2017-07-27T19:22:45+03:00[Europe/Moscow] en true Seven Laws of Noah, Repentance in Judaism, Ten Commandments, Anointing, Levirate marriage, Nazirite, Mezuzah, Passover Seder, Jewish views on marriage, Tefillin, Chametz, Tekhelet, Confession (Judaism), Tithes in Judaism, Brit milah, Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy flashcards
Jewish law and rituals

Jewish law and rituals

  • Seven Laws of Noah
    The Seven Laws of Noah (Hebrew: שבע מצוות בני נח‎‎ Sheva Mitsvot Bne Noah), also referred to as the Noahide Laws or the Noachide Laws (from the English transliteration of the Hebrew pronunciation of "Noah"), are a set of imperatives which, according to the Talmud, were given by God as a binding set of laws for the "children of Noah" – that is, all of humanity.
  • Repentance in Judaism
    Repentance (Hebrew: תשובה‎‎, literally "return", pronounced "tshuva" or "teshuva") is one element of atoning for sin in Judaism.
  • Ten Commandments
    (For other uses, see Ten Commandments (disambiguation).)("Decalogue" redirects here. For other uses, see Decalogue (disambiguation).) The Ten Commandments, also known as the Decalogue, are a set of biblical principles relating to ethics and worship, which play a fundamental role in Judaism and Christianity.
  • Anointing
    Anointing is the ritual act of pouring aromatic oil over a person's head or entire body.
  • Levirate marriage
    Levirate marriage is a type of marriage in which the brother of a deceased man is obliged to marry his brother's widow, and the widow is obliged to marry her deceased husband's brother.
  • Nazirite
    In the Hebrew Bible, a nazirite or nazarite is one who voluntarily took a vow described in Numbers 6:1–21.
  • Mezuzah
    A mezuzah (Hebrew: מְזוּזָה‎‎ "doorpost"; plural: מְזוּזוֹת mezuzot) is a piece of parchment (often contained in a decorative case) inscribed with specified Hebrew verses from the Torah (Deuteronomy 6:4-9 and 11:13-21).
  • Passover Seder
    The Passover Seder (English pronunciation: ˈseɪ dəɹ; in Hebrew: סֵדֶר‎‎ [ˈsedeʁ], meaning "order, arrangement"; and in Yiddish: "seyder") is a Jewish ritual feast that marks the beginning of the Jewish holiday of Passover.
  • Jewish views on marriage
    In traditional Judaism, marriage is viewed as a contractual bond commanded by God in which a man and a woman come together to create a relationship in which God is directly involved.
  • Tefillin
    Tefillin (Askhenazic: /ˈtfɪlᵻn/; Israeli Hebrew: [tfiˈlin], תפילין), also called phylacteries (/fɪˈlæktəriːz/ from Ancient Greek φυλακτήριον phylacterion, form of phylássein, φυλάσσειν meaning "to guard, protect"), are a set of small black leather boxes containing scrolls of parchment inscribed with verses from the Torah.
  • Chametz
    Chametz, also Chometz, Ḥametz, Ḥameṣ, Ḥameç and other spellings transliterated from Hebrew: חָמֵץ / חמץ (IPA: [χaˈmets]), are leavened foods that are forbidden on the Jewish holiday of Passover.
  • Tekhelet
    Tekhelet (Hebrew: תכלת təḵêleṯ, "blue-violet", or "blue", or "turquoise" (alternate spellings include tekheleth, t'chelet, techelet and techeiles) is a blue dye mentioned 49 times in the Hebrew Bible/Tanakh. It was used in the clothing of the High Priest, the tapestries in the Tabernacle, and the tassels (Hebrew: ציצית, Tzitzit (or Ṣiṣiyot) [tsiˈtsit], pl. Tzitziyot or Ṣiṣiyot) affixed to the corners of one's four-cornered garment, such as the Tallit (garment worn during prayer, usually).
  • Confession (Judaism)
    In Judaism, confession (Hebrew וִדּוּי Widduy; Viddui) is a step in the process of atonement during which a Jew admits to committing a sin before God.
  • Tithes in Judaism
    The tithe is specifically mentioned in the Books of Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy.
  • Brit milah
    The brit milah (Hebrew: בְּרִית מִילָה‎‎, pronounced [bʁit miˈla]; Ashkenazi pronunciation: [bʁis ˈmilə], "covenant of circumcision"; Yiddish pronunciation: bris [bʀɪs]) is a Jewish religious male circumcision ceremony performed by a mohel ("circumciser") on the eighth day of a male infant's life.
  • Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy
    "Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy" is one of the Ten Commandments found in the Hebrew Bible.