Ethnic groups in Kenya

2017-07-27T20:33:28+03:00[Europe/Moscow] en true Bajuni people, Somalis, Swahili people, Kalenjin people, Rendille people, Samburu people, Pokomo people, Giriama people, Nilotic peoples, Turkana people, Daasanach people, Taita people, Kuria people, Maasai people, Kamba people, Kikuyu people, Luo people of Kenya and Tanzania, Luhya people, Meru people, Pokot people, Borana Oromo people, British diaspora in Africa, Teso people, Aweer people, Okiek people, Taveta people, Ateker peoples, Indians in Kenya, Gabra people, Kipsigis people, Mbeere people, Somalis in Kenya, Dorobo peoples, Yaaku people, Tugen people, El Molo people, Chinese people in Kenya flashcards Ethnic groups in Kenya
Click to flip
  • Bajuni people
    The Bajuni people are a minority ethnic group mainly residing on the Bajuni Islands and surrounding coastal areas including the northern coast of Kenya.
  • Somalis
    Somalis (Somali: Soomaali, Arabic: صومال‎‎) are an ethnic group inhabiting the Horn of Africa (Somali Peninsula).
  • Swahili people
    The Swahili people (or Waswahili) are an ethnic and cultural group inhabiting the African Great Lakes region.
  • Kalenjin people
    The Kalenjin are a Nilotic ethnic group inhabiting the Rift Valley Province in Kenya.
  • Rendille people
    The Rendille (also known as Rendille, Reendile, Rendili, Randali, Randile, and Randille) are a Cushitic-speaking ethnic group inhabiting the northern Eastern Province of Kenya.
  • Samburu people
    The Samburu are a Nilotic people of north-central Kenya that are related to but distinct from the Maasai.
  • Pokomo people
    Pokomo are an ethnic group of Kenya, from the Bantu language group and is not one of the groups that make up the Mijikenda (which means "Nine Villages"); they are a distinct tribe with their own sub-clans/tribes.
  • Giriama people
    The Giriama (also called Giryama) are one of the nine ethnic groups that make up the Mijikenda (which literally translates to "nine towns").
  • Nilotic peoples
    Nilotic peoples are peoples indigenous to the Nile Valley that speak Nilotic languages, which comprise a large sub-group of the Nilo-Saharan languages spoken in South Sudan, Uganda, Kenya, and northern Tanzania.
  • Turkana people
    The Turkana are a Nilotic people native to the Turkana District in northwest Kenya, a semi-arid climate region bordering Lake Turkana in the east, Pokot, Rendille and Samburu to the south, Uganda to the west, and South Sudan and Ethiopia to the north.
  • Daasanach people
    The Daasanach (also known as the Marille or Geleba) are an ethnic group inhabiting parts of Ethiopia, Kenya and Sudan.
  • Taita people
    The Taita people (the Wataita or Wadawida) are a Kenyan ethnic group located in the Taita-Taveta District.
  • Kuria people
    The Kurya (also known as AbaKurya, as they prefer to call themselves) are a community of Bantu people who inhabit Kenya.
  • Maasai people
    The Maasai (Kenyan English: [maˈsaːɪ]) are a Nilotic ethnic group inhabiting southern Kenya and northern Tanzania.
  • Kamba people
    The Kamba or Akamba people are a Bantu ethnic group - or tribe - who live in the semi-arid formerly Eastern Province of Kenya stretching east from Nairobi to Tsavo and north up to Embu, Kenya.
  • Kikuyu people
    The Kikuyu are the largest ethnic group in Kenya.
  • Luo people of Kenya and Tanzania
    The Luo (also called Joluo or Jonagi/Onagi, singular Jaluo, Jaonagi or Joramogi/Nyikwaramogi, meaning Ramogi's heirs) are an ethnic group in western Kenya, northern Uganda, and in Mara Region in northern Tanzania.
  • Luhya people
    The Luhya (also known as Abaluyia or Luyia) are a Bantu ethnic group in Kenya.
  • Meru people
    The Meru, Amîîrú, "Ameru" or Ngaa people are a Bantu ethnic group that inhabit the Meru region of Kenya on the fertile lands of north and eastern slopes of Mount Kenya, in the former Eastern Province of Kenya.
  • Pokot people
    The Pokot people (also spelled Pökoot) live in West Pokot County and Baringo County in Kenya and in the Pokot District of the eastern Karamoja region in Uganda.
  • Borana Oromo people
    The Borana Oromo, also called the Boran, are a pastoralist ethnic group living in southern Ethiopia (Oromia) and northern Kenya.
  • British diaspora in Africa
    The British diaspora in Africa is a population group broadly defined as English-speaking white Africans of mainly (but not only) British descent who live in or come from Sub-Saharan Africa.
  • Teso people
    The Teso (or Iteso, people of Teso) are an ethnic group in eastern Uganda and western Kenya.
  • Aweer people
    The Aweer (also known as the Waboni, Boni and Sanye) are an ethnic group inhabiting the Coast Province in southeastern Kenya.
  • Okiek people
    The Okiek (Ogiek: [oɡiɛk]), sometimes called the Ogiek or Akiek (although the term Akiek sometimes refers to a distinct subgroup), are an ethnic and linguistic group based in Northern Tanzania, Southern Kenya (in the Mau Forest), and Western Kenya (in the Mount Elgon Forest).
  • Taveta people
    Taveta is the name of a tribe of Southeast Africa, the name of the principal town in the land of the Taveta people, and also the name of the surrounding subdistrict of Kenya.
  • Ateker peoples
    Ateker or ŋaTekerin is a common name for the closely related Jie, Karamojong, Turkana, Toposa, Nyangatom and Teso peoples and their languages.
  • Indians in Kenya
    Indians in Kenya are citizens and residents of Kenya with ancestral roots in the Indian subcontinent.
  • Gabra people
    The Gabra (also written Gabbra or Gebra) are an ethnic group mainly inhabiting the Chalbi Desert in northern Kenya and the highlands of southern Ethiopia.
  • Kipsigis people
    The Kipsigis are a Nilotic ethnic group of Kenya.
  • Mbeere people
    The Mbeere or Ambeere people are a Bantu ethnic group inhabiting the former Mbeere District in the now defunct Eastern Province of Kenya.
  • Somalis in Kenya
    Somalis in Kenya are citizens and residents of Kenya who are of Somali descent.
  • Dorobo peoples
    Dorobo (or Ndorobo, Wadorobo, Wandorobo, Torobo) is a derogatory umbrella term for several unrelated hunter-gatherer groups of Kenya and Tanzania that are subservient to the Maasai and have no cattle.
  • Yaaku people
    The Yaaku (often Mukogodo-Maasai) are a people living in the Mukogodo forest west of Mount Kenya, a division of the Laikipia District of Rift Valley Province, Kenya.
  • Tugen people
    Tugen may also refer to Tugen Hills in Kenya The Tugen are a sub tribe of the Kalenjin people alongside the Nandi, Kipsigis, Keiyo, Pokot, Marakwet, Sabaot, Ogiek, Lembus and Sengwer sub-tribes.
  • El Molo people
    The El Molo, also known as Elmolo, Dehes, Fura-Pawa and Ldes, are an ethnic group mainly inhabiting the northern Eastern Province of Kenya.
  • Chinese people in Kenya
    There may have been minor settlement of Chinese people in Kenya as early as the 15th century; however, modern migration from the People's Republic of China to Kenya only dates to the late 1990s and early 2000s.