American nuclear weapons testing

2017-07-27T20:08:47+03:00[Europe/Moscow] en true Castle Bravo, Operation Julin, Operation Upshot–Knothole, Operation Teapot, Operation Ranger, Operation Dominic, Sedan (nuclear test), Operation Buster–Jangle, Operation Greenhouse, Operation Tumbler–Snapper, Operation Wigwam, Operation Redwing, List of nuclear weapons tests of the United States, Operation Argus flashcards American nuclear weapons testing
Click to flip
  • Castle Bravo
    Castle Bravo was the code name given to the first United States test of a dry fuel hydrogen bomb, detonated on March 1, 1954, at Bikini Atoll, Marshall Islands, as the first test of Operation Castle.
  • Operation Julin
    The United States's Julin nuclear test series was a group of 7 nuclear tests conducted in 1991–1992.
  • Operation Upshot–Knothole
    Operation Upshot–Knothole was a series of eleven nuclear test shots conducted in 1953 at the Nevada Test Site.
  • Operation Teapot
    Operation Teapot was a series of fourteen nuclear test explosions conducted at the Nevada Test Site in the first half of 1955.
  • Operation Ranger
    Operation Ranger was the fourth American nuclear test series.
  • Operation Dominic
    Operation Dominic was a series of 31 nuclear test explosions with a 38.
  • Sedan (nuclear test)
    Storax Sedan was a shallow underground nuclear test conducted in Area 10 of Yucca Flat at the Nevada National Security Site on 6 July 1962 as part of Operation Plowshare, a program to investigate the use of nuclear weapons for mining, cratering, and other civilian purposes.
  • Operation Buster–Jangle
    Operation Buster–Jangle was a series of seven (six atmospheric, one cratering) nuclear weapons tests conducted by the United States in late 1951 at the Nevada Test Site.
  • Operation Greenhouse
    Operation Greenhouse was the fifth American nuclear test series, the second conducted in 1951 and the first to test principles that would lead to developing thermonuclear weapons (hydrogen bombs).
  • Operation Tumbler–Snapper
    Operation Tumbler–Snapper was a series of atomic tests conducted by the United States in early 1952 at the Nevada Test Site.
  • Operation Wigwam
    Operation Wigwam involved a single test of the Mark 90 Betty nuclear bomb.
  • Operation Redwing
    Operation Redwing was a United States series of 17 nuclear test detonations from May to July 1956.
  • List of nuclear weapons tests of the United States
    The nuclear weapons tests of the United States were performed between 1945 and 1992 as part of the nuclear arms race.
  • Operation Argus
    Operation Argus was a series of United States nuclear weapons tests and missile tests secretly conducted during August and September 1958 over the South Atlantic Ocean.