REVENUE RECOGNITION Some Highlights and Examples from SAB 101 Authoritative Literature The accounting literature on revenue recognition includes both broad conceptual discussions as well as certain industry-specific guidance. Examples of existing literature on revenue recognition include: Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) Statements of Financial Accounting Standards (SFAS) No. 13, Accounting for Leases, No. 45, Accounting for Franchise Fee Revenue, No. 48, Revenue Recognition When Right of Return Exists, No. 49, Accounting for Product Financing Arrangements, No. 50, Financial Reporting in the Record and Music Industry, No. 51, Financial Reporting by Cable Television Companies, and No. 66, Accounting for Sales of Real Estate ; Accounting Principles Board (APB) Opinion No. 10, Omnibus Opinion - 1966 ; Accounting Research Bulletin (ARB) Nos. 43 (Chapter 1a) and 45, Long-Term Construction-Type Contracts ; American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) Statements of Position (SOP) No. 81-1, Accounting for Performance of Construction-Type and Certain Production-Type Contracts, and No. 97-2, Software Revenue Recognition ; Emerging Issues Task Force (EITF) Issue No. 88-18, Sales of Future Revenues, No. 91-9, Revenue and Expense Recognition for Freight Services in Process, No. 95-1, Revenue Recognition on Sales with a Guaranteed Minimum Resale Value, and No. 95-4, Revenue Recognition on Equipment Sold and Subsequently Repurchased Subject to an Operating Lease ; and FASB Statement of Financial Accounting Concepts (SFAC) No. 5, Recognition and Measurement in Financial Statements of Business Enterprises. Criteria for Revenue Recognition The staff believes that revenue generally is realized or realizable and earned when all of the following criteria are met: Persuasive evidence of an arrangement exists, Delivery has occurred or services have been rendered, The seller's price to the buyer is fixed or determinable, and Collectibility is reasonably assured. If a transaction is within the scope of specific authoritative literature that provides revenue recognition guidance, that literature should be applied. However, in the absence of authoritative literature addressing a specific arrangement or a specific industry, the staff will consider the existing authoritative accounting standards as well as the broad revenue recognition criteria specified in the FASB's conceptual framework that contain basic guidelines for revenue recognition. Persuasive Evidence of an Arrangement Question 1: May Company A recognize the revenue in the current fiscal quarter for the sale of the product to Customer Beta when (1) the product is delivered by the end of its current fiscal quarter and (2) the final written sales agreement is executed by Customer Beta's authorized representative within a few days after the end of the current fiscal quarter? Interpretive Response: No. Generally the staff believes that, in view of Company A's business practice of requiring a written sales agreement for this class of customer, persuasive evidence of an arrangement would require a final agreement that has been executed by the properly authorized personnel of the customer. Customary business practices and processes for documenting sales transactions vary among companies and industries. Business practices and processes may also vary within individual companies (e.g., based on the class of customer, nature of product or service, or other distinguishable factors). If a company does not have a standard or customary business practice of relying on written contracts to document a sales arrangement, it usually would be expected to have other forms of written or electronic evidence to document the transaction. For example, a company may not use written contracts but instead may rely on binding purchase orders from third parties or on-line authorizations that include the terms of the sale and that are binding on the customer. In that situation, that documentation could represent persuasive evidence of an arrangement. Persuasive Evidence of an Arrangement Question 2: Company Z enters into an arrangement with Customer A to deliver Company Z's products to Customer A on a consignment basis. Pursuant to the terms of the arrangement, Customer A is a consignee, and title to the products does not pass from Company Z to Customer A until Customer A consumes the products in its operations. Company Z delivers product to Customer A under the terms of their arrangement. May Company Z recognize revenue upon delivery of its product to Customer A? Interpretive Response: No. Products delivered to a consignee pursuant to a consignment arrangement are not sales and do not qualify for revenue recognition until a sale occurs. Other situations may exist where title to delivered products passes to a buyer, but the substance of the transaction is that of a consignment or a financing. The staff believes that the presence of one or more of the following characteristics in a transaction precludes revenue recognition even if title to the product has passed to the buyer: 1. The buyer has the right to return the product and: a) the buyer does not pay the seller at the time of sale, and the buyer is not obligated to pay the seller at a specified date or dates. b) the buyer does not pay the seller at the time of sale but rather is obligated to pay at a specified date or dates, and the buyer's obligation to pay is contractually or implicitly excused until the buyer resells the product or subsequently consumes or uses the product, c) the buyer's obligation to the seller would be changed (e.g., the seller would forgive the obligation or grant a refund) in the event of theft or physical destruction or damage of the product, d) the buyer acquiring the product for resale does not have economic substance apart from that provided by the seller, or e) the seller has significant obligations for future performance to directly bring about resale of the product by the buyer. 