2017-08-02T02:03:01+03:00[Europe/Moscow] en true James Marwick, Jimmy Gillespie, Brian Souter, John Calman Shaw, Robert Hamilton (civil servant), Jim Mather, John Mason (Scottish politician), Keith Cochrane, Ross Finnie, Douglas Flint, George Drummond, George Watson (accountant), Stewart Chalmers, Derek Brownlee, Gordon MacDonald (Scottish politician), Henry Hepburne-Scott, 10th Lord Polwarth, William Herbert Anderson, Alison Harris, Harry Rankin (politician), Fred Goodwin, George MacPherson, Iain Stewart (politician), Michael Moore (Scottish politician), David Reid (businessman), Hugh Henry, Iain Napier, Ian Livingston, Baron Livingston of Parkhead flashcards
Scottish accountants

Scottish accountants

  • James Marwick
    James Marwick (b. 1862 in Edinburgh, Scotland) was an original founder of an accounting office that became one of the Big Four auditors, KPMG.
  • Jimmy Gillespie
    John "Jimmy" Imrie Gillespie (16 January 1879 – 5 December 1943) was a Scottish international rugby union player, who played for Scotland and the Lions.
  • Brian Souter
    Sir Brian Souter (born 5 May 1954) is a Scottish businessman and philanthropist.
  • John Calman Shaw
    Professor Sir John 'Jack' Calman Shaw, CBE, FRSE (born 10 July 1932) is a Scottish businessman, former chairman of the board of directors and Governor of the Bank of Scotland from 1999–2001, deputy governor from 1991–1999 and a non-executive director from 1990–2001.
  • Robert Hamilton (civil servant)
    Sir Robert George Crookshank Hamilton KCB, (30 August 1836 – 22 April 1895) was the sixth Governor, and the Commander-in-Chief of the then British colony of Tasmania from 11 March 1887, until 30 November 1892, during which time he oversaw the ministries of two Tasmanian Premiers.
  • Jim Mather
    Jim Mather (born 6 March 1947) is a Scottish politician, former Minister for Enterprise, Energy and Tourism and from 2003 to 2011 was a Scottish National Party Member of the Scottish Parliament.
  • John Mason (Scottish politician)
    John Fingland Mason (born 15 May 1957) is a Scottish politician and the Scottish National Party Member of the Scottish Parliament for Glasgow Shettleston.
  • Keith Cochrane
    Keith Robertson Cochrane CBE FRSE (born 11 February 1965) is a Scottish businessman, chief executive (CEO) of Weir Group, a British engineering company headquartered in Glasgow, Scotland.
  • Ross Finnie
    Ross Finnie (born 11 February 1947, Greenock) is a Scottish Liberal Democrat politician and former Member of the Scottish Parliament.
  • Douglas Flint
    Douglas Jardine Flint, CBE is a British banking businessman.
  • George Drummond
    George Drummond (1688–1766) was accountant-general of excise in Scotland and a local politician, elected Lord Provost of Edinburgh a number of times between 1725 and 1764.
  • George Watson (accountant)
    George Watson (23 November 1654, in Edinburgh – 3 April 1723) was born in Scotland to parents John Watson; a merchant, and Marion Ewing.
  • Stewart Chalmers
    William Stewart Chalmers (5 March 1907 – 13 November 1989) was a Scottish amateur football inside right who played for Queens Park, Heart of Midlothian, Manchester United, Dunfermline Athletic and the Scottish national team.
  • Derek Brownlee
    Derek Brownlee (born 10 August 1974) is a Scottish accountant and politician, who is a former Conservative Member of the Scottish Parliament for the South of Scotland region 2005–2011.
  • Gordon MacDonald (Scottish politician)
    Gordon MacDonald (born 2 January 1960) is a Scottish politician who is the Scottish National Party (SNP) Member of the Scottish Parliament (MSP) for Edinburgh Pentlands constituency, since 2011.
  • Henry Hepburne-Scott, 10th Lord Polwarth
    Henry Alexander Hepburne-Scott, 10th Lord Polwarth TD DL (17 November 1916 – 4 January 2005) was a Scottish chartered accountant, businessman and Conservative politician.
  • William Herbert Anderson
    Lieutenant Colonel William Herbert Anderson VC (29 December 1881 – 25 March 1918) was a Scottish recipient of the Victoria Cross, the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces.
  • Alison Harris
    Harris stood unsuccessfully in the United Kingdom general election, 2015 for the Westminster constituency, Falkirk.
  • Harry Rankin (politician)
    Henry Cunison Deans Rankin (1932–2010) was a Scottish chartered accountant who served as treasurer to the Scottish National Party and as National Chairman of the Saltire Society.
  • Fred Goodwin
    Frederick Anderson "Fred" Goodwin, FRSE FCIBS (born 17 August 1958) is a Scottish chartered accountant and former banker who was Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Royal Bank of Scotland Group (RBS) between 2001 and 2009.
  • George MacPherson
    Phil Macpherson CBE (16 October 1903 – 2 March 1981) also known as GPS Macpherson was a Scottish rugby union footballer who played for Scotland in 26 Tests between 1922 and 1932.
  • Iain Stewart (politician)
    Iain Aitken Stewart (born 18 September 1972) is the Conservative Member of Parliament for Milton Keynes South.
  • Michael Moore (Scottish politician)
    Michael Kevin Moore (born 3 June 1965) is a British Liberal Democrat politician.
  • David Reid (businessman)
    Sir David Edward Reid (born 5 February 1947) is a British businessman and chartered accountant.
  • Hugh Henry
    Hugh Henry (born 12 February 1952 in Glasgow) is a Scottish Labour politician and Member of the Scottish Parliament for Renfrewshire South from 2011 to 2016 (having represented Paisley South from 1999 to 2011).
  • Iain Napier
    Iain John Grant Napier (born 10 April 1949) is a Scottish businessman, who was non-executive chairman of Imperial Tobacco, a British multinational tobacco company, from 2007 to 2013.
  • Ian Livingston, Baron Livingston of Parkhead
    Ian Paul Livingston, Baron Livingston of Parkhead (born 28 July 1964), is a Scottish businessman who was formerly chief executive of BT Group.