The Sons of Liberty
By: Anna
Who Were They?
The Sons of Liberty was a group that was made up of American
patriots that originated in the North American British colonies before
John Adams , Samuel Adams, Benedict Arnold, Benjamin Edes, John
Hancock, Patrick Henry, John Lamb, William Mackay, Alexander
McDougall, James Otis, Paul Revere, Benjamin Rush, Isaac Sears,
Haym, Solomon, Charles Thomson, Joseph Warren, Thomas Young,
Marinus Willet, and Oliver Wolcott were all notable members of The
Sons of Liberty.
How They Were Formed
In Boston in the early summer of 1775, a group of artisans
and shopkeepers, called The Loyal Nine, began preparing for
agitation against the Stamp Act. As the group grew, they
came to be called The Sons of Liberty.
Benjamin Edes, a printer, and John Gill of the Boston Gazette
generated much public sentiment about the Stamp Act. They
produced a stream of news and opinion.
Within a very short time the group grew to some two
thousand men and had been organized under Ebenezer
The Sons of Liberty was founded by Samuel Adams.
Why They Were Called
The Sons of Liberty
They called themselves The Sons of Liberty because they believed in
being free.
They did whatever they could to help the colonies become an
independent country.

The Sons of Liberty