ECO Seed Association to have it first Annual Congress

ECO Seed Association to have it first Annual Congress
The 10 member countries of the Economic Cooperation Organization
(ECO) region comprising Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Islamic Republic of
Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkey,
Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan made history on Friday 18 July in
Istanbul, Turkey by announcing the birth of the new regional seed
association for the ECO region. This outcome under the aegis of the
ECO Secretariat as an out-put of FAO-funded intra-regional Technical
Cooperation Project implemented jointly with ICARDA.
The ECO Seed Association (ECOSA) will have its first annual congress
2-4 December in Antalya, Turkey. There is great potential for
agricultural expansion and diversification in the region that provides
exciting opportunities for the seed sector. The Conference will provide
a forum to promote regional seed trade among seed companies
within and outside the region and to share experiences among
stakeholders of the seed industry. Conference participants will come
from the private sector (seed companies, agricultural input suppliers,
seed equipment manufacturers), public sector,
international/regional/national seed trade associations and
international/ regional development organizations working on seeds.
While the main focus of the conference will be on seed trade, the
conference program includes seed-related technical workshops on a
variety of themes
For more information: