British molecular biologists

2017-08-02T09:42:02+03:00[Europe/Moscow] en true Edwin Southern, Nessa Carey, John Derek Smith, John Cairns (biochemist), Kenneth Holmes, Norman Davidson (biochemist), Richard Henderson (biologist), Gabriel Waksman, Stephen A. Cusack, E. Richard Moxon, Daniela Rhodes, Stephen Bustin, Terence Rabbitts, Phillip Thomas Hawkins, Michael J O Wakelam, Leonard R. Stephens, Martin Turner (scientist), Caroline Austin, Harry J. Gilbert, Graham Cairns-Smith, Helen Saibil, Mariann Bienz flashcards British molecular biologists
Click to flip
  • Edwin Southern
    Sir Edwin Mellor Southern, FRS (born 7 June 1938) is an English Lasker Award-winning molecular biologist, Emeritus Professor of Biochemistry at the University of Oxford and a fellow of Trinity College, Oxford.
  • Nessa Carey
    Nessa Carey is the author of The Epigenetics Revolution (2011) and Junk DNA: A Journey Through the Dark Matter of the Genome (2015), and former Senior Lecturer in Molecular Biology at Imperial College London.
  • John Derek Smith
    John Derek Smith FRS (1924–2003) was a British molecular biologist who participated in many of the major discoveries at the LMB * Born Southampton, England 8 December 1924 * Scientific staff, Agricultural Research Council Virus Research Unit, Cambridge 1945-59; * Research Fellow, Clare College, Cambridge 1949-52; * Rockefeller Foundation Fellow, University of California, Berkeley 1955-57; * Senior Research Fellow, California Institute of Technology 1959-62, * Member of Scientific Staff, LMB, Cambridge 1962-88 * Sherman Fairchild Scholar 1974-75; * Head, Subdivision of Biochemistry, Cell Biology Division 1976-88 * FRS 1976;
  • John Cairns (biochemist)
    (Hugh) John Forster Cairns FRS (born 21 November 1922) is a British physician and molecular biologist who made significant contributions to molecular genetics, cancer research, and public health.
  • Kenneth Holmes
    Kenneth Charles Holmes FRS (born 1934) is a British molecular biologist.
  • Norman Davidson (biochemist)
    James Norman Davidson CBE PRSE FRS (5 March 1911 – 11 September 1972) was a Scottish biochemist, pioneer molecular biologist and textbook author.
  • Richard Henderson (biologist)
    Richard Henderson FRS (born 19 July 1945) is a Scottish molecular biologist and biophysicist and pioneer in the field of electron microscopy of biological molecules.
  • Gabriel Waksman
    Gabriel Waksman’s laboratory studies the structures and mechanisms of large nanomachines involved in bacterial secretion with particular emphasis on pilus biogenesis by the Chaperone-Usher pathway and on Type IV Secretion (T4S) Systems.
  • Stephen A. Cusack
    Cusack was educated at Imperial College London where he was awarded a PhD in 1976 for research on the Radial distribution function and electron density in metals.
  • E. Richard Moxon
    E. Richard Moxon is a medical researcher and Emeritus Professor of Paediatrics at the University of Oxford.
  • Daniela Rhodes
    Daniela Rhodes FRS is a distinguished structural and molecular biologist.
  • Stephen Bustin
    Stephen Andrew Bustin (born 1954), PhD, FSB is a British scientist, former professor of molecular sciences at Queen Mary University of London from 2004 to 2012, as well as visiting professor at Middlesex University, beginning in 2006.
  • Terence Rabbitts
    Terence Howard Rabbitts FRS FMedSci (born 17 June 1946) is currently Professor of Molecular Biology at the University of Oxford.
  • Phillip Thomas Hawkins
    Phillip (Phil) Thomas Hawkins FRS (born 5 October 1958) is a molecular biologist, senior group leader at the Babraham Institute.
  • Michael J O Wakelam
    Michael J O Wakelam is a molecular biologist, director of the Babraham Institute.
  • Leonard R. Stephens
    Leonard (Len) R Stephens FRS (born 18 June 1960) is a molecular biologist, senior group leader and associate director at the Babraham Institute.
  • Martin Turner (scientist)
    Martin Turner (born 03 June 1963) is a molecular biologist, senior group leader at the Babraham Institute, leader of the lymphocyte institute strategic programme.
  • Caroline Austin
    Caroline A. Austin is a British molecular biologist.
  • Harry J. Gilbert
    Harry J. Gilbert FRS FMedSci is Professor of Agricultural Biochemistry and Nutrition in the Institute For Cell and Molecular Biosciences at Newcastle University.
  • Graham Cairns-Smith
    Alexander Graham Cairns-Smith FRSE (24 November 1931 – 26 August 2016) was an organic chemist and molecular biologist at the University of Glasgow.
  • Helen Saibil
    Helen Ruth Saibil FRS FMedSci (born August 12, 1950) is a Canadian-British molecular biologist and Professor of Structural Biology at the Department of Crystallography of Birkbeck, University of London.
  • Mariann Bienz
    She was educated at Gymnasium Winterthur and the University of Zürich where she studied Zoology and Molecular Biology and earned her PhD in 1981.