Indian philosophy

2017-07-27T23:10:18+03:00[Europe/Moscow] en true Shakti, Nondualism, Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, Charvaka, Madhyamaka, Buddhist philosophy, Advaita Vedanta, Yoga Vasistha, Hatha yoga, Mīmāṃsā, Three Bodies Doctrine (Vedanta), Mithyatva, Prajñaptir upādāya flashcards Indian philosophy
Click to flip
  • Shakti
    In Hinduism, Shakti (Devanagari: शक्ति; from Sanskrit shak, "to be able"), also spelled as Sakthi, meaning "power" or "empowerment" is the primordial cosmic energy and represents the dynamic forces that are thought to move through the entire universe.
  • Nondualism
    Nondualism, also called non-duality, means "not two" or "one undivided without a second".
  • Yoga Sutras of Patanjali
    The Yoga Sūtras of Patañjali are 196 Indian sutras (aphorisms).
  • Charvaka
    Charvaka (IAST: Cārvāka), originally known as Lokāyata and Bṛhaspatya, is the ancient school of Indian materialism.
  • Madhyamaka
    Madhyamaka (Sanskrit: Madhyamaka, Chinese: 中觀派; pinyin: Zhōngguān Pài; also known as Śūnyavāda) refers primarily to a Mahayana Buddhist school of philosophy founded by Nagarjuna.
  • Buddhist philosophy
    Buddhist philosophy refers to the philosophical investigations and systems of inquiry that developed among various Buddhist schools in India following the death of the Buddha and later spread throughout Asia.
  • Advaita Vedanta
    Advaita Vedanta (IAST, Advaita Vedānta; Sanskrit: अद्वैत वेदान्त; literally, not-two) is a sub-school of Vedanta schools of Hindu philosophy and religious practice.
  • Yoga Vasistha
    Yoga Vasistha (Sanskrit: योग-वासिष्ठ, IAST: Yoga-Vāsiṣṭha) is a philosophical text attributed to Valmiki, but the real author is unknown.
  • Hatha yoga
    Hatha yoga (Sanskrit haṭhayoga, IPA: [ɦəʈʰəˈjoːɡə]), also called Haṭhavidyā , is a branch of yoga.
  • Mīmāṃsā
    Mimamsa (IAST: Mīmāṃsā) is a Sanskrit word that means "reflection" or "critical investigation".
  • Three Bodies Doctrine (Vedanta)
    According to Sarira Traya, the Doctrine of the Three bodies in Hinduism, the human being is composed of three sariras or "bodies" emanating from Brahman by avidya, "ignorance" or "nescience".
  • Mithyatva
    Mithyatva means "false belief", and an important concept in Jainism and Hinduism.
  • Prajñaptir upādāya
    Dependent designation (from Sanskrit: prajñaptir upādāya; Tibetan: བརྟེན་ནས་གདགས་པ, Wylie: rten ne dag pa; Chinese: 假名; pinyin: jia-ming) is an important doctrine of Madhyamika Buddhism.