Languages of Chile

2017-07-27T23:23:14+03:00[Europe/Moscow] en true Mapuche language, Kawésqar language, Yaghan language, Kunza language, South Bolivian Quechua, Iyojwa'ja Chorote language, Aymara language, Rapa Nui language, Southern Quechua, Huilliche language, Chilean Spanish, Chonan languages, Cacán language, Chilean Sign Language, Millcayac language, Allentiac language flashcards Languages of Chile
Click to flip
  • Mapuche language
    Mapudungun (from mapu 'earth, land' and dungun 'speak, speech') is a language isolate spoken in south-central Chile and west central Argentina by the Mapuche people (from mapu 'earth' and che 'people').
  • Kawésqar language
    Kawésqar (Qawasqar), also known as Alacaluf, is a critically endangered language isolate spoken in southern Chile by the Kawésqar people.
  • Yaghan language
    Yagán (originally Yahgan, but also now spelled Yaghan, Jagan, Iakan), also known as Yámana and Háusi Kúta, is one of the indigenous languages of Tierra del Fuego, spoken by the Yagán people.
  • Kunza language
    Kunza AKA Cunza, also known as Likanantaí, Lipe, Ulipe, or Atacameño, is an extinct language isolate once spoken in the Atacama Desert of northern Chile and southern Perú (specifically in Peine, Socaire (Salar de Atacama), and Caspana) by the Lickan-antay people, who have since shifted to Spanish.
  • South Bolivian Quechua
    South Bolivian Quechua, also known as Central Bolivian Quechua, is a dialect of Southern Quechua spoken in Bolivia and adjacent areas of Argentina, where it is also known as Colla.
  • Iyojwa'ja Chorote language
    Eklenhui (Iyojwa'ja Chorote) is a language spoken in northeast Salta province in Argentina by 800.
  • Aymara language
    Aymara /aɪməˈrɑː/ (Aymar aru) is an Aymaran language spoken by the Aymara people of the Andes.
  • Rapa Nui language
    Rapa Nui or Rapanui (English /ræpəˈnuːi/; locally: [ˈɾapa ˈnu.i]) also known as Pascuan /ˈpæskjuːən/, or Pascuense, is an Eastern Polynesian language spoken on the island of Rapa Nui, also known as Easter Island.
  • Southern Quechua
    Southern Quechua (Spanish: quechua sureño), or simply Quechua, is the most widely spoken of the major regional groupings of mutually intelligible dialects within the Quechua language family, with about 6.
  • Huilliche language
    Huilliche (which can also be found spelt Williche, Huiliche or Veliche) is a branch of the Araucanian language family.
  • Chilean Spanish
    Chilean Spanish (Spanish: español chileno, español de Chile or castellano de Chile) is any of several varieties of Spanish spoken in most of Chile.
  • Chonan languages
    The Chonan languages were spoken in Tierra del Fuego and Patagonia.
  • Cacán language
    Cacán (also Cacan, Kakán, Calchaquí, Chaka, Diaguita, and Kaka) is an extinct language that was spoken by the Diaguita and Calchaquí tribes in northern Argentina and Chile.
  • Chilean Sign Language
    Chilean Sign Language, or Lengua de Señas Chilena (LSCh), is the sign language of Chile's seven deaf institutions.
  • Millcayac language
    Millcayac (Milykayak) was one of two known Warpean languages.
  • Allentiac language
    Allentiac (Alyentiyak), also known as Huarpe (Warpe), was one of two known Warpean languages.