German Empire

2017-07-28T15:50:15+03:00[Europe/Moscow] en true Anti-Socialist Laws, Gründerzeit, Reichstag (German Empire), Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch, Pan-German League, Sonderweg, Kaiser, Zabern Affair, German Empire, German Reich, Kulturkampf, Reichskommissar, Year of the Three Emperors, Herero and Namaqua genocide, German Army (German Empire), Germanisation, Sedantag flashcards German Empire
Click to flip
  • Anti-Socialist Laws
    The Anti-Socialist Laws or Socialist Laws (German: Sozialistengesetze; officially Gesetz gegen die gemeingefährlichen Bestrebungen der Sozialdemokratie, approximately "Law against the public danger of Social Democratic endeavours") were a series of acts, the first of which was passed on October 19, 1878 by the German Reichstag lasting till March 31, 1881, and extended 4 times (May 1880, May 1884, April 1886 and February 1888).
  • Gründerzeit
    Gründerzeit (German pronunciation: [ˈɡʁʏndɐˌtsaɪt], literally: “founders’ period”), was the economic phase in 19th-century Germany and Austria before the great stock market crash of 1873.
  • Reichstag (German Empire)
    The Reichstag (German: [ˈʁaɪçstaːk] , Diet of the Realm or Imperial Diet) was the Parliament of Germany from 1871 to 1918.
  • Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch
    The Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch (German: [ˈbʏʁɡɐlɪçəs ɡəˈzɛtsbuːx]), abbreviated BGB, is the civil code of Germany.
  • Pan-German League
    The Pan-German League (German: Alldeutscher Verband) was an extremist, ultra-nationalist political interest organization which was officially founded in 1891, a year after the Zanzibar Treaty was signed.
  • Sonderweg
    Sonderweg, a German loanword meaning "special path", identifies the theory in German historiography that considers the German-speaking lands or the country Germany itself to have followed a course from aristocracy to democracy unlike any other in Europe.
  • Kaiser
    Kaiser is the German word for "emperor".
  • Zabern Affair
    The Zabern Affair was a crisis of domestic policy which occurred in the German Empire at the end of 1913.
  • German Empire
    The German Empire (German: Deutsches Kaiserreich, officially Deutsches Reich) was the historical German nation state that existed from the unification of Germany in 1871 to the abdication of Kaiser Wilhelm II in November 1918, when Germany became a federal republic.
  • German Reich
    Deutsches Reich (German: [ˈdɔʏtʃəs ˈʀaɪç]) was the official name for the German nation state from 1871 to 1943 in the German language.
  • Kulturkampf
    The German term (pronounced [kʊlˈtuːɐ̯kampf], literally "culture struggle") refers to power struggles between emerging constitutional and democratic nation states and the Roman Catholic Church over the place and role of religion in modern polity, usually in connection with secularization campaigns.
  • Reichskommissar
    Reichskommissar (rendered as Commissioner of the Empire or as Reich - or Imperial Commissioner), in German history, was an official gubernatorial title used for various public offices during the period of the German Empire and the Nazi Third Reich.
  • Year of the Three Emperors
    The Year of the Three Emperors, or the Year of the Three Kaisers, (German: Dreikaiserjahr) refers to the year 1888 during the German Empire in German history.
  • Herero and Namaqua genocide
    The Herero and Namaqua genocide was a campaign of racial extermination and collective punishment that the German Empire undertook in German South-West Africa (modern-day Namibia) against the Herero and Nama people.
  • German Army (German Empire)
    The Imperial German Army (German: Deutsches Heer) was the name given to the combined land and air forces of the German Empire (excluding the Marine-Fliegerabteilung maritime aviation formations of the Kaiserliche Marine).
  • Germanisation
    Germanisation (also spelt Germanization) refers to the spread of the German language, people and culture or policies which introduced these changes.
  • Sedantag
    Day of Sedan (German: Sedantag) was a semi-official memorial holiday in the German Empire celebrated on the second day of September to commemorate the victory in the at Battle of Sedan (1870).