Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

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GMI Labeling Guidelines for Digital Media
Project Graffiti
Updated November 1, 2011
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Table of Contents
GMI Graffiti Labeling Guidelines
page
Purpose of the Guidelines
3
Global procedures
6
Complete list of GMI Attributes
7
Labeling details for each attribute
8
Graffiti contact information
31
GMI Division_BusinessUnit_Brand abbreviations
32
GMI Data Flow for Marketing Mix Model
33
Project Graffiti Background
37
Next steps
45
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Purpose of
this guide:
Establish hierarchy, process
and standards for labeling
all GMI digital media/creative
Benefit:
Enable standardized data to flow into,
and actionable results to flow out
of, all GMI digital media
Outcome:
Increase digital marketing effectiveness
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GMI Labeling Guidelines for Digital Media
Purpose of this guide

Provide clear, consistent and up-to-date direction to all General
Mills digital partners about:
• The complete list of attributes GMI wants to track
• The universe of GMI names for each attribute
• The naming conventions and abbreviations to use when labeling
digital media/creative attributes
• Syncing up GMI attributes to Doubleclick [and in the future, with other
ad servers – Marin for search, Vindico for video, etc.]

This guide is a work in progress. It will change over time. We will
revise and republish it as needed. General Mills welcomes partner
input on improving and standardizing our labeling guidelines.
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Timing and Applications
FY12 Rollout

All partner agencies to begin applying new labeling conventions to
digital display campaigns immediately.
• No requirement to revise campaigns from past years.
• Re-labeling of existing FY12 campaigns is desired.


Search, video and other digital advertising channels, which use ad
servers other than Doubleclick, are to apply new labeling
conventions as soon as possible, where feasible.
GMI to meet with partner agencies every quarter throughout FY12
to assess new labeling and optimize guidelines.
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Global Procedures for Naming Conventions





Use standard abbreviations for all labels. [e.g. BAKE vs. Baking]
Use underscores ( _ ) to separate labels. Do not uses spaces or
hyphens between multiple labels in a string or field.
Every attribute must be included, in the same order, in all fields, to
enable proper parsing for reporting. Do not skip an attribute.
Use only letters and numbers when naming the campaign name
and creative message. Do not use symbols or punctuation.
Trackers used to collect data on site-served and Pointroll-served
media will be named as though they are not trackers, instead
detailing the size or video length and other criteria of the ad that
they are tracking rather than including 1x1 in the placement name.
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GMI Attributes: Complete List
Labels
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
Division
- Business Unit
-Brand
Campaign Name / Concept
Fiscal Year [F12]
Creative Message
Creative Goal [awareness, coupon, etc.]
Media Type [13 display, video, search types]
Creative Dimensions [300x250, etc.]
Site [Yahoo, Discovery, etc.]
Site Section [ROS, contextual, etc.]
Ad Format [Flash, gif, etc.]
Campaign Start Date
Campaign End Date
Metrics
15.
16.
Run Date [MMM prefers weekly rollup]
Market [DMA in DFA -> MMM will convert to
Scantrack]
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.
24.
Impressions
Cost
CPM
Effective CPM
Clicks
Click-through-rate
Conversion (Post click/Post impression)
4th Party Appends [comScore, Quantcast, etc.]
Attributes tracked elsewhere or a future ask
A.
B.
C.
D.
E.
Link to view creative
Target audience
Budget Type [trade, consumer, coop]
Channel [Groc, Club, CStore, etc.]
Retailer [Target, Kroger, Sam’s, etc.]
Notes:
• Attributes in blue are required for GMI Marketing Mix Model [MMM].
• Attribute #7 is new, all others are already being tracked in Doubleclick.
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Attribute #1: DIVISION
Definition
Standard GMI Division names that sync with GMI official hierarchies.
Labeling Options
BAKE [Baking]
BIGG [Big G]
SNAK [Snacks]
PBUS [Pillsbury]
MEAL [Meals]
YOPL [Yoplait]
SPF [Small Planet Foods]
GCOM [G-Comm]
BOTG [Brands on the Go]
INTL [International]
SALE [Sales]
Example
New: GMI_BAKE [eventually just BAKE] | Old: “General Mills, Inc. - Baking” and variations
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• Use standard abbreviations, separated by an underscore.
