Economic country classifications

2017-08-03T20:19:00+03:00[Europe/Moscow] en true Sunshine countries, Newly industrialized country, 3G (countries), Developed country, Group of Seven, Developing country, North–South divide, Group of Eight, BRIC, Group of 15, MENA, Next Eleven flashcards Economic country classifications
Click to flip
  • Sunshine countries
    The sunshine countries comprise all major countries which come either completely or partly between the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn.
  • Newly industrialized country
    The category of newly industrialized country (NIC) is a socioeconomic classification applied to several countries around the world by political scientists and economists.
  • 3G (countries)
    3G countries or Global Growth Generating countries are 11 countries which have been identified as sources of growth potential and of profitable investment opportunities.
  • Developed country
    A developed country, industrialized country, or "more economically developed country" (MEDC), is a sovereign state that has a highly developed economy and advanced technological infrastructure relative to other less industrialized nations.
  • Group of Seven
    The Group of 7 (G7) is a group consisting of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United States.
  • Developing country
    A developing country, also called a third world country, a less developed country or underdeveloped country, is a nation with a less developed industrial base and a low Human Development Index (HDI) relative to other countries.
  • North–South divide
    The North–South divide is broadly considered a socio-economic and political divide.
  • Group of Eight
    The G8 (Today G7 due to Russia's suspension) is a governmental political forum.
  • BRIC
    In economics, BRIC is a grouping acronym that refers to the countries of Brazil, Russia, India and China, which are all deemed to be at a similar stage of newly advanced economic development.
  • Group of 15
    The Group of 15 (G-15) is an informal forum set up to foster cooperation and provide input for other international groups, such as the World Trade Organization and the Group of Eight.
  • MENA
    The term MENA is an English-language acronym referring to the Middle East and North Africa region.
  • Next Eleven
    The Next Eleven (known also by the numeronym N-11) are the eleven countries – Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, the Philippines, Turkey, South Korea and Vietnam – identified by Goldman Sachs investment bank and economist Jim O'Neill in a research paper as having a high potential of becoming, along with the BRICS countries, among the world's largest economies in the 21st century.