Uploaded by Kartik Goel

New Kingdom Analysis

New Kingdom
The ancient Egyptian history is divided into 3 time phases, namely
the old kingdom, the middle kingdom and the new kingdom.
The Old Kingdom existed from the period 2700 BCE to 2200 BCE. The
Pharaohs had the complete control over the kingdom. The Pharaohs
constructed many pyramids, which were paid for with money from
the treasury. The Pharaohs were worshipped as the God's
representatives on Earth. The capital of this kingdom was at
Memphis, where the upper and lower Nile joined together.
The Middle Kingdom lasted period from 2100 BCE to 1800 BCE.
During this period, trade was the major activity and it was very
prosperous. In the middle ages, the Egyptians strengthened their
military strength. There was significant growth in the areas of arts,
science, and literature with respect to the old kingdom. Pharaohs, in
this period, were not buried in pyramids any longer; instead they
were buried in the hidden tombs. The capital of the middle ages was
at Thebes.
The New Kingdom existed from the period 1500 BCE to 1000 BCE
and it included the 18th, 19th and 20th dynasties. A lot of new items
were introduced into the country during this time. These included
items such as the horse, chariots, and bronze weapons. The Kings, in
the new ages, were buried in the Valley of the Kings and the
construction of the pyramids stopped in this period. In this period,
two types of temples were constructed, namely cult temples and
mortuary temples. Cult temples were popularly known as “mansions
of the gods” and mortuary temples (where the dead pharaohs were
worshiped) were known as “mansions of millions of years”.
The Egyptians migrated beyond their borders in search of other
areas; for example, they went to Nubia and modern day Israel. This
period in the new age is considered a highly prosperous time period
in the history of new Egypt. Egypt, in the new age, also reached the
peak of its power during this time.