Volcanoes of Antarctica

2017-07-28T19:49:21+03:00[Europe/Moscow] en true Buckle Island, Bridgeman Island (South Shetland Islands), Mount Murphy, Paulet Island, Deception Island, Brown Peak (Sturge Island), Mount Berlin, Mount Andrus, Mawson Peak, Gaussberg, Mount Terror (Antarctica), Peter I Island, Mount Sidley, Mount Erebus, The Pleiades (volcano group), Mount Siple, Mount Melbourne, Pillsbury Tower, Lars Christensen Peak, Hudson Mountains, Mount Haddington flashcards Volcanoes of Antarctica
Click to flip
  • Buckle Island
    Buckle Island is one of the three main islands in the uninhabited Balleny Islands group located in the Southern Ocean.
  • Bridgeman Island (South Shetland Islands)
    Bridgeman Island or Bridgemans's Island or Bridgman Island or Helena Island is one of the South Shetland Islands.
  • Mount Murphy
    Mount Murphy is a massive, snow-covered and highly eroded shield volcano with steep, rocky slopes.
  • Paulet Island
    Paulet Island is a circular island about 1.
  • Deception Island
    Deception Island is an island in the South Shetland Islands archipelago, with one of the safest harbours in Antarctica.
  • Brown Peak (Sturge Island)
    Brown Peak is a stratovolcano and the highest point of the Balleny Islands.
  • Mount Berlin
    Mount Berlin is the sixth highest volcano in Antarctica, located 16 km west of Mount Moulton in Marie Byrd Land near the eastern coast of the Ross Sea.
  • Mount Andrus
    Mount Andrus is a shield volcano 3.
  • Mawson Peak
    Mawson Peak is an active volcanic mountain on Heard Island, an external Australian territory in the Southern Ocean.
  • Gaussberg
    Gaussberg (or Mount Gauss) is an extinct volcanic cone, 370 metres (1,214 ft) high, fronting on Davis Sea immediately west of the Posadowsky Glacier in Kaiser Wilhelm II Land in Antarctica.
  • Mount Terror (Antarctica)
    Mount Terror is a large shield volcano that forms the eastern part of Ross Island, Antarctica.
  • Peter I Island
    Peter I Island (Norwegian: Peter I Øy) is an uninhabited volcanic island in the Bellingshausen Sea, 450 kilometres (280 mi) from Antarctica.
  • Mount Sidley
    Mount Sidley is the highest dormant volcano in Antarctica, a member of the Volcanic Seven Summits, with a summit elevation of 4,181–4,285 metres (13,717–14,058 ft).
  • Mount Erebus
    Mount Erebus (pronunciation: /ˈɛrᵻbəs/) is the second highest volcano in Antarctica (after Mount Sidley) and the southernmost active volcano on earth.
  • The Pleiades (volcano group)
    The Pleiades is a volcanic group of youthful cones and domes with Mt.
  • Mount Siple
    Mount Siple is a potentially active Antarctic shield volcano, rising to 3,110 metres (10,203 ft) and dominating the northwest part of Siple Island, which is separated from the Bakutis Coast, Marie Byrd Land, by the Getz Ice Shelf.
  • Mount Melbourne
    Mount Melbourne is a massive stratovolcano that makes up the projection of the coast between Wood Bay and Terra Nova Bay, in Victoria Land of Antarctica.
  • Pillsbury Tower
    Pillsbury Tower is a remnant volcanic cone, 1,295 m, with a shear north-facing rock cliff and a gradual slope at the south side, standing directly at the base of Avalanche Ridge in the Jones Mountains.
  • Lars Christensen Peak
    Lars Christensen Peak, also known as Lars Christensentoppen, is the highest point at 1,640 metres (5,381 ft) on Peter I Island, off the coast of Antarctica.
  • Hudson Mountains
    The Hudson Mountains is a group of parasitic cones, forming nunataks just above the Antarctic ice sheet in west Ellsworth Land.
  • Mount Haddington
    Mount Haddington 64°13′S 57°38′W / 64.