Media and Estimates of Audience Exposure Media Schedule Rating Aud. Size # of Ads Survivor 21.3 Friends 23.9 X-Files 10.6 Felicity 5.8 Total --- 22.5mm 25.2mm 11.2mm 6.1mm --- 3 2 4 1 10 GRPs GI 63.9 67.5mm 47.8 50.4mm 42.2 44.8mm 5.8 6.1mm 159.7 168.8mm Huh? • Your schedule generates 168.8mm HH GI yet there are only 105.5mm TV HH – How is this possible? • Your schedule generates 159.7 GRPs, with each GRP equal to 1% of the audience – How can you have more than 100% Duplication of Impressions • GRPs and GI allow for the duplication of impressions – Someone might see more than one ad in your schedule • Ex. Survivor and X-Files • Ex. multiple episodes of X-Files • Ex. multiple ads in a single show Reach and Frequency GRPs = Viewers Counted Once GRPs = Reach X X Average Number of Times They View Frequency Reach is net unduplicated audience Frequency is average number of exposures Estimating Reach and Calculating Frequency • Back to our 10 unit schedule of ads – GRPs = 159.7 – Reach = 60.0 – Frequency = 2.66 or 2.7 – Numbers comes from “reach curves” that contain reach estimates for various media vehicles and GRP levels – Frequency is then calculated from reach Estimating GRPs and Calculating Reach • Planners don’t always start with GRPs leading to reach estimates – Sometimes they have a desired reach or frequency in mind and calculate the number of GRPs they need to schedule – Sometimes they can only afford a certain number of GRPs and use a clear frequency goal to estimate the reach CPM • CPM = Cost per thousand impressions • CPM = Cost of ads / Total GIs in (000) – Ex. CPM for Survivor – CPM = $400,000 / 22,500(000) = $17.78 – Ex. CPM for 10 unit schedule – CPM = $2,450,000 / 168,800(000) = $14.51 CPP • CPP = Cost per rating point • CPP = Cost of ads / Total GRPs – Ex. CPP for Survivor – CPP = $400,000 / 21.3 = $18,779.34 – Ex. CPP for 10 unit schedule – CPP = $2,450,000 / 159.7 = $15,341.26 From HH to Demo Groups • So far, we have focused on households – But strategic communicators are typically interested in smaller demographic groups – We need some way to convert household audience numbers to demo group numbers – This is where VPVH — viewers per 1000 viewing households — is helpful VPVH • Viewers per viewing households – Telescopic look inside the households that are tuned to a specific program – For every 1000 HH in the US, how many demo group members are viewers • Number of viewers / 1000 HH VPVH • Describes audience composition • Ex. For Survivor, W18-49 VPVH = 644 – If we count the W18-49 who watch Survivor, we find that there are 644 for every 1000 Survivor viewing households – 644 W18-49 / 1000 HH x Total Survivor HHs – 644 W18-49 x 22,500(000) = 14,490,000 W18-49