Chapter 1
1. Salvation History: The story of God’s saving
actions on our behalf.
 2. Sacred Scripture: The inspired Word of
God; the written record of God’s Revelation.
 3. Pentateuch: A Greek word meaning “five
scrolls.” The first five books of the Bible.
 4. Sacred Tradition: The living transmission of
the Church’s Gospel message found in the
Church’s teaching, life, and worship.
 5. Primeval History: Stories or myths about the
origins of the earth, humans, other creatures,
languages, and cultures.
6. God showed his great compassion for us
through the Paschal Mystery
 7. Torah: The name of the first five books of
the Old Testament that comes from the word
meaning “law.”
 8. The second creation account teaches that
Adam and Eve were born in a state of Holiness
 9. A meaning that they shared in the Divine
Life; Original Justice AND Original Holiness
 10. Philosophy: The investigation of truth and
principles of human reason.
11. Pantheism: belief that God and nature
were one and the same.
 12. Monotheism: Belief in one supreme God.
 13. Exegesis: Careful investigation of the
original meaning of texts in their historical
and literary meaning
 14. Polytheism: Belief in many gods.
 15. Contextualism: Interpreting scripture
with the help of metaphors and symbols
16. In reading Scripture, it’s important to
understand Literary forms used by the author.
 17. Revelation: God’s free gift of selfcommunication
 18. Priestly: source of the Pentateuch stresses
the importance of Temple ceremonies.
 19. Magisterium: The official teaching
authority to interpret God’s Word.
 20. Eternal: God created humans to adopt us
into the divine family and share this life with
21. Holy Trinity: The words “Let us make man in
our image, after our likeness” (Gn 1:26) suggest
the activity of this in creation.
 22. Creation: Second Isaiah linked the theme
of this and Salvation to encourage the Hebrew
people who were in exile in Babylon.
 23. Wisdom: The Book of Proverbs personifies
this, declaring it God’s helper in the act of
 24. Deuteronomy: Greek for “second Law”.
 25. Proverbs: This Book personifies wisdom,
declaring it God’s helper in the act of creation.
1. Abraham: The “father of faith.”
 2. Jeremiah: Prophesied that the new covenant
would be written on the people’s hearts.
 3. Idolatry: The Israelites often fell into this
by worshipping false gods.
 4. Original Sin: The loss of Original Holiness
and Original Justice, alienation from God and
others, weakened human nature, concupiscence,
ignorance, pain in childbearing, suffering, and
 5. Concupiscence: The inclination to do what we
know is not right. (SIN)
6. Myth: A story whose main purpose is to
express a great truth or insight into reality.
 7. Covenant: A binding promise between God
and humankind in which God pledges enduring
love and asks for such love in return.
 8. Natural law: the principles of morality, right
living, that extend to the human race in all
places and all times.
 9. Holiness: Humans were created to share in
God’s own life.
 10. Rainbow: The sign of the Noah’s covenant.
 11.
Gentiles: a term that means “non-Jews”
 12. Decalogue: “Ten Words”.
 13. Knowledge: Adam and Eve ate from this
Tree to be like God.
 14. Protoevangelium: THE “first gospel.”
 15. Pentecost: The Apostles spoke in many