Common Core State Standards

The Common Core State Standards in Tennessee
An Overview
What are the Common Core State Standards?
 Standards:
• Represent the goal for what students should learn
• Set expectations for what students should know and be able to do
 The Common Core State Standards are a set of clear standards for
Math and English Language Arts.
 The standards were developed to ensure every student graduates
high school prepared for college or the workforce.
Why Common Core?
 Because the Common Core State Standards emphasize…
• Real-world skills in math, reading, and writing
(including math without calculators and a focus on basic reading
skills in early grades)
• Critical thinking and problem-solving skills
• Knowledge and skills needed for success in college and careers
How were the standards developed?
 The initiative was state-led, and Tennessee was represented by content
experts in math and English language arts from the state department of
 A group of governors from the National Governors Association (NGA) and
state commissioners from the Council of Chief State School Officers
(CCSSO) coordinated development.
 The public provided input before the standards were finalized. Comments
from Tennessee teachers and parents were included in the revision process.
Standards, not Curriculum
 Standards versus Curriculum
• Standards = goals for what students should learn, set by the state
• Curriculum = the road map for meeting those goals, set by local
districts and schools
 Common Core does not dictate curriculum
• Districts, schools, and teachers determine the curriculum using
textbooks and other resources and materials.
• In accordance with Tennessee Code 49-6-2207, textbook adoption is
governed strictly by local school boards.
• Teachers and central office supervisors make decisions on text selection
based on knowledge of their students, student interest, and judgment
of appropriate content.
Common Core in the Classroom
 Implementation began for math and English language arts in 2011
• 2011-12: Teachers in kindergarten through second grade begin using
the standards
• 2012-13: Teachers in third grade through eighth grade begin using the
standards for math
• 2013-14: Teachers in third grade through twelfth grade begin using the
standards for English language arts; teachers in ninth grade through
twelfth grade begin using the standards for math
 Teachers from across Tennessee have received training in the
Common Core State Standards.
• Spring/Summer 2012: more than 13,000 teachers
• Summer 2013: more than 29,000 teachers
How will we know what students are learning?
 Tennessee will begin administering a new test in the 2014-15 school
year called PARCC.
 PARCC will replace the current TCAP tests for ELA and Math in
grades 3-8 and high school.
 The new test, called the Partnership for the Assessment of
Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC), is designed to:
• Build a pathway to college and career readiness for all students
• Create high-quality assessments that measure the full range of
Common Core State Standards
• Support educators in the classroom
• Make better use of technology in assessments
• Advance accountability at all levels
The PARCC test will…
 Be administered online in order to:
• Increase flexibility for question types, such as student-supplied answers
and drag-and-drop
• Reflect the nature of college and career work
• Return results to parents and teachers more quickly
 Begin in the 2014-15 school year
 Replace TCAP in math, reading, and writing in grades 3-11. Science
and social studies will continue being assessed through TCAP
Data Collection
 TN has collected student information through TCAP in accordance
with state and federal law. New assessments will not change this
 The federal government does not have access to student-level
information housed in state data systems.
 The Common Core State Standards are not a tool for data
 State implementation of the Common Core State Standards and
their related assessments do not require additional data collection
beyond what is authorized by current federal law.
For additional resources and information, visit:
Or send questions to: [email protected]