Volcanoes of Africa

2017-07-28T21:18:16+03:00[Europe/Moscow] en true Tarso Voon, Ardoukoba, Mount Kilimanjaro, Waw an Namus, Pico de São Tomé, Emi Koussi, Alid Volcano, Alu (Ethiopia), Mount Bisoke, Mount Cameroon, Bayuda Volcanic Field, Marrah Mountains, Lake Monoun, Lake Nyos, Mascarin Peak, Mount Karthala, Mount Karisimbi, Asseb Volcano, Asavyo, Alborán Island, Le Volcan interdit flashcards Volcanoes of Africa
Click to flip
  • Tarso Voon
    The Tarso Voon is a 3,100-metre (10,200 ft) high stratovolcano in the north of the Republic of Chad.
  • Ardoukoba
    Ardoukôba is a fissure vents volcano in Djibouti.
  • Mount Kilimanjaro
    Mount Kilimanjaro (pronunciation: /ˌkɪlɪmənˈdʒɑːroʊ/), with its three volcanic cones, "Kibo", "Mawenzi", and "Shira", is a dormant volcano in Tanzania.
  • Waw an Namus
    Waw an Namus (also spelled Wau-en-Namus, Arabic: واو الناموس‎‎ - Oasis of Mosquitoes) is a volcanic field, cone and caldera in the southern Fezzan region of southern Libya.
  • Pico de São Tomé
    Pico de São Tomé is the highest mountain in São Tomé and Príncipe at 2,024 metres.
  • Emi Koussi
    Emi Koussi is a high pyroclastic shield volcano that lies at the southeast end of the Tibesti Mountains in the central Sahara of northern Chad.
  • Alid Volcano
    The Alid Volcano is a stratovolcano located in the Northern Red Sea region of Eritrea in the Danakil Depression.
  • Alu (Ethiopia)
    Alu is a system of volcanic fissures, located in Ethiopia.
  • Mount Bisoke
    Mount Bisoke (also Visoke) is an active volcano in the Virunga Mountains of the Albertine Rift, the western branch of the East African Rift.
  • Mount Cameroon
    Mount Cameroon is an active volcano in Cameroon near the Gulf of Guinea.
  • Bayuda Volcanic Field
    The Bayuda (or Baiyuda) Volcanic field is a collection of more than 90 eruptive centres, including at least 15 named cinder cones, and five named craters in the Bayuda Desert, Sudan.
  • Marrah Mountains
    The Marrah Mountains or Marra Mountains (Fur, Fugo Marra; Arabic: جبل مرة‎‎, Jebel Marra “bad mountains”) is a range of volcanic peaks created by a massif that rises up to 3,042 metres (9,980 ft).
  • Lake Monoun
    Lake Monoun is a lake in West Province, Cameroon, that lies in the Oku Volcanic Field 5°35′N 10°35′E / 5.
  • Lake Nyos
    Lake Nyos is a crater lake in the Northwest Region of Cameroon, located about 315 km (196 mi) northwest of Yaoundé.
  • Mascarin Peak
    Mascarin Peak (until 2003 called State President Swart Peak), is the highest mountain on Marion Island, with a height of 1,230 metres (4,040 ft).
  • Mount Karthala
    Mount Karthala or Karthola (Arabic: القرطالة‎‎ Al Qirtālah) is an active volcano and the highest point of the Comoros at 2,361 m (7,746 ft) above sea level.
  • Mount Karisimbi
    Mount Karisimbi is an inactive volcano in the Virunga Mountains on the border between Rwanda and the Democratic Republic of Congo.
  • Asseb Volcano
    The Asseb Volcano is a volcanic field located in the Southern Red Sea region of Eritrea.
  • Asavyo
    Asavyo also known as Bara Ale is a large silicic stratovolcano in Ethiopia, which forms part of the Bidu Volcanic complex.
  • Alborán Island
    Alboran Island is a small islet in the Alboran Sea, part of the western Mediterranean, about 50 km (31 mi) north of the Moroccan coast and 90 kilometres (56 miles) south of the Spanish province of Almería.
  • Le Volcan interdit
    Le Volcan interdit is a 1966 French documentary film directed by Haroun Tazieff.