2. The seller is required to repurchase the product (or a substantially identical product or processed goods of which the product is a component) at specified prices that are not subject to change except for fluctuations due to finance and holding costs, and the amounts to be paid by the seller will be adjusted, as necessary, to cover substantially all fluctuations in costs incurred by the buyer in purchasing and holding the product (including interest). The staff believes that indicators of the latter condition include: a) the seller provides interest-free or significantly below market financing to the buyer beyond the seller's customary sales terms and until the products are resold, b) the seller pays interest costs on behalf of the buyer under a third-party financing arrangement, or c) the seller has a practice of refunding (or intends to refund) a portion of the original sales price representative of interest expense for the period from when the buyer paid the seller until the buyer resells the product. 3. The transaction possesses the characteristics set forth in EITF Issue No. 95-1, Revenue Recognition on Sales with a Guaranteed Minimum Resale Value, and does not qualify for sales-type lease accounting. 4. The product is delivered for demonstration purposes. Delivery and Performance Questions 1 & 2: Company A receives purchase orders for products it manufactures. At the end of its fiscal quarters, customers may not yet be ready to take delivery of the products for various reasons. These reasons may include, but are not limited to, a lack of available space for inventory, having more than sufficient inventory in their distribution channel, or delays in customers' production schedules. May Company A recognize revenue for the sale of its products once it has completed manufacturing if it segregates the inventory of the products in its own warehouse from its own products? May Company A recognize revenue for the sale if it ships the products to a third-party warehouse but (1) Company A retains title to the product and (2) payment by the customer is dependent upon ultimate delivery to a customerspecified site? Interpretative Response: Generally, no. The staff believes that delivery generally is not considered to have occurred unless the customer has taken title and assumed the risks and rewards of ownership of the products specified in the customer's purchase order or sales agreement. Typically this occurs when a product is delivered to the customer's delivery site (if the terms of the sale are "FOB destination") or when a product is shipped to the customer (if the terms are "FOB shipping point"). The Commission has set forth criteria to be met in order to recognize revenue when delivery has not occurred. These include: The risks of ownership must have passed to the buyer; The customer must have made a fixed commitment to purchase the goods, preferably in written documentation; The buyer, not the seller, must request that the transaction be on a bill and hold basis. The buyer must have a substantial business purpose for ordering the goods on a bill and hold basis; There must be a fixed schedule for delivery of the goods. The date for delivery must be reasonable and must be consistent with the buyer's business purpose (e.g., storage periods are customary in the industry); The seller must not have retained any specific performance obligations such that the earning process is not complete; The ordered goods must have been segregated from the seller's inventory and not be subject to being used to fill other orders; and The equipment [product] must be complete and ready for shipment. Delivery and Performance Delivery generally is not considered to have occurred unless the product has been delivered to the customer's place of business or another site specified by the customer. If the customer specifies an intermediate site but a substantial portion of the sales price is not payable until delivery is made to a final site, then revenue should not be recognized until final delivery has occurred. After delivery of a product or performance of a service, if uncertainty exists about customer acceptance, revenue should not be recognized until acceptance occurs. Customer acceptance provisions may be included in a contract, among other reasons, to enforce a customer's rights to (1) test the delivered product, (2) require the seller to perform additional services subsequent to delivery of an initial product or performance of an initial service (e.g., a seller is required to install or activate delivered equipment), or (3) identify other work necessary to be done before accepting the product. The staff presumes that such contractual customer acceptance provisions are substantive, bargained-for terms of an arrangement. Accordingly, when such contractual customer acceptance provisions exist, the staff generally