Love Languages

Love Languages
Speaking different
makes good
Love Languages
How was love expressed
in your family?
If we want to communicate
effectively with our spouses, we may
have to learn their Love Language..
When the emotional tank is low, feelings of love go away
When I feel loved by my
spouse, I feel secure and my
sense of self-worth is fed.
If she/loves me, I must have
Words of Affirmation
“I can live for two months
on a good compliment.”
- Mark Twain
Verbal compliments are far greater
motivators than nagging words
Encouragement requires empathy and
seeing the world from your spouse’s
perspective. We must first learn what
is important to our spouse.
Quality Time
Quality Time
Emphasis is not on what
you’re doing but on why
Togetherness is focused
attention, not proximity
Doesn’t matter
what you do
Creating memories
Receiving Gifts
Gifts are visible symbols of
love that have emotional value.
You can learn to be a
proficient gift giver
Doesn’t have to be
expensive or often.
It has nothing to do
with monetary value
and everything to do
with love!
There’s presents and then there’s presence…
The gift
of self The Gift of Self
Acts of Service
Doing things you know your
spouse would like you to do
Requires thought, planning, time,
effort, energy… and a positive spirit.
Need to learn
their dialect so
we can do the
right things!
Physical Touch
Some people emotionally yearn
for their spouses to reach out and
touch them physically
Which love language
does your spouse speak?
When an action doesn’t come
naturally to you, it is a greater
expression of love
True Love
Just do it, whether you
understand it, like it, or want to.
Love is a choice
If I know their
primary love
language and choose
to speak it, her/his
deepest emotional
need will be met and
she/he will feel secure
in my love.
Each partner
holds the key
to changing the
climate of the