A Day in the Life of a Nepali 10-Year

advertisement
A Day in the Life of a
Nepali 10-Year-Old
By Christina Witter
5th Grade Teacher in Northville, MI
Namaste! My name is Apar.
I am 10 years old. I live in Nepal.
Nepal is a small country in
Southeast Asia. It borders India
and China.
Nepal is most famous because it
has Mount Everest.
Nepal is very beautiful!
I live with my mom, dad, annoying
little sister, grandma, and grandpa.
We live in a big house in a
neighborhood called Simpani.
Simpani is in a city called Pokhara.
Pokhara is the second largest city in Nepal.
It is very beautiful because it has a lake
called Fewa Tal (“tal” means lake in Nepali)
and big mountains. That’s Fish Tail
mountain in the picture!
Everyday I wake up at 5:30 in the morning.
I eat a small breakfast of roti (bread) and
chiya (tea). Then I do my chores. Usually I
have to mop the floors. After I do my
chores, I finish my homework.
At 9:30, I eat my lunch of vegetables and
rice, and I then put on my uniform for school.
These are pictures of my kitchen where my
mom prepares my delicious food.
My school is very close to my house so I can
walk there, but many students have to ride
the bus. I go to school everyday except
Saturday. School starts at 10:00 with
Assembly. The whole school meets for 30
minutes to sing and do exercises.
I take lots of classes at school: science, drawing, English,
social studies, Nepali, and math. We also have a 15 minute
break for “tiffin” (that’s snack time). My classmates and I
always greet my teacher when she comes into our
classroom and when she leaves it.
When I get home from school at 4:15, I take off
my uniform and have another snack. After I work
on my homework, I can play football (soccer) with
the other boys in the neighborhood.
Dinnertime! I eat dinner with my family at 9:00. We always
have dhal bhat—that’s lentils over rice—and some
vegetables. When dinner is done, it’s time for bed!
Pheri Bhetula!
(That means I hope we meet again someday!)
Download
Random flashcards
State Flags

50 Cards Education

Countries of Europe

44 Cards Education

Art History

20 Cards StudyJedi

Sign language alphabet

26 Cards StudyJedi

Create flashcards