The History Hotel Macdonald, long known as Edmonton's most elegant hotel, has been a much loved city landmark for many years.The Grand Trunk Railway, at a cost of two million dollars, completed the Hotel in 1915. It was the city's finest Hotel, and the center of social life in Edmonton. The City of Edmonton designated Hotel Macdonald as a Municipal Historic Resource on January 8, 1985. The areas so designated are: *The Lobby *The Confederation Lounge *The Wedgwood Room *The Empire Ballroom *The Building's exterior facade Over the years, Hotel Macdonald has proudly hosted visitors from all walks of life from political leaders and Royalty to the many American soldiers stationed at the Hotel in WWII, and during the installation of the DEW (Distant Early Warning) line in 1957. The Royal visit of King George VI and the Queen Mother in 1939 was one of the most significant events in the hotel's history, as throngs of well - wishers gathered below the main balcony to see the Royals. After the Universiade Games in 1983, the Hotel closed and began to deteriorate into a state of disrepair. For the next several years, the owners debated how the hotel should be developed. At one time, there was a plan to tear down "The Mac"- as it is affectionately called by Edmontonians - to make way for more high - rise office buildings. Canadian Pacific Hotels bought the hotel in 1988 as part of the chain of Canadian National (CN) Hotel properties, and committed itself to a renewal of the Hotel Macdonald's grace and dignity. Canadian Pacific Hotels reopened the Mac in 1991 after a $28 million complete restoration. The Hotel is now returned to its former elegance, and has firmly re- established its tradition of excellence in hospitality in the community. Since reopening, the Mac has hosted many dignitaries and celebrities including the Prime Minister of Canada, former President of the United States, Celine Dion, The Rolling Stones, and U2 - to name a few. Edmontonians can once again share their long - lived affection for the glorious Hotel Macdonald with neighbors and visitors! A Tour of "The Mac" The Lobby The original luster of the woodwork, paneling and balcony in the Confederation Lounge has been totally restored by hand. The Mac's glass chandeliers have been restored and returned to their various original locations throughout the hotel. The two chandeliers in the lobby hung outside the hotel for many years. The coats of arms decorating the top of the four center pillars depict the provinces in Confederation at the time of the Mac's opening. *Note the unusual crest, representing both Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia. Confederation Lounge The 9' X 18' Fathers of Confederation oil painting by Frederick Challener highlights this area. The painting is a copy of the Robert Harris original hung in the Parliament Buildings until 1916, when it was lost in a fire. The only other copy hangs in the Ontario Legislature Buildings in Toronto. Wedgwood Room This room takes its name from the intricate work on Wedgwood china. This room has a rich history - it was home to the Edmonton Press Club for many years, and during the war, it was set up as a cafeteria for visiting American soldiers. Grand Marble Staircase This intricately detailed iron and marble staircase has been totally restored to its original condition. The oak handrail has been carefully sanded down and refinished. *Note how the decorative iron rail and marble only extend to the second floor. The Harvest Room This award - winning restaurant has been designed to capture the elegance of the Hotel. Its contoured 22' high ceiling dramatizes the stained glass windows. The coats of arms depicted are those of British Columbia, Alberta and Saskatchewan. The room has a capacity of 68 people and features breakfast, afternoon tea (seasonally) and dinner. The Empire Ballroom The breathtaking Empire Ballroom ceiling was hidden for many years when the room was divided into the Inglenook and Quiet Bar before the Hotel closed its doors. The low ceiling installed at the time protected the magnificent "Chase" scene painted on the 24' high ceiling. *Note the grill work on the West wall of the ballroom. It was once the Musician's Gallery, where from the band would be heard, but not seen. The Exterior The Hotel was originally constructed from Indiana limestone. For restoration purposes, stone was imported from a quarry very near the original to repair the existing walls. *Note the carved gargoyles at various strategic locations on the outer walls of the building. Historically, the job of these gargoyles was to protect the hotel and its occupants from evil spirits. Drawing Room This finely detailed meeting room was once called the Ladies' Drawing Room. The room featured an upright piano and drapes of gold. Back in 1915, women were not allowed to access the main lobby without an escort. They used a small entrance to the right of the main door, climbed upstairs to the Ladies' Drawing Room, and then made their entrance. Jasper Room The Jasper Room, formerly the Gentlemen's Writing Room, is the masculine version of the Drawing Room. It overlooks the Confederation Lounge and is richly decorated with Oak paneling and woodwork. Original stained glass windows depicting the coat of arms for the provinces of Ontario, Manitoba and Quebec, compliment this room, allowing for breathtaking views of the river valley. The Macdonald Health Club The exclusive Macdonald Health Club boasts a refreshing 25' X 40' saline swimming pool, children's wading pool, relaxing whirlpool, invigorating steam room, sauna, and sundeck. The modern workout facility features Keiser Weight Resistance equipment, Life Fitness recumbent and upright bikes, cross trainers, and treadmills. Registered massage therapists are also on staff to provide a variety of therapeutic massage techniques - shiatsu, reflexology, acupressure, trigger therapy, and paraffin treatments. The Gift Shop is also located within the Health Club. It features a selection of gift items, a newsstand, and a vast selection of sundry items.