Catholic Unity The four Marks of the Catholic Church Creed

Church Tradition Notes
Catholic = Universal, open to all
Unity – Oneness, The quality of being one in spirit, sentiment and purpose.
The four Marks of the Catholic Church 1.
Creed = “credo” – I believe or I set my heart on.
A formal statement defining our COR beliefs.
The structure highlights the Holy Trinity: Father/Son/Holy Spirit
Apostles Creed – Stems from the very early church and acts as the foundation for church
Nicene Creed – Officially accepted at the council of Nicea (325 CE), said during Mass.
Accepted by the major divisions of Christianity: Roman Catholic, Orthodox, Protestant
Pope = father
Leader of the Holy Roman Catholic Church
A symbol of our unity as the people of God
Main part of the Magisterium
Magisterium = to teach
The official voice of the Church.
Contains the Pope, Cardinals and Bishops of the world Church.
Has a moral obligation to enlighten and educate without judgment.
Teaches in several forms:
Pastoral letters-written by Bishops for their own dioceses.
Teaching documents-written by Bishops during a world gathering or "Synod"
Papal Encyclical-letter from the Pope to the worldwide church.
Official teachings are called:
Doctrines: Teachings which retain their fundamental truths but can evolve over time.
Dogmas: Teachings and statements of faith regarding truths which do not change,
Tradition = “To hand over”
Gifts of the Catholic Tradition:
A sense of the sacramental: God encountered in life’s ordinary events
Emphasis on the Communal: The essential aspect of Community
Commitment to faith and reason: intelligence and faith reveal God’s truth
A love for the saints: Who lead by example and act as role models
Catholics believe truth comes from Scripture, Tradition and Experience
Sacred Scripture grew from the experience of our traditions.
“t” tradition – non-essential, but important practices such as holy water, stations of the
cross and the Rosary. The faith will remain with or without them.
“T” tradition – The essential piece the faith cannot live without, i.e. Celebration of the
Eucharist, Community and belief in the Trinity.
Read in your CFHB: Chs. 11,12, pgs. 37-38.