1950-Act No 41, Group Areas Act

Below are some of the laws enforced during the Apartheid, many which
completely disregarded human rights by denying non-whites a good education,
the right to vote, and the right to own land, to name a few examples.
1949-Act No 55, Prohibition of Mixed Marriages Act:
Prohibited marriages
between white people and people and non-white people.
1950- Act No 21, Immorality Amendment Act: Prohibited adultery between
white and non-white people.
1950- Act No 30, Population Registration Act:
Required every South African to
be racially classified.
1950-Act No 41, Group Areas Act: Forced separation between races through the
creation of residential areas designated for certain races.
1950-Act No 44, Suppression of Communism Act:
Outlawed communism and
the Community Party in South Africa. The definition of communism was very
basic; it included anything the called for a radical change in how the government
1951-Act No 27, Bantu Building Workers Act Prevented black Africans from
performing skilled work in any areas except those designated for black
1951-Act No 46, Separate Representation of Voters Act: Led to the removal of
Coloureds from the common voters' roll.
1951-Act No 52, Prevention of Illegal Squatting Act: Gave the Minister of Native
Affairs the ability to displace blacks from public and privately owned land and to
place them in resettlement camps.
1951-Act No 68, Bantu Authorities Act:
Created black homelands, regional
authorities and abolished the Native Representative Council. !
1952-Natives Laws Amendment Act:
Limited the amount of blacks who could
have permanent residence in towns to those who had been born in a town and
had lived or been employed there continuously for no less than 15 years.
1952-Act No 67, Natives (Abolition of Passes and Co-ordination of Documents)
Forced black people to carry identification (which included a photograph,
place of origin, employment record, tax payments, and encounters with the
police) at all times.
1953-Native Labour (Settlement of Disputes) Act:
Prohibited black people to go
on strike.
1953-Act No 47, Bantu Education Act:
Established a Black Education Department
compiled a curriculum suited to the "nature and requirements of the black
people". The aim of this law was to prevent black Africans from receiving an
education that would allow them to work in positions that they were not allowed
to hold under the previous Apartheid laws.
1953-Act No 49, Reservation of Separate Amenities Act:
Enacted segregation in
all public areas including buildings and public transport. 1956-Act
No 64, Natives (Prohibition of Interdicts) Act:
Denied black people the ability to
appeal to the courts if they were forcefully removed.
1959-Act No 34, Bantu Investment Corporation Act: Created financial,
commercial, and industrial schemes in the areas designated for black people.
1959-Act 45, Extension of University Education Act: Prevented black students
from attending white Universities.
1959! -Act No 46, Promotion of Bantu Self-Government Act:
Classified black
people into eight ethnic groups. Each group had a Commissioner-General who
was appointed to create a homeland. In turn, each homeland would be able
govern itself without white intervention.
1967-Terrorism Act:
Create BOSS, the Bureau of State Security which was
responsible for the internal security of South Africa. It also allowed indefinite
detention without trial.
1970-Bantu Homelands Citizens Act:
Removed black South African citizenship
and required all black people to become a citizen of the homeland designated for
his/her ethnic group.