believes that the seller should not recognize revenue until customer acceptance occurs or the acceptance provisions lapse. Examples of Disclosures Ultratech Stepper The Company previously recognized revenue from the sales of its products generally upon shipment, which usually preceded installation and final customer acceptance, provided that final customer acceptance and collection of the related receivable were probable. Effective January 1, 2000, the Company changed its method of accounting for product sales to recognize such revenues when the contractual obligation for installation has been satisfied, or when installation is substantially complete, and customer acceptance provisions have lapsed, provided collections of the related receivable are probable. The Company believes the change in accounting principle is preferable based on guidance provided in SEC Staff Accounting Bulletin No.101 (SAB 101), "Revenue Recognition in Financial Statements." The cumulative effect of the change in accounting principle, $18,883,000 (or $.88 per share, basic and diluted) was reported as a charge in the quarter ended March 31,2000 in the accompanying statement of operations. The cumulative effect of the change in accounting principle includes system revenue, cost of sales and certain expenses, including warranty and commission expenses, that will be recognized when both installation and customer acceptance provisions are satisfied, subsequent to January 1, 2000. 10-Q Metris Companies In December 1999, the Securities and Exchange Commission released Staff Accounting Bulletin No. 101 - Revenue Recognition in Financial Statements. This SAB formalized the accounting for services sold with a full refund, requiring all companies to defer recognition of service revenues until the cancellation period is complete. We adopted this practice for membership programs in 1998,before the official guidance was released. Due to the adoption of this SAB, we expect to record a cumulative effect of exchange in accounting principle in the first quarter of 2000, with a net after-tax impact of $3-4 million. This one-time, non-cash, adjustment is to defer recognition of debt waiver revenue until the cancellation period is complete, which is one month. Prior to this change, we recognized onehalf of the current period revenues in the month billed. 10-K Delivery and Performance Question 3: Company R is a retailer that offers "layaway" sales to its customers. Company R retains the merchandise, sets it aside in its inventory, and collects a cash deposit from the customer. Although Company R may set a time period within which the customer must finalize the purchase, Company R does not require the customer to enter into an installment note or other fixed payment commitment or agreement when the initial deposit is received. The merchandise generally is not released to the customer until the customer pays the full purchase price. In the event that the customer fails to pay the remaining purchase price, the customer forfeits its cash deposit. In the event the merchandise is lost, damaged, or destroyed, Company R either must refund the cash deposit to the customer or provide replacement merchandise. When may Company R recognize revenue for merchandise sold under its layaway program? Interpretive Response: Provided that the other criteria for revenue recognition are met, the staff believes that Company R should recognize revenue from sales made under its layaway program upon delivery of the merchandise to the customer. This is consistent with the Commission's criteria for bill-and-hold transactions which states that "the customer must have made a fixed commitment to purchase the goods." Question 4: Registrants may negotiate arrangements pursuant to which they may receive nonrefundable fees upon entering into arrangements or on certain specified dates. In some circumstances, the right, product, or service conveyed in conjunction with the nonrefundable fee has no utility to the purchaser separate and independent of the registrant's performance of the other elements of the arrangement. Therefore, in the absence of the registrant's continuing involvement under the arrangement, the customer would not have paid the fee. Examples of this type of arrangement include the following: A registrant sells a lifetime membership in a health club. After paying a nonrefundable "initiation fee," the customer is permitted to use the health club indefinitely, so long as the customer also pays an additional usage fee each month. A registrant in the biotechnology industry agrees to provide research and development activities for a customer for a specified term. A registrant requires a customer to pay a nonrefundable "activation fee" when entering into an arrangement to provide telecommunications services. When should the revenue relating to nonrefundable, up-front fees in these types of arrangements be recognized? Interpretive Response: The staff believes that registrants should consider the specific facts and circumstances to determine the appropriate accounting for nonrefundable, upfront fees. Unless the up-front fee is in exchange for products delivered or services performed that represent the culmination of a separate earnings process, the deferral of revenue is appropriate. Examples of Disclosures Continental Airlines The Company also sells mileage credits in the OnePass program to participating partners, such as