Bladder scan education 8

In an effort to use evidence based practice and initiate a system-wide nurse driven urinary catheter removal
protocol SAFELY (no order needed to DC foley), the CAUTI prevention team has requested to have a bladder
scan documented 6 hours after each indwelling urinary catheter removed. This went live August 1st, 2015. Once
there are several months of data available and we can show this is working well and we have no adverse
outcomes, a physician advocate on the CAUTI team will advocate to the medical chairs and propose nurses
discontinue catheters on specified patients without an order through use of a protocol and the current HOUDINI
task can be modified.
Educate on the following:
 Document date and time catheter discontinued
 Do not discontinue/disregard task if patient voids
 When patient voids, check a post void residual via bladder scan and document
 If patient voids before task due and bladder scan is done, modify the task time by right clicking on it
and changing the time
 If patient does not void on own, consider in and out catheterization on the following page (call and
ask physician)
When the nurse charts the date/time in the DTA ‘Date Foley Discontinued’
A task is sent to nursing task list as ‘Scheduled Date and Time’ for 6 hrs after the time the Foley was
discontinued. Foley was discontinued at 1300 the scheduled time is 1900.
The task has the following documentation attached; this will enable the nurse to document beginning one hour
before the scheduled time
Strategies to Prevent Catheter-Associated Urinary Tract Infections in Acute Care Hospitals: 2014 Update. Author(s): Evelyn Lo, MD;
Lindsay E. Nicolle, MD; Susan E. Coffin, MD, MPH; Carolyn Gould, MD, MS; Lisa L. Maragakis, MD, MPH; Jennifer Meddings, MD, MSc;
David A. Pegues, MD; Ann Marie Pettis, RN, BSN, CIC; Sanjay Saint, MD, MPH; Deborah S. Yokoe, MD, MPH. Source: Infection Control and
Hospital Epidemiology, Vol. 35, No. 5 (May 2014), pp. 464-479
Questions? Ask the CAUTI representative on your unit or the infection control team
Mallory Ahrens
Nicholas Baybrook
Suzanne Belcher
Joni Bowne
Linda Cockrell
Deb Crook
Cheryl Currie
Tami Day
Bonnie Dillon
Ashley Edelen
Andrew Franklin
Eric Franks
Ginger Gibson
Sara Gutierrez
Lorilie Hardy
Jill Hedrick
Liz Heeter
Susan Heimsoth
Lindsey Highman
Jessica Hoehne
John Hornick
Emily Hunt
Bridget Sisco
Abby Kemna
Anne Kettenbrink
Kirsten Marshall
Karen Merritt
Angel Mesenbrink
Leslie Neal
James Parsons
Lisa Reid
Harbasksh Sangha
Ginger Schlep
Kathleen Sedgewick
Katie Skinner
Katherine Smith
Tracy Toler
Mark Wakefield
Michael Weston
Carrie Yeast
Patsy Yingling