Mobile Technology and marketing

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Mobile Technology
Mobile Standards Speed
• GSM: Global System for Mobile
communication – backbone of mobile
communication, roaming
• 3G: 5.8-14.4Mbps
• 4G: mobile ultra-broadband 15-30Mbps
• LTE: Long Term Evolution: competing of
4G. 100-50Mbps (300-75Mbps fastest)
• WiMAX: 365Mbps
• LTE Advanced: 1000-500Mbps
Cell Phone Operation System
• Research In Motion(RIM) –
BlackBerry (Blackberry 10)
• iOS – iPhone (iOS 7)
• Android – HTC incredible,
Motorola (Android 4.4)
• Windows Mobile – HTC
Trophy, Windows Phone
(Window Phone 8)
• Symbian – Nokia
• Bada - Samsung
• Palm – Palm Pre
Mobile OS Market Share
Prediction
Mobile advertising
Mobile advertising lingo
• Impression – one instance shown
online
• Click – the actual click
• PPC – pay per click
• CPM – cost per thousand impression
• CTR click through rate, number of
click per impression
• Conversion –a visitor’s to your content
and take actions
Lingo continued
• Acquisition – visitor signs up
for receiving emails or alerts.
• CPC – Cost per conversion
• ROI – return on Investment
(Gain-Cost)/Investment
CPM (Click per Mille)
• Total cost for running the ad is $15,000.
• The total estimated audience is 2,400,000
people.
• CPM is calculated as:
($15,000/2,400,000)*1000 = $6.25 per
thousand views
• In online advertising, if a website sells
banner ads for a $10 CPM, that means it
costs $10 to show the banner on 1000 page
views.
CPA –Cost for acquisition
• CPA= CPM / (1000 x CTR x CR).
• Example: an advertiser pays a CPM of $10.
• 5 percent click-through rate (CTR) to the
landing (destination page).
• 30 percent of those 5 percent convert to
paying customers(CR).
• For 20,000 impressions, CPA is:
$10/(1000*0.05*0.30) = $0.67. That is, the cost
per acquisition is $0.67.
Types of Mobile advertising
• Mobile banner
• Mobile pay per click on
searching engine
• Contextual mobile ads –
bidding plus position
• Idle screen ads
CASE STUDY- Land Rover
• CBS and AccWeather through
AdMob to smartphone customers
• 73% of traffic to their mobile site
• 45,000 Video views, 128,000 image
views
• 7,400 Wall paper downloads
• 5,000 dealer look-ips
• 1,100 Click to calls
• 800 Brochure requests
• ? to buy
GooGle Analytics
Tool for the Future
What is It?
Google Analytics is the enterpriseclass web analytics solution that gives
you rich insights into your website
traffic and marketing effectiveness.
– Write better-target ads
– Create higher converting
websites
– Strengthen marketing
initiatives
Feature Set
• Advertising ROI (Return
on Investment)
 Goals
 Integrated with AdWords
and AdSense
 Complete campaign
tracking capabilities
• Customized Reporting




Advanced segmentation
Custom reports
Dashboards
Advanced analysis tools
• Sharing and
Communicating
 Email reports
 Sophisticated administrator
and user controls
• Cross Channel and
Multimedia Tracking
 Mobile tracking
 Internal Site Search
 Flash, video and social
network application tracking
Data Points
• Unique
Visitors
• Page Views
• Bounce Rate
• Average
Time on Site
• New vs.
Returning
• Traffic
Source
Focus Company
The Huffington Post
About “The HuffPost”
 Founded in 2005 by Arianna
Huffington, a nationally
syndicated columnist, and
Kenneth Lerer, a business
and media executive
 Online publisher featuring
news, opinion, and links to
various other news sources
 Approximately 8 million
unique users, becoming one
of the most popular news
and commentary site on the
Internet
The Task
"We needed to continuously isolate our
products -- news, editorial, blogs and
more -- and see how each one was
performing over time." - Chief
Technology Officer for the Huffington
Post, Paul Berry.
 Must evaluate the success of story
formats, news and other featured
content which requires web analytics
software that indicates where the
site's visitors come from and how
they interact with the site
 Onsite and offshore software
developers depend on
communication and collaboration
solutions to coordinate their efforts to
make the site more eye-catching and
interesting to read.
Results
 Captured vital data about unique
visitors and bounce rates
 Separated subsections of the site
including entertainment, politics and
business; using filters able to track
visitors to each section
 Quickly gauge traffic spikes and
update the content in minutes to drive
the publication's editorial direction
"Overnight, we can shape our feature
stories or Quick Read columns and
share any changes with everyone on
staff to create more targeted, relevant
content and attract more viewers,"
says Berry.
On- vs Off- deck web advertising
• On-deck: Offer subscribers a
menu or “deck” more control and
focus content
– Carrier has customers’
demographical information
– On-deck mobile ad network
• Off-deck: Web at large
– Free downloadable application and
games
• Combined solution works better
web advertising
Carrier
Mobile Carrier
deck
On-deck mobile
Ad network
Native off-deck
search engine
Verizon wireless
Mobile web
games and apps
store
ThirdScreen
Media
Google
AT&T
T&T Media Net
Yahoo!Mobile
Yahoo!
oneSearch
AT&T(iPhone)
AppStore
Sprint-Nextel
T-mobile USA
web2Go
Google
EndPocket
Google
Yahoo!
Yahoo!
oneSearch
Effective way to advertise
• Creative:
– Graphical: there are space
constraint
– Textual: use txt spk
• Landing page: can create several
landing pages for tracking
• Targeting
– Demographic: age, gender,
income
– Time: web analytics can determine
traffic peak
– Handset or carrier group
– location
Evaluating Success
•
•
•
•
Subjective
Total impression
CTR
ROI (gain-cost)/investment
– Associate actions to monetary
values
• Conversion Rate
• Break-even may not be
important at beginning.
CASE STUDY - Adadis
• Click to call to Kevin
Garnett
– Voicemail from Garnett
– Video
– Images of top player’s
shoes
• More effective than any
TV, traditional web
advertising
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