Curriculum Vitae

Curriculum Vitae
Sidney R. Nagel
The James Franck Institute
The University of Chicago
929 E. 57th Street
Chicago, Illinois 60637
(773) 702-7190
e-mail: [email protected]
B. A. (1969): Columbia University
M. A. Physics (1971), Ph.D. Physics, (1974): Princeton University
Research Associate, Brown University, 1974-1976
Research Associate, Assistant Professor, The University of Chicago, 1976-1977
Assistant Professor, The University of Chicago, 1977-1981
Associate Professor, The University of Chicago, 1981-1984
Professor, The University of Chicago, 1984 - Present
Visiting Scholar, Inst. for Theoretical Physics, Univ. of California, Santa Barbara, 8/83-1/84
Director, University of Chicago Materials Research Laboratory, 1987-1991
Master, Physical Sciences Collegiate Division, Associate Dean, Division of Physical
Sciences and the College, 1997 - 2000
Louis Block Professor in the Physical Sciences, 1998-2000
Stein-Freiler Distinguished Service Professor, 2001-present (Department of Physics, James
Franck and Enrico Fermi Institutes)
Director, University of Chicago Materials Research Center, 2006 – 2009
Professional Activities:
Member, Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee, Argonne National Lab., 1985-90
Member, Editorial Board, Physical Review B, 1989-1991
Organized Workshop: Self-Organized Criticality; Santa Fe Institute, 1991
Co-organized Symposium, Fall Meeting; Materials Research Society, 1992
Co-organized Workshop: Interface Dynamics, University of Chicago, 1994
Co-organized Workshop: Granular Materials, University of Chicago, 1995
Co-Chair, Gordon Conference: Condensed Matter Physics, 1995
Member-at-Large, Division of Condensed Matter Physics, APS, 1996-1999.
Co-organizer, ITP Program: Jamming and Rheology, 1997.
Vice-President and President, Phi Beta Kappa, University of Chicago Chapter, 1998-1999
External Reviewer, Department of Physics, University of Utah, 1997
Co-Director, National Science Olympiad Tournament, May, 1999
Nominating Committee, Statistical and Nonlinear Physics Topical Group, APS, 1999-2000
Vice-Chair, Chair-Elect, Chair, Division of Condensed Matter Physics, APS, 2002-2005
Member, Committee of Visitors, Department of Energy, Basic Energy Sciences, 2003
Member, Board of Governors, Argonne National Laboratory, 2003-2009
Member NRC SSSC: Solid State Sciences Committee, 2004-2008
Member NRC EPP 2010: Elementary Particle Physics in the 21st Century, 2004-2006
External Reviewer, Department of Physics, University of Utah, 2006
External Reviewer, Department of Physics, POSTECH University Pohang, S. Korea, 2007
Co-organized Workshop: Droplet Splashing, University of Chicago, 2010
Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship (1979-1981)
Fellow, American Physical Society (1988)
Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (1993)
Quantrell Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching (1996)
Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1997)
Klopsteg Memorial Lecture Award, American Association of Physics Teachers (1998)
Oliver E. Buckley Prize, American Physical Society (1999)
Member, National Academy of Sciences (2003)
Osher Fellowship, Exploratorium Museum, San Francisco (2004-2005)
NSF Distinguished Lecture, 1995
Distinguished Visitor, Haverford College, 1996
The Robert Hofstadter Memorial Lectures; Stanford University, 1999
Morris Loeb Lecturer; Harvard University, 2000
Niels Bohr Lecturer; Niels Bohr Institute, NORDITA, Danish Space Research Institute, 2000
Dr. D. Dee and Helen Tourtellotte Lecture, Kalamazoo College, 2001
Alfred F. Blakeslee Lecture, Smith College, 2002
Walter Selove Lectureship in Experimental Physics, University of Pennsylvania, 2004
Marker Lectureship, Pennsylvania State University, 2005
World Year of Physics Distinguished Lecturer, University of Maine 2005
Distinguished Lecturer, Physics Department, Arizona State University, 2006
Visiting Scholar, James Madison University, 2006
Vaden Miles Lecture, Wayne State University, 2007
Manne Siegbahn Memorial Lecture, Royal Inst. of Techn., Stockholm, Sweden, 2007
Ehrenfest Colloquium, Leiden University, Netherlands, 2007
Jean Baptiste Perrin Lecture, Non-Equilibrium Statistical Physics (Part of Golden
Jubilee Celebration of IIT Kanpur), Kanpur, India 2010
J. C. Bose Lecture, Saha Institute for Nuclear Physics, Kolkata, India, 2010
Volwiler Distinguished Scientist Lecture, Lake Forrest College, 2010
George Rieveschl Lectures, University of Cincinnati, 2012
Related flashcards
Standard Model

11 Cards

Create flashcards