British chemical engineers

2017-08-03T01:39:01+03:00[Europe/Moscow] en true Vero Charles Driffield, Richard Darton, Richard Pike, John G. Collier, Frederick Warner (engineer), Walter Freud, Ashok Kumar (British politician), John Frank Davidson, John Stuart Archer, Percy White (nuclear scientist), Ian Read, Gordon Beveridge, Judith Hackitt, Stefaan Simons, Frank Lees, George E. Davis, Keith E. Gubbins, John Bridgwater, Howard Chase, Peter Danckwerts, Philip Baxter, Meredith Thring, Roland Clift, Dudley Maurice Newitt, Lynn Gladden, Trevor Kletz, John Coulson, Jack Richardson (chemical engineer), Ian Fells flashcards British chemical engineers
Click to flip
  • Vero Charles Driffield
    Vero Charles Driffield (7 May 1848 – 14 November 1915) was a chemical engineer who also became involved in photographic research.
  • Richard Darton
    Richard Charles Darton, OBE, FREng (born 1 July 1948) was Head of the Department of Engineering Science, University of Oxford from 2004 to 2009.
  • Richard Pike
    Richard Andrew Pike FRSC (2 April 1950 – 23 July 2011) was the Chief Executive of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) from 2006 to 2011.
  • John G. Collier
    John Gordon Collier FRS (22 January 1935 – 18 November 1995) was a British chemical engineer and administrator, particularly associated with nuclear power for electricity production.
  • Frederick Warner (engineer)
    Sir Frederick Edward Warner FRS, FREng (31 March 1910 – 3 July 2010) was a British chemical engineer.
  • Walter Freud
    Anton Walter Freud (3 April 1921 – 8 February 2004) was a chemical engineer and a member of the Royal Pioneer Corps and the British Special Operations Executive.
  • Ashok Kumar (British politician)
    Ashok Kumar (28 May 1956 – 15 March 2010) was a Labour Party politician in the United Kingdom who was the Member of Parliament (MP) for Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland from 1997 until his death shortly before the 2010 general election.
  • John Frank Davidson
    John Frank Davidson FRS FREng FIChemE (born 7 February 1926) is a British chemical engineer and former Shell Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Cambridge.
  • John Stuart Archer
    John Stuart Archer, CBE, FRSE, FREng (15 June 1943 – 9 December 2007) was Vice-Chancellor and Principal of Heriot-Watt University from 1997 to 2006.
  • Percy White (nuclear scientist)
    Percival Albert Frederick White OBE (16 July 1916 – 8 January 2013) was a British chemist, metallurgist and nuclear scientist who was involved in the creation and testing of Britain's first nuclear weapon during Operation Hurricane in 1952.
  • Ian Read
    Ian C. Read (born 1953) is a Scottish-born American businessman, a chartered accountant, and since 2010 the chief executive officer (CEO) of Pfizer, the world's largest drug company.
  • Gordon Beveridge
    Sir Gordon Smith Grieve Beveridge FRSE MRIA FEng FIChemE FRSA (1933, St Andrews – 1999, Bangor) was a Scottish chemist.
  • Judith Hackitt
    Dame Judith Elizabeth Hackitt, DBE, FREng, FIChemE, FCGI (born 1 December 1954) is a British engineer and civil servant.
  • Stefaan Simons
    Stefaan J. R. Simons is a chemical engineer and senior academic employed by the University College London.
  • Frank Lees
    Francis Pearson Lees (5 April 1931 – 18 March 1999), usually known as Frank Lees, was a chemical engineer and a Professor at Loughborough University who is noted for his contribution to the field of industrial safety.
  • George E. Davis
    George Edward Davis (1850–1906) is regarded as the founding father of the discipline of Chemical Engineering.
  • Keith E. Gubbins
    Keith E. Gubbins (born 27 January 1937) is a British born American chemical engineer who is the W.
  • John Bridgwater
    John Bridgwater FREng (born 10 January 1938) is a retired Shell Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Cambridge.
  • Howard Chase
    Howard Allaker Chase ScD, FREng is a British academic and chemical engineer.
  • Peter Danckwerts
    Peter Victor Danckwerts GC, MBE, FRS (14 October 1916 – 25 October 1984) was awarded the George Cross in 1940 for "great gallantry and undaunted devotion to duty" while defusing enemy mines.
  • Philip Baxter
    Sir John Philip Baxter, KBE, CMG (7 May 1905 – 5 September 1989), better known as Philip Baxter, was a British chemical engineer.
  • Meredith Thring
    Meredith Wooldridge Thring, FREng, FIMechE, FIET, FInstP, FIChemE, FEI (17 December 1915 – 15 September 2006) was a British inventor, engineer, futurologist, professor and author.
  • Roland Clift
    Roland Clift, CBE FREng is a chemical engineering professor widely known for his work and media contributions on the topic of sustainability.
  • Dudley Maurice Newitt
    Dudley Maurice Newitt FRS (28 April 1894 – 14 March 1980) was a British chemical engineer who was awarded the Rumford Medal in 1962 'In recognition of his distinguished contributions to chemical engineering'.
  • Lynn Gladden
    Lynn Faith Gladden, CBE, FRS, FREng (born 30 July 1961) is the Shell Professor of Chemical Engineering and was Head of the Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology at the University of Cambridge up until 1 October 2010.
  • Trevor Kletz
    Trevor Asher Kletz, OBE, FREng, FRSC, FIChemE (1922–31 October 2013) was a prolific British author on the topic of chemical engineering safety.
  • John Coulson
    John Metcalfe Coulson (born 13 December 1910 in Dudley, died 6 January 1990)was a British chemical engineering academic particularly known for co-writing a textbook on chemical engineering with Jack Richardson (published in 1954), which became an established series of texts now known as Coulson & Richardson's Chemical Engineering.
  • Jack Richardson (chemical engineer)
    John Francis "Jack" Richardson OBE (29 July 1920 – 4 January 2011) was a UK chemical engineering academic, notable for his research into multiphase flow and rheology, but best known for a series of textbooks.
  • Ian Fells
    Ian Fells CBE, PhD, FREng, FRSC, FInstE, FIChemE, FRSE is Emeritus Professor of Energy Conversion at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne, and former chairman of the "New and Renewable Energy Centre" at Blyth, Northumberland, England.