See appendix for abbreviations
• Set when Advertiser is created in:
DFA Trafficking->Advertising
• Note: For GMI Customer digital programs, “Scom” will be added
to the front of the Division name so all customer programs can
be tracked both by division, too. [e.g. ScomBIGG]
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #2: BUSINESS UNIT
Definition
Standard GMI Business Unit names that sync with GMI official hierarchies.
Labeling Options
See complete list of Business Units in appendix
BAKE-Dessert, Bisquick, Flour
BIGG-Cheerios [CBU], Adult [ABU], Kid, etc.
SNAK-Grain, Fruit or Salty
PBUS-Breads, Brkfst, Biscuits, Totinos, Sweet
MEAL-Potatoes, Green Giant, Old El Paso,
Helpers, Progresso
YOPL-Kid or Adult
SPF-Cascadian Farms, Muir Glen, Natural or
Larabar
BOTG- Cereal, Yoplait, Dry Mix, Snacks, etc.
INTL-Canada, US Export
SALES/GCOM/GMI
Example
BusinessUnit_Brand_CampaignName_FiscalYear
CBU_HNC_Happy_FY12
ABU_YoGrk_GoGreek_FY12
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• Use standard abbreviations, separated by an underscore.
• For multi-brand campaigns, which run at the division or business
unit level, the naming convention will be: DIV_DIVx_DIVx or
DIV_BU_BUx. Example: MEAL_OEP_OEPx or BIGG_KBU_KBUx. "x"
is a wildcard, representing multiple brands or business units.
• Set when DFA “Campaign Name” field is created.
• Also label the physical creative asset with these attributes.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #3: Brand
Definition
Standard GMI brand names that sync with GMI official hierarchies.
Labeling Options
See complete list of Brands in appendix
OSY-Original Yoplait
YBC-Yellow Box Cheerios
FRU-Fruit Rollups
HamH-Hamburger Helper
PBScram-Pillsbury Scrambles GGCore-Green Giant Core/VFS
CCP-Cocoa Puffs
NatVB-Nature Valley Bars
F1Bar-Fiber 1 Bars
Example
BusinessUnit_Brand_CampaignName_FiscalYear
CBU_HNC_Happy_FY12
ABU_YoGrk_GoGreek_FY12
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• Use standard abbreviations, separated by an underscore.
• For multi-brand campaigns, which run at the division or business
unit level, the naming convention will be: DIV_DIVx_DIVx or
DIV_BU_BUx. Example: MEAL_OEP_OEPx or BIGG_KBU_KBUx. "x"
is a wildcard, representing multiple brands or business units.
• Set when DFA “Campaign Name” field is created.
• Also label the physical creative asset with these attributes.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #4: CAMPAIGN NAME
Definition
Overarching, descriptive name of the campaign, same as the General Mills “One Campaign” name.
[Not the names of creative message versions within a campaign, which are attribute 6.]
Labeling Options
Each name will be unique to each campaign and should be descriptive and brief.
Example
BusinessUnit_Brand_CampaignName_FiscalYear
CBU_HNC_Happy_FY12
ABU_YoGrk_GoGreek_FY12
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• Campaign name should apply to all creative messages used for a
particular flight/season/product, across channels.
• Campaign name usually determined by GMI brand teams. To be
standardized between the Creative and Media teams.
• Record attributes separating with an _underscore_ No spaces. Don’t skip
an attribute. No special characters, only letters & numbers.
• Set when Campaign is created in Media Visor or set when DFA “Campaign Name” field is created.
• Also label the physical creative asset with these attributes.
• Search will use 3 primary campaign names: SEMBrand for branded search campaigns, SEMTD for traffic driving search
campaigns and SEMHMM for acquisition search campaigns.
