Karen Beckman is the Elliot and Roslyn Jaffe Professor of Cinema and Modern Media
in the Department of the History of Art, University of Pennsylvania. She has served as
interim chair of her department. The author of two books and the editor of two
collections, she holds degrees from Cambridge and Princeton.
B. Glenn Chandler is a Professor of Music theory and the Florence T. Hall Centennial
Chair in Music at the University of Texas. He is a Jean Philippe Rameau scholar and
choral conductor. While serving on the Executive Board of the Texas Association of
Music Schools, he also heads the General Music Commission and is an accreditation
evaluator for the National Association of Schools of Music, having chaired the evaluation
committee for numerous music schools across the country. From 2001 to 2012, Dr.
Chandler served as director of the Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music at The
University of Texas at Austin.
Xavier Costa, with degrees in architecture and historic preservation, is Founding Dean of
the College of Arts, Media and Design and Architecture at Northeastern University.
Formerly on the faculties at Cornell, the University of Pennsylvania, and the University
of North London and a curator for the Museum of Modern Art and the Venice Biennale,
he served for eight years as the Dean at the Elisava Design School at Universitat Pompeu
Fabra in Barcelona.
William J. Doan, who works on theater history, dramatic literature, and dramaturgy, is
Associate Dean for Administration, Research and Graduate Studies in School of Theatre
at Pennsylvania State University. Both an academic and a creative writer, he is the
current President of the Association for Theatre in Higher Education.
Nan Goggin is a Professor, University Scholar, Director of the School of Art and Design,
and Interim Head of Landscape Architecture at the University of Illinois at UrbanaChampaign. Her practice extends from the printed book to virtual reality narratives. An
award-winning designer and recognized pioneer in electronic art, she co-founded the
Narrative Media program in the School of Art and Design and is also one of the founding
editors of the literary/visual culture magazine Ninth Letter.
Antoinette La Farge is a Professor in the School of the Arts in the Claire Trevor School
of the Arts at the University of California, Irvine. Her work moves from criticism and
fiction to performances and installation projects. She holds or has held various positions
at UC-Irvine including Associate Dean for Graduate Affairs, Director of Academic
Computing, and Associate Director of the Game Culture and Technology Laboratory.
Janet Wasko is Professor and Knight Chair in Communication Research at the
University of Oregon. She has authored, co-authored, or edited 19 books. Her research
considers the political economy of communications with a particular emphasis on the
Hollywood film industry. She is currently the President of the International Association
of Media and Communication Research.