Ethnic groups in Bhutan

2017-07-27T21:28:33+03:00[Europe/Moscow] en true Lhop people, Bhotiya, Lepcha people, Lhotshampa, Sharchops, Monpa people, Gurung people, Limbu people, Tamang people, Assamese people, Biharis, Rai people, Bhutia, Newar people, Ngalop people, Kheng people, Santhal people, Layap flashcards Ethnic groups in Bhutan
Click to flip
  • Lhop people
    The Lhop or Doya people are a little-known tribe of southwest Bhutan.
  • Bhotiya
    Bhotiya or Bot (Nepali: भोटिया, Bhotiyā) are groups of ethno-linguistically related Tibetan people living in the Transhimalayan region of the SAARC countries.
  • Lepcha people
    The Lepcha or Róng people (Lepcha: Róng ɂágít; "Róng tribe"), also called Róngkup (Lepcha: ᰛᰩᰵ་ᰀᰪᰱ; "children of the Róng"), Mútuncí Róngkup Rumkup (Lepcha: ᰕᰫ་ᰊᰪᰰ་ᰆᰧᰶ ᰛᰩᰵ་ᰀᰪᰱ ᰛᰪᰮ་ᰀᰪᰱ; "beloved children of the Róng and of God"), and Rongpa (Sikkimese: རོང་པ་), are among the indigenous peoples of Sikkim and number between 30,000 and 50,000.
  • Lhotshampa
    The Lhotshampa or Lhotsampa (Nepali: ल्होत्साम्पा; Tibetan: ལྷོ་མཚམས་པ་, Wylie: lho-mtshams-pa) people are a heterogeneous Bhutanese people of Nepalese descent.
  • Sharchops
    The Sharchops (Dzongkha: ཤར་ཕྱོགས་པ, Wylie: shar phyogs pa; "Easterner") are the populations of mixed Tibetan, Southeast Asian and South Asian descent that mostly live in the eastern districts of Bhutan.
  • Monpa people
    The Monpa or Mönpa (Tibetan: མོན་པ་, Wylie: mon pa; Hindi: मोनपा, Chinese: 门巴族) are a major people of Arunachal Pradesh in northeastern India.
  • Gurung people
    The Gurung people, also called Tamu, are an ethnic group from different parts of Nepal.
  • Limbu people
    The Limbu (exonym) or Yakthung (endonym) (IPA: [yɑkthuŋ]) tribes and clans are a Kirati people of Tibetan origin indigenous to the hill and mountainous regions of East Nepal between the Arun and Mechi rivers to as far as South Tibet, Burma, Bhutan and Indian states of West Bengal (particularly Darjeeling, Kalimpong and Jalpaiguri districts), Sikkim, Assam and Nagaland.
  • Tamang people
    The Tamangརྟ་དམག་ (Devnagari: तामाङ; tāmāng), or Tamag, are the indigenous inhabitants of the Himalayan regions of Nepal and India, their ancestral land is called Tamsaling.
  • Assamese people
    The Assamese people are a subgroup of the people of Assam.
  • Biharis
    The Biharis () is a demonym given to an Indo-Aryan ethno-linguistic group who live in the Indian state of Bihar and Jharkhand.
  • Rai people
    The Khambu Rais or Rais are one of the most ancient indigenous ethnolinguistic groups of Nepal, the Indian State of Sikkim and Darjeeling Hills.
  • Bhutia
    The Bhutia བོད་རིགས (in Sikkim: Denzongpa / Drejongpa ; Tibetan: འབྲས་ལྗོངས་པ་, Wylie: 'Bras-ljongs-pa; "inhabitants of Denzong;" in Bhutan: Dukpa) are a community of people of Tibetan ancestry, who speak Sikkimese, a Tibetan dialect fairly mutually intelligible to standard Tibetan.
  • Newar people
    The Newar or Newah (/nɪˈwɑːr/; Newar: नेवा:) are the historical inhabitants of the Kathmandu Valley and its surrounding areas in Nepal, and the creators of its historic heritage and civilization.
  • Ngalop people
    The Ngalop (Dzongkha: སྔལོངཔ་ Wylie: snga long pa; "earliest risen people" or "first converted people" according to folk etymology) are people of Tibetan origin who migrated to Bhutan as early as the ninth century.
  • Kheng people
    The Kheng people are an ethnic group of Bhutan, found primarily in the Zhemgang, Trongsa and Mongar Districts of south-central Bhutan.
  • Santhal people
    The Santhal or Saontal (also spelled as Santal,Sontal or Sonthal, Bengali: সাঁওতাল) are a scheduled tribe of people indigenous to Terai of Nepal and India, who live mainly in Nepal and the Indian States of Jharkhand, West Bengal, Bihar, Odisha, Assam (part of the Tea Tribes).
  • Layap
    The Layap (Dzongkha: ལ་ཡཔ་) are an indigenous people inhabiting the high mountains of northwest Bhutan in the village of Laya, in the Gasa District, at an altitude of 3,850 metres (12,630 ft), just below the Tsendagang peak.