• GMI customer programs will append the campaign name with retailer abbreviations. [e.g. HappyKidWM for a Happy Kid
campaign for WalMart, KR for Krogers, etc. plus MR for Multiple Retailers]
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Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #5: FISCAL YEAR
Definition
GMI fiscal year. GMI fiscal years begin June 1 and end May 31. For media purposes, the fiscal year
runs on a broadcast calendar starting on a Sunday, so the FY would officially start on the last
Sunday in May before June 1 or on June 1 if it falls on a Sunday.
Labeling Options
FY12, FY13, etc.
Example
BusinessUnit_Brand_CampaignName_FiscalYear
CBU_HNC_Happy_FY12
ABU_YoGrk_GoGreek_FY12
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• Campaigns spanning 2 or more fiscal years should be split into
separate campaigns.
• Use FY vs. F
• FY starts the last Sunday in May, or June 1 if it falls on a Sunday.
• Record attributes separating with an _underscore_ No spaces.
Don’t skip an attribute.
• Set when Campaign is created in Media Visor or set when DFA
“Campaign Name” field is created.
• Also label the physical creative asset with these attributes.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #6: CREATIVE MESSAGE
Definition
Identifies creative versions within a specific creative campaign. Concept names are descriptive and
can be ID’d by subject: 1. HispFam, 2. DadKids, 3. Teens, or CTA: 1. Coupon, 2. Recipe, 3.
LearnMore, or other versioning.
Labeling Options
To be identified by creative agencies during ad creation and shared with media partner.
For 1x1s, follow the naming string through media type [#8], then label creative dimension “1x1”.
Examples
Brand_CreativeMessage_CrtvGoal_MediaType_CrtvDimensions
F1Bars_Swimsuit_AWR_BR_300x250
F1Bars_ClassReunion_CPN_BR_728x90
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
•
•
•
•
Note: Brand included in creative string again for easy matching to DFA.
Creative agency to select creative name.
String set when creative is loaded and part of physical creative name.
Media agency to give creative agency a checklist of information needed
to name the attributes in this string. Agency returns it and media
agency then delivers a creative matrix with names/attributes identified.
• Creative agency delivers QA’d, approved creative, named by following
the conventions.
• Ad-servers and 4th party tags all follow the conventions.
creative matrix
checklist
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #7: CREATIVE GOAL
Definition
Purpose or intention of the creative.
Labeling Options
Awareness [AWR], Acquisition [ACQ], Coupon [CPN], Sample [SAM], Promotion [PRO], Customer
Program [CUS], Engagement [ENG], Other [OTH] + Multiple Goals [XXG]
Example
Brand_CreativeMessage_CrtvGoal_MediaType_CrtvDimensions
F1Bars_Swimsuit_AWR_BR_300x250
F1Bars_ClassReunion_CPN_BR_728x90
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
•
•
•
•
Creative goal to be determined by creative/media teams.
Creative goal can change by creative message.
String set when creative is loaded; part of physical creative name.
Media agency to give creative agency a checklist of information
needed to name the attributes in this string. Agency returns it and
media agency then delivers a creative matrix with names/attributes
identified.
• Creative agency delivers QA’d, approved creative, named following
conventions.
• Ad-servers and 4th party tags all follow the conventions.
Creative Goal
Abbr
Awareness
AWR
Acquisition
ACQ
Coupon
CPN
Sample
SAM
Promotion
PRO
Customer Program
CUS
Engagement
ENG
Other
OTH
Multiple types
XXG
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #8: MEDIA TYPE
Definition
Identifies the type of digital ad, added to creative name from a list of 14 options that sync with
Media Tools.