hotels, car rental agencies and credit card companies. During 1999, as a result of the recently issued Staff Accounting Bulletin No. 101 "Revenue Recognition in Financial Statements," the Company changed the method it uses to account for the sale of these mileage credits. This change, which totaled $27 million, net of tax, was applied retroactively to January 1, 1999. Under the new accounting method, revenue from the sale of mileage credits is deferred and recognized when transportation is provided. Previously, the resulting revenue, net of the incremental cost of providing future air travel, was recorded in the period in which the credits were sold. This change reduced net income for the year ended December 31, 1999 by $21 million ($32 million pre-tax). The Company believes the new method is preferable as it results in a better matching of revenues with the period in which services are provided. 10-K Crosswalk Com Recognizing that there is diversity of practice within the Internet industry in recognizing revenue and associated cost on initial content integration and/or development fees, the Securities and Exchange Commission released Staff Accounting Bulletin No. 101 "Revenue Recognition in Financial Statements" in December 1999 (SAB 101). Prior to the issuance of SAB 101, the Company had been recording revenue for the content integration or development fee portion of sponsorships of its Web site upon completion of work scope related to the contract implementation. Pursuant to SAB 101, effective January 1, 2000, the Company has elected to change its revenue recognition on these content integration or development fees to a more preferable method whereby revenue will be recognized ratably over the term of the contract. The cumulative effect of this change is to increase the accumulated deficit by approximately $1.4 million at January 1, 2000. Had the change been made at January 1, 1999, revenues for the year ended December 31, 1999 would have been reduced by approximately $2.2 million and the net loss of the Company for the year ended December 31, 1999 would have been increased by $1.4 million or ($0.20) per share. 10-K Fixed or Determinable Sales Price A company's contracts may include customer cancellation or termination clauses. Cancellation or termination provisions may be indicative of a demonstration period or an otherwise incomplete transaction. Examples of transactions that financial management and auditors should be aware of and where such provisions may exist include "side" agreements and significant transactions with unusual terms and conditions. These contractual provisions raise questions as to whether the sales price is fixed or determinable. Question 1: Company M is a discount retailer. Company M is a discount retailer. It generates revenue from annual membership fees it charges customers to shop at its stores and from the sale of products at a discount price to those customers. The membership arrangements with retail customers require the customer to pay the entire membership fee (e.g., $35) at the outset of the arrangement. However, the customer has the unilateral right to cancel the arrangement at any time during its term and receive a full refund of the initial fee. Based on historical data collected over time for a large number of homogeneous transactions, Company M estimates that approximately 40% of the customers will request a refund before the end of the membership contract term. Company M's data for the past five years indicates that significant variations between actual and estimated cancellations have not occurred, and Company M does not expect significant variations to occur in the foreseeable future. May Company M recognize in earnings the revenue for the membership fees and accrue the costs to provide membership services at the outset of the arrangement? Interpretive Response: No. In the staff's view, it would be inappropriate for Company M to recognize the membership fees as earned revenue upon billing or receipt of the initial fee with a corresponding accrual for estimated costs to provide the membership services. This conclusion is based on Company M's remaining and unfulfilled contractual obligation to perform services (i.e., make available and offer products for sale at a discounted price) throughout the membership period. Therefore, the earnings process, irrespective of whether a cancellation clause exists, is not complete. In addition, the ability of the member to receive a full refund of the membership fee up to the last day of the membership term raises an uncertainty as to whether the fee is fixed or determinable at any point before the end of the term. Fixed or Determinable Sales Price Exception: The staff will not object to the recognition of refundable membership fees, net of estimated refunds, as earned revenue over the membership term in the limited circumstances where all of the following criteria have been met: The estimates of terminations or cancellations and refunded revenues are being made for a large pool of homogeneous items (e.g., membership or other service transactions with the same characteristics such as terms, periods, class of customers, nature of service, etc.). Reliable estimates of the expected refunds can be made on a timely basis. There is a sufficient company-specific historical basis upon which to estimate the refunds, and the company believes that such historical experience is predictive