retrieved from Newspaper Source database.

Discusses the scientific belief that volcanoes nearly caused the
extinction of mankind more than 71,000 years ago.
Reference Books
Volcano. (2000). World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia. (Vol. 12, pp. 54-57). Chicago,
IL: World Book, Inc.
Volcano. (2000). Raintree Steck-Vaughn Illustrated Science Encyclopedia. (Vol. 22, pp. 20262031). Austin, TX: Raintree Steck-Vaughn, Inc.
Volcano. (2005). World Book Encyclopedia. (Vol. 20, pp. 438-443). Chicago, IL: World Book, Inc.
Internet Resources
American Red Cross. (2010). Preparing For Events, Volcanoes. Retrieved April 22, 2010, from
the American Red Cross website:
http://www.redcross.org/portal/site/en/menuitem.86f46a12f382290517a8f210b80f78a
0/?vgnextoid=49105d795323b110VgnVCM10000089f0870aRCRD&vgnextfmt=def

Learn how to prepare for the threat of a volcano with help from the
American Red Cross.
Annenberg Media. (2010). Volcanoes. Retrieved April 22, 2010, from the Annenberg Media
website: http://www.learner.org/interactives/volcanoes/entry.html

Presents an interactive hands-on look at volcanic structures and
formation.
Camp, V. (2006, March 31). How Volcanoes Work. Retrieved April 21, 2010, from How
Volcanoes Work website:
http://www.geology.sdsu.edu/how_volcanoes_work/index.html

Educational website that explores the science behind volcanic
eruptions.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention. (2010, April 15). Emergency
Preparedness and Response. Retrieved April 23, 2010, from the Center for
Disease Control and Prevention and Prevention website:
http://www.bt.cdc.gov/disasters/volcanoes/

Provides information to protect yourself in the case of a volcanic
eruption.
Discovery Channel. (2010). Pompeii: The Last Day. Retrieved April 19, 2010, from the Discovery
Channel website: http://dsc.discovery.com/convergence/pompeii/pompeii.html

Although this site focuses on the volcanic disaster in Pompeii nearly
2,100 years ago, it also includes a virtual volcano and stunning
eruption footage.
FEMA for Kids: Volcanoes. (2009, June 4). Retrieved April 22, 2010, from the Federal
Emergency Management Agency website: http://www.fema.gov/kids/volcano.htm

This site is filled with kid-friendly facts and photos.
Harris, T. (2010). How Volcanoes Work. Retrieved April 22, 2010, from How Stuff Works
website: http://science.howstuffworks.com/volcano.htm

Just as the name of the site indicates, How Stuff Works explains the
volcanic process through various pictures and videos.
National Geographic. (2009). Volcanoes, Earthquakes, Hurricanes, and Tornados – Forces of
Nature. Retrieved April 21, 2010, from the National Geographic Society website:
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/forcesofnature/interactive/index.html

National Geographic provides an interactive website that focuses on
several types of natural disasters.
National Geographic. (2010). Volcanoes: Earth’s Fiery Power. Retrieved April 20, 2010, from the
National Geographic website:
http://environment.nationalgeographic.com/environment/natural-disasters/volcanoprofile/

National Geographic provides amazing volcanic eruption photos on
this site.
Oregon State University. (2010, April 21). Volcano World. Retrieved April 22, 2010, from
Volcano World website: http://volcano.oregonstate.edu/

Investigates volcanoes with up-to-date video and photographic
content.
Pacific Northwest Volcano Seismicity. (2007, October 1). Retrieved April 22, 2010, from the
Pacific Northwest Seismic Network website:
http://www.ess.washington.edu/SEIS/PNSN/INFO_GENERAL/volcanoes.html

Provides summaries and facts on seismic activity and eruptions in the
Pacific Northwest over the last 4,000 years.
Smithsonian Institution. (2010). Global Volcanism Program. Retrieved April 19, 2010, from the
Smithsonian Institution website: http://www.volcano.si.edu/

A thoroughly informative site with compelling photos and interactive
functions throughout.
Team 17457. (1998). Volcanoes Online. Retrieved April 22, 2010, from the Thinkquest website:
http://library.thinkquest.org/17457/

Thinkquest offers a very informative student-created site that
explains volcanoes and plate tectonics with kid-friendly graphics.
Tilling, R. (1997, May 7). Volcanoes. Retrieved April 21, 2010, from the United States Geological
Survey website: http://pubs.usgs.gov/gip/volc/

An online version of the 1968 book by Robert Tilling with plenty of
great information and photos.
Topinka, L. (2010, November 12). Volcanoes. Retrieved April 22, 2010, from the United States
Geological Survey website: http://vulcan.wr.usgs.gov/Volcanoes/framework.html

Provides a semi-conclusive list of volcanoes around the world with
specific information on each.
United States Geological Survey. (2010, April 17). Volcano Hazards Program. Retrieved April 21,
2010, from the United States Geological Survey website: http://volcanoes.usgs.gov/

Warns users of the latest U.S. volcano alerts and updates.
Weston, M. (2010, April 15) Volcanoes.com. Retrieved April 20, 2010, from Volcanoes.com
website: http://www.volcanoes.com/

Provides great volcano photos, information, and stories.
Volcano Discovery. (2010, April 18). Retrieved April 21, 2010, from the Volcano Discovery
website: http://www.volcanodiscovery.com/

Really want to get an up-close look at a volcano? This excursion site
offers guided tours for the adventurous researcher.
Volcano World 4-Kids. (2010). Retrieved April 22, 2010, from the Oregon State University
website: http://volcano.oregonstate.edu/oldroot/kids/index.html

A fun easy-to-understand educational site for kids and educators
alike. Site includes games and a virtual field trip.
Volcanoes. (2010, April 22). Retrieved April 22, 2010, from the New York Times website:
http://topics.nytimes.com/top/news/science/topics/volcanoes/index.html

Presents various volcano-related news articles that have appeared in
The New York Times.
Video Recordings
Burns, P., Hodgins, S., & Schnier, S. (Producers), & Jacobs, L. (Director). (1996). The magic school
bus blows its top [VHS]. United States: Atlantic.

Ms. Frizzle's class is having a hard time putting together a giant globe
of the world because a piece is missing --an island so new it has not
been discovered yet! So the kids take a field trip and search beneath
the ocean's surface, exploring an underwater volcano. The class
learns all about volcanoes.
D’Amelio, P. (Producer). (1980) The eruption of Mt. St. Helens [VHS]. United States:
Finley-Holiday Film Corporation.

A documentary of the eruption of the famous Washington volcano
which killed over 50 people and caused 26 lakes to disappear.
Footage of the area before, during and after the eruption.
Jampel, B. & Seamans, J. (Producers). (1998). In the shadow of Vesuvius [VHS]. United States:
National Geographic Society.

Presents the history of the volcano Vesuvius which has erupted fifty
times since the Roman era, and shows several other volcano sites
located near human dwellings. Gives a brief summary of plate
tectonics and tells how scientists try to predict future eruptions.
Low, A., Caron, D., Cameron, J., Antonecchia, L., & Serapiglia, P. (Producers). (2003).
Volcanoes of the Deep [DVD]. United States: Image Entertainment.

A dramatic look at beautiful underwater volcanoes teeming with
strange creatures.
Najar, A., Kirsch, J., Wolfe, M., Day, M., & Novros, P. (Producers). (2006). Ring of Fire – IMAX
[DVD]. United States: Vista Point Entertainment.

An up-close and personal view of volcanoes, Ring of Fire conveys all of
the stunning visual images movie-goers have come to expect from an
IMAX film.