Labeling Options
Banner-Reach, Banner-Contextual/Engage, Banner-Acquisition, Banner-Traffic Driving, SEM-Network, SEMContextual, SEM-Video Search, Sponsorship/Content Integration, Social, Mobile, Gaming, DigitalVideo-Pre-Roll,
DigitalVideo-Content, Distribution/Branded Experiences, DigitalVideo-Overlays, + Multiple Types
Example
Media Type
Abbr
Media Type
Abbr
Brand_CrtvMsg_CrtvGoal_MediaType_CrtvDim
F1Bars_Swimsuit_AWR_BR_300x250
F1Bars_ClassReunion_CPN_BR_728x90
Banner-Reach
BR
Sponsorship/Content
Integration
SCI
BannerContextual/Engage
BCE
Social
S
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
Banner-Acquisition
BA
Mobile
M
Banner-Traffic
Driving
BTD
Gaming
G
SEM-Network
SEMN
DigitalVideo-Pre-Roll
DVP
SEM-Contextual,
SEMC
DigitalVideo-Content
DVC
SEM-Video Search
SEMV
Distribution/Branded
Experiences
DBE
Multiple types
XXM
DigitalVideoOverlays
DVO
• Media Types sync with Media Tools standard
definitions.
• Labeled in creative name.
• Marketing Mix Model dictates no standard
naming conventions for media type, as long as
we supply a key to what the labels mean.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #9: CREATIVE DIMENSIONS
Definition
The dimensions of the creative, in pixels and ‘width-x-height’ format.
Labeling Options
Standard IAB sizes and custom sizes as needed.
creative
name
field
Example
1) Brand_CrtvMsg_CrtvGoal_MediaType_CreativeDimensions
F1Bars_ClassReunion_CPN_BR_728x90
and
2) Adserver_Site_SiteSection_CreativeDimensions_notes
PR_Nick_ROS_300x250_companion banner
placement
name
field
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• Entered twice in DFA:
1) In creative name field
2) In placement name field
• Ad Dimensions selected from a pull-down menu
during campaign setup.
• Should not be adjusted.
• Don’t skip an attribute.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #10: SITE
Definition
Site or network where digital media impression will be served.
Labeling Options
• Site selected at campaign set-up.
• Want ability to report on sites by
their highest level and by their
individual, level. For example, all
Yahoo sites grouped and a drill
down to Yahoo Money, Yahoo
Sports, etc.
Example
Yahoo.com
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• Automatically pulled from the media buy into DFA reporting.
• Interested in reporting by the main URL of the site [e.g. the Network’s URL or Yahoo.com]
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #11: SITE SECTION
Definition
Defines, in broad terms, the kind of site placement that was specified in the buy.
Labeling Options
Need to create a list, similar to Div/BU/Brand that contains all the options. This list will change based on
media buys, so the list will need periodic updating.
Example
Adserver_Site_SiteSection_CreativeDimensions_notes
DC_Nick_ROS_300x250_companionbanner
DC_Yahoo_Contx_160x600_none
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• Manually added to placement name.
• Publishers enter this when implementing the buy.
• Pulling a report on this attribute will require parsing from
the placement name.
• Don’t skip an attribute.
• Full list of options to come.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Partial list options
Abbr
Run of Site
ROS
Contextual
Contx
Page Takeover
TkOv
Run of Section
ROE
Demo Takeover
DEM
Time Takeover
TIM
Preroll
PRE
Midroll
MID
Behavioral Targeting
BT
Additional site section naming options
exist, please label as appropriate.
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Attribute #12: AD FORMAT
Definition
The type/format of the creative ad unit.
Labeling Options
Flash, GIF, etc.
Standard, Default or Redirect
Example
.swf
.gif
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• The extension of the ad name: .swf, .gif, etc.
• Automatically labeled in DFA based on creative
file name.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attributes #13 & #14: CAMPAIGN START and END DATES
Definition
Identifies the start and end dates of a Media Campaign.
Labeling Options
Dates, selected in Media Visor when entering the Media Buy.
Example
MM/DD/YYYY
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• Also accessible in DFA under:
Manage Campaigns > Advertiser > Campaign > Media Plan > Schedule and Pricing
• Start and End dates should be set to reflect actual flighting with a small cushion.
Historically, start and end dates were often set using the full GMI fiscal year. This practice
should not continue. Please set up new campaigns with start and end dates that accurately
reflect the campaign.
• End date cannot extend beyond a GMI fiscal year.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #15: RUN DATE
Definition
DFA captures data daily, tracking the impressions, clicks and mapