W. Randy Boxx, Ph.D. Dean Emeritus Shenandoah University

W. Randy Boxx, Ph.D.
Dean Emeritus
Shenandoah University
University of Mississippi
W. Randy Boxx is Dean Emeritus of the Harry F. Byrd, Jr. School of Business at Shenandoah
University in Winchester, Virginia. He served 8 years in the deanship position at Shenandoah, after
serving 5 years as dean of the Else School of Management at Millsaps College in Jackson,
Mississippi. Prior to that assignment, he completed a 28-year career in the School of Business
Administration at The University of Mississippi, the last 8 years as dean of the School (currently
Dean Emeritus). In addition to his administrative duties, Boxx taught management courses,
conducted research, and worked closely with the business community.
Published in a wide variety of journals including the Academy of Management Journal, California
Management Review, and the Strategic Management Journal and having conducted over 1,100
consulting, supervisory training, and executive development program assignments, Randy has
likewise been actively involved in professional associations having served as president of the
Southwestern Business Deans' Association during 1995–96 and president of the Southern
Business Administration Association (southern business deans) during 2000–01.
Randy’s professional service to AACSB International has included numerous initial and
maintenance of accreditation peer review team assignments as chair or member. In addition, he
has served as mentor to many institutions during the pre-accreditation process. Other AACSB
International work has included, among others, the following assignments: Secretary-Treasurer,
Board of Directors (three terms), Executive Committee, Chair of the Finance and Investment
Committee, Audit Committee, Chair of the Pre-Accreditation Committee, Vice Chair of the
Maintenance Committee, Accreditation Coordination Committee, Business Accreditation
Committee, Blue Ribbon Committee on Accreditation Quality, Strategic Directions Task Force, and
developer/facilitator of the Business Accreditation Seminar.
AACSB accreditation consulting services have been provided to the following institutions:
Lynchburg College, Shenandoah University, Texas Tech University, Alcorn State University, Mercer
University, Meredith College, University of Texas at San Antonio, University of Tampa, Rollins
College, Eastern Kentucky University, Jacksonville State University, Providence College, Barton
College, High Point University, University of North Carolina at Pembroke, Shippensburg University,
Mercy College, University of New England, Whitworth University, Philadelphia University, University
Catholica del Uruguay, Dominican University of California, Birmingham-Southern College, Troy
University, University of Dallas, Concord University, Florida Southern College, Rowan University,
SUNY College at Old Westbury, Oklahoma City University, University of East London, Metropolitan
State University of Denver, Indiana University Kokomo, Southern Connecticut State University,
Texas A&M International University, Universidad EAFIT, Virginia State University, Elon University,
Texas A&M University – Kingsville, Emporia State University, SolBridge International School of
Business, California State University – Dominquez Hills, University of Central Oklahoma, Wagner
College, Skidmore College, Missouri Western State University, Shepherd University, Texas A&M
University – Corpus Christi, and Drake University.
July 9, 2014
Jerry E. Trapnell, Ph.D.
Special Advisor to President/CEO
AACSB International
Dean Emeritus
Clemson University
Jerry Trapnell is Special Advisor to the President/CEO of AACSB International, a position he
assumed in October 2012 following an 8 years as AACSB’s Executive Vice President and Chief
Accreditation Officer. He is the former dean of the College of Business and Behavioral Science at
Clemson University and served as the 2002-03 chair of the Board of Directors of AACSB
International. Prior to becoming Dean at Clemson, he served as director and professor of the
Clemson University School of Accountancy. He joined the Clemson accounting program in 1986
after serving on the faculty of the department of accounting at Louisiana State University-Baton
Rouge for 10 years. He earned his Ph.D. from the University of Georgia in 1977, his B.S. and M.S.
from Clemson University in 1968 and 1970, respectively.
He serves or has served on committees and boards of directors of numerous academic and
professional associations. He has published articles in a variety of professional and academic
journals including Issues in Accounting Education, Management Accounting, Journal for
Management Development, The Internal Auditor, Contemporary Accounting Research, Advances in
Accounting, Journal of Accounting, Auditing, and Finance, Managerial Planning, Journal of
Financial Research, National Public Accountant, and Business and Economic Review. He has
presented programs at a variety of professional organizations at the local and national level
including the Southern Business Administration Association, AACSB International, the South
Carolina Association of CPAs, Institute of Management Accountants, Federation of Schools of
Accountancy, and the American Accounting Association. He has served on the board of directors
of three companies and is active in a variety of civic and local community activities. He is the 2010
recipient of the Federation of Schools of Accountancy FSA/Joseph A. Silvoso Faculty Merit Award
for his distinguished contributions to the Federation, to the profession of accounting, and to
accounting education.
July 8, 2014
Related flashcards
Create Flashcards