of future events. The amount of the membership fee specified in the agreement at the outset of the arrangement is fixed, other than the customer's right to request a refund. Examples of Disclosures Ankia Therapeutics The Company has also adopted the provisions of SEC Staff Accounting Bulletin 101 (SAB 101) in its 1999 operating results. The issuance of SAB 101 changes revenue recognition practices for non-refundable up-front payments received as part of broad supply, distribution and marketing agreements, including $2,500,000 and $1,500,000, respectively, received from Zimmer in the fourth quarter of 1997 and the second quarter of 1998. These amounts were previously recognized in the period received. In accordance with SAB 101, the company has retroactively recorded the cumulative effect of the change in accounting principle of $3,625,000 as a charge in the first quarter of 1999. These payments will be recognized as revenue ratably over the 10-year term of the distribution agreement. The amount received and deferred to future periods is $3,125,000 at March 31, 2000 of which $2,725,000 is included in long-term deferred revenue. The Company has recognized as revenue $100,000 of the payments in each of the quarters ended March 31, 1999 and 2000. 10-Q Fixed or Determinable Sales Price Question 2: Company A owns and leases retail space to retailers. Company A (lessor) renews a lease with a customer (lessee) that is classified as an operating lease. The lease term is one year and provides that the lease payments are $1.2 million, payable in equal monthly installments on the first day of each month, plus one percent of the lessee's net sales in excess of $25 million if the net sales exceed $25 million during the lease term (i.e., contingent rental). The lessee has historically experienced annual net sales in excess of $25 million in the particular space being leased, and it is probable that the lessee will generate in excess of $25 million net sales during the term of the lease. Should the lessor recognize any rental income attributable to the one percent of the lessee's net sales exceeding $25 million before the lessee actually achieves the $25 million net sales threshold? Interpretive Response: No. The staff believes that contingent rental income "accrues" (i.e., it should be recognized as revenue) when the changes in the factor(s) on which the contingent lease payments is (are) based actually occur. Examples of Disclosures Equity Inns In December 1999, the Securities and Exchange Commission issued Staff Accounting Bulletin No. 101, "Revenue Recognition in Financial Statements" ("SAB 101"). SAB 101 provides that a lessor shall defer recognition of contingent rental income in interim periods until specified targets that trigger the contingent income are met. The Company has reviewed the terms of its percentage leases and has determined that the provisions of SAB 101 will significantly impact the Company's current revenue recognition on an interim basis, but will have no impact on the Company's annual percentage lease revenue, funds from operations or interim cash flow from its third party Lessees. The Company has adopted the provisions of SAB 101 and elected to implement these provisions as a change in accounting principle effective January 1, 2000. For comparative purposes, the Company has elected to illustrate the proforma effect of SAB 101 for the three-month period ended March 31, 1999. The effect of the change on the three months ended March 31, 2000 was to decrease lease revenues by $6,750,412 and, therefore, net income applicable to common shareholders by $6,521,989 ($.18 per share-basic and diluted) to a loss of $6,179,676 [$(.17) per sharebasic and diluted]. The proforma effect of the change on the three months ended March 31, 1999 was to decrease lease revenues by $7,353,579 and, therefore, net income applicable to common shareholders by $7,089,906 ($.19 per share-basic and diluted] to a loss of $3,830,561 [$(.10) per sharebasic and diluted). 10-Q Income Statement Presentation (Gross vs. Net) Question 1: Customers place their orders for the product by making a product selection directly from the internet site and providing a credit card number for the payment. Company A receives the order and authorization from the credit card company, and passes the order on to Company T. Company T ships the product directly to the customer. Company A does not take title to the product and has no risk of loss or other responsibility for the product. Company T is responsible for all product returns, defects, and disputed credit card charges. The product is typically sold for $175 of which Company A receives $25. In the event a credit card transaction is rejected, Company A loses its margin on the sale (i.e., the $25). Should Company A report revenue on a gross basis as $175 along with costs of sales of $150 or on a net basis as $25, similar to a commission? Interpretive Response: Company A should report the revenue from the product on a net basis. In assessing whether revenue should be reported gross with separate display of cost of sales to arrive at gross profit or on a net basis, the staff considers whether the registrant: acts as principal in the transaction, takes title to the products, has risks and rewards of ownership, such as the risk of loss for collection, delivery, or returns, and acts as an agent or broker (including performing services, in substance, as