Currencies of Asia

2017-07-29T01:32:38+03:00[Europe/Moscow] en true Japanese government-issued dollar in Malaya and Borneo, French Indochinese piastre, Burmese rupee, Chinese yuan, Israeli pound, Tuvan akşa, Dollar, Cypriot pound, Tajikistani ruble, Old Taiwan dollar, Malaya and British Borneo dollar, Manchukuo yuan, Pound (currency), Cash (currency), Ottoman lira, Soviet ruble, North Yemeni rial, Iraqi Swiss dinar, ASEAN Free Trade Area, Coinage of Asia flashcards Currencies of Asia
Click to flip
  • Japanese government-issued dollar in Malaya and Borneo
    The Japanese government-issued dollar was a form of currency issued for use within the Imperial Japan-occupied territories of Singapore, Malaya, North Borneo, Sarawak and Brunei between 1942 and 1945.
  • French Indochinese piastre
    The piastre de commerce was the currency of French Indochina between 1885 and 1952.
  • Burmese rupee
    The rupee was the currency of Burma (now Myanmar) between 1852 and 1952, except for the years 1943-1945.
  • Chinese yuan
    The yuan (/jwæn/ or /jwɛn/, /juːˈɑːn/ or /ˈjuːən/; sign: ¥; Chinese: 元; pinyin: yuán; [ɥæ̌n] ) is the base unit of a number of former and present-day Chinese currencies, and usually refers to the primary unit of account of the renminbi, the currency of the People's Republic of China.
  • Israeli pound
    The Israeli pound (Hebrew: לירה ישראלית‎‎ Lira Yisr'elit, Arabic: ليرة إسرائيلية‎‎) or Israeli lira was the currency of the State of Israel from June 1952 until 23 February 1980, when it was replaced with the shekel on 24 February 1980, which was again replaced with the New Shekel in 1985.
  • Tuvan akşa
    The akşa was the currency of the Tuvan People's Republic (Tannu-Tuva) between 1934 and 1944.
  • Dollar
    Dollar (often represented by the dollar sign $) is the name of more than twenty currencies, including (ordered by population) those of the United States, Canada, Australia, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Singapore, New Zealand, Liberia, Jamaica and Namibia.
  • Cypriot pound
    The pound, also known as the lira (Greek: λίρα / plural λίρες and Turkish: lira, from the Latin libra through the Italian lira), was the currency of Cyprus, including the Sovereign Base Areas in Akrotiri and Dhekelia, until 31 December 2007, when the Republic of Cyprus adopted the euro.
  • Tajikistani ruble
    The rouble or ruble (Tajik: рубл) was the currency of Tajikistan between May 10, 1995 and October 29, 2000.
  • Old Taiwan dollar
    The Old Taiwan dollar was in use from 1946 to 1949, beginning shortly after Taiwan's handover from the Japanese Empire to the Nationalist China.
  • Malaya and British Borneo dollar
    The Malaya and British Borneo dollar (known as the ringgit in Malay, Jawi: رڠڬيت) was the currency of Malaya, Singapore, Sarawak, North Borneo, Brunei and Riau archipelago from 1953 to 1967 and was the successor of the Malayan dollar and Sarawak dollar, replacing them at par.
  • Manchukuo yuan
    The Manchukuo yuan (滿洲國圓) was the official unit of currency of the Empire of Manchukuo, from June 1932 to August 1945.
  • Pound (currency)
    The pound is a unit of currency in some nations.
  • Cash (currency)
    The cash is a name for several historical currencies used in Asia.
  • Ottoman lira
    The Ottoman lira was the currency of Ottoman Empire between 1844 and 29 October 1923.
  • Soviet ruble
    The Soviet ruble or rouble (Russian: рубль; see below for other languages of the USSR) was the currency of the Soviet Union.
  • North Yemeni rial
    The rial or riyal was the currency of North Yemen, first the Mutawakkilite Kingdom of Yemen, then the Yemen Arab Republic.
  • Iraqi Swiss dinar
    The Swiss dinar was the Iraqi currency in circulation prior to the 1990 Gulf War.
  • ASEAN Free Trade Area
    The ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA) is a trade bloc agreement by the Association of Southeast Asian Nations supporting local manufacturing in all ASEAN countries.
  • Coinage of Asia
    The earliest coinage of Asia is also the oldest coinage of the world.