an agent or broker) with compensation on a commission or fee basis. If the company performs as an agent or broker without assuming the risks and rewards of ownership of the goods, sales should be reported on a net basis. Examples of Disclosures iEntertainment Network iEntertainment Network recognizes Internet advertising revenue generated through third party agency representation on a net basis, after deduction of agency commission expense in accordance with Staff Accounting Bulletin No. 101, Revenue Recognition in Financial Statements in December 1999.The recognition of revenue in this manner is consistent with the actual cash received. This reporting approach, although it does reduce the Company's reported revenues by the amount of the agency commission, has zero impact on cash or earnings. In those instances where the Company's own internal sales personnel sells advertising direct to the advertiser, there is no outside sales commission, therefore revenues are recognized on a gross basis which is consistent with the cash received. 10-K In December 1999, the Securities and Exchange Commission released Staff Accounting Bulletin ("SAB") No. 101, "Revenue Recognition in Financial Statements", which provides guidance on the recognition, presentation, and disclosure of revenue in financial statements. SAB No. 101 provides guidance on a variety of revenue recognition issues, including gross versus net income statement presentation. The Company's 1999 quarterly reporting on Form 10-QSB reported advertising revenues gross with related fees reported as selling and marketing expenses. Based on the criteria of SAB No. 101, the Company has retroactively reclassified its 1999 quarterly reporting to present its advertising revenues net of these sales and marketing expenses. The total amount reclassified for the three months ended March 31, 1999 was $53,000. 10-Q More Applications of Revenue Recognition STARSTREAM INC. Starstream Inc. produces motion pictures and distributes them through theaters, television and home video media. The films usually are sold (licensed) to theaters for a percentage of the box office receipts or, in some markets, for a flat fee. Starstream may receive a nonrefundable guarantee against a percentage of the box office receipts. Guarantees in foreign markets are essentially outright sales because there is a lack of control over distribution. When should Starstream recognize its revenue? 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. At contract signing? At showing in theaters? Is it different for flat fees vs. % of ticket sales? Is it different for guarantees vs. non-guarantees? Is it different in US from foreign markets? How does Starstream allocate (amortize) its film production costs? Individual film forecast method: Amortization in Yr. X = (Gross Revenue in Yr. X / Anticipated Revenue Remaining) x Unamortized Film Cost How does Starstream allocate (amortize) its film production costs? Individual film forecast method Example #1: Film cost: $10 million Anticipated total gross revenues: $25 million Actual gross revenues: Yr. 1: $15 million Yr. 2: $8 million Yr. 3: $2 million Film cost: $10 million Anticipated total gross revenues: $25 million Actual gross revenues: Yr. 1: $15 million Yr. 2: $8 million Yr. 3: $2 million Amortization: Year 1: ($15 million/$25 million) x $10 million = $6 million Year 2: ($8 million/$10 million) x $4 million = $3.2 million Year 3: ($2 million/$2 million) x $0.8 million = $0.8 million Total amortization (yrs. 1-3) = $10 million Example #2: Film cost: $10 million Actual gross revenues: Yr. 1: $15 million Yr. 2: $8 million Yr. 3: $2 million Anticipated total gross revenues: At end of Year 1: $50 million At end of Year 2: $43 million At end of Year 3: $39 million Film cost: $10 million Actual gross revenues: Yr. 1: $15 million Yr. 2: $8 million Yr. 3: $2 million Anticipated total gross revenues: At end of Year 1: $50 million At end of Year 2: $43 million At end of Year 3: $39 million Amortization: Year 1: ($15 million/$50 million) x $10 million = $3 million Year 2: ($8 million/$28 million) x $7 million = $2 million Year 3: ($2 million/$16 million) x $5 million = $0.625 million Total amortization (yrs. 1-3) = $5.625 million Tradecity.com Tradecity.com is an internet-based retailer (e-tailer) with a high volume, low margin business strategy. Among its means of generating revenues is to sell ads to other e-tailers. It advertises also, both through traditional media, as well as key internet sites. In recent months, Tradecity.com has been in a tight liquidity situation, as have many others in the industry. Consequently, it has entered into several agreements to swap ads and other products with its customers. How should Tradecity.com recognize revenues on these swaps? 1. Not at all. 2. It depends. On what? Case 5-1 (pg. 268) Requirement 1 A bill and hold strategy accelerates the recognition of revenue. In this case, sales that would normally have occurred in 1998 were recorded in 1997. Assuming a positive gross profit on these sales, earnings in 1997 is inflated. Requirement 2 A customer would probably not be expected to pay for goods purchased using this bill and hold strategy until the goods actually were received. Therefore, Receivables would increase. Requirement 3 Sales that would normally have been recorded in 1998 were recorded in 1997. This bill and hold strategy shifted sales revenue and, therefore, earnings from 1998 to 1997. Requirement 4 Earnings quality refers to the ability of reported earnings (income) to predict a company’s future earnings. Sunbeam’s earnings management strategy produced a 1997 earnings figure that was not indicative of the company’s future profit-generating ability. Case 5-8 (pg. 270) [Excerpts from SFAS 46] 3. This Statement specifies criteria for recognizing revenue on a sale in which a product may be returned, whether as a matter of contract or as a matter of existing practice, either by the ultimate customer or by a party who resells the product to others. The product may be returned for a refund of the purchase price, for a credit applied to amounts owed or to be owed for other purchases, or in exchange for other products. The purchase price or credit may include amounts related to incidental services, such as installation. STANDARDS OF FINANCIAL ACCOUNTING AND REPORTING Factors that May Impair Reasonable Estimates of Returns 8. The ability to make a reasonable estimate of the amount of future returns depends on many factors and circumstances that will vary from one case to the next. However, the following factors may impair the ability to make a reasonable estimate: • The susceptibility of the product to significant external factors, such as technological obsolescence or changes in demand; • Relatively long periods in which a particular product may be returned; • Absence of historical experience with similar types of sales of similar products, or inability to apply such experience because of changing circumstances, for example, changes in the selling enterprise's marketing policies or relationships with its customers; and • Absence of a large volume of relatively homogeneous transactions. The existence of one or more of the above factors, in light of the significance of other factors, may not be sufficient to prevent making a reasonable estimate; likewise, other factors may preclude a reasonable estimate. STANDARDS OF FINANCIAL ACCOUNTING AND REPORTING Criteria for Recognizing Revenue When Right of Return Exists 6. If an enterprise sells its product but gives the buyer the right to return the product, revenue from the sales transaction shall be recognized at time of sale only if all of the following conditions are met: • The seller's price to the buyer is substantially fixed or determinable at the date of sale; • The buyer has paid the seller, or the buyer is obligated to pay the seller and the obligation is not contingent on resale of the product; • The buyer's obligation to the seller would not be changed in the event of theft or physical destruction or damage of the product; • The buyer acquiring the product for resale has economic substance apart from that provided by the seller; • The seller does not have significant obligations for future performance to directly bring about resale of the product by the buyer; and • The amount of future returns can be reasonably estimated (paragraph 8). Sales revenue and cost of sales that are not recognized at time of sale because the foregoing conditions are not met shall be recognized either when the return privilege has substantially expired or if those conditions subsequently are met, whichever occurs first. Hewlett Packard Company Product is considered delivered, and revenue is recognized when title and risk of loss have been transferred to the customer. Under the terms and conditions of the sale, this may occur either at the time of shipment or when product is delivered to the customer. Revenue is reduced for estimated customer returns, price protection, rebates and other offerings that occur under sales programs established by HP directly or with HP's distributors and resellers. Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. The Company recognizes revenue from product sold direct to customers when the contract is in place, the price is determined, shipment is made and collectibility is reasonably assured. The Company sells to distributors under terms allowing the distributors certain rights of return and price protection on unsold merchandise held by them. The distributor agreements, which may be canceled by either party upon specified notice, generally contain a provision for the return of the Company’s products in the event the agreement with the distributor is terminated and the distributor’s products have not been sold. Accordingly, the Company defers the net gross margin, resulting from the deferral of both revenue and related product costs from sales to distributors with agreements that have the aforementioned terms until the merchandise is resold by the distributors. Why the difference? Reasons for the difference in policies could relate to the types of products sold by the two companies, the distribution channels, and the actual agreements with customers. 1. AMD sells semiconductors, a highly volatile industry. It may be more difficult for AMD to see through the distribution channels to reasonably estimate returns. 2. The agreements with distributors of AMD’s products may be more liberal than those of HP with respect to things like price protection and returns. For example, AMD might offer a longer time period for customers to return product than does HP. 3. AMD’s sales to distributors might be contingent on resale of the product to end users, one of the six criteria that must be met before revenue can be recognized when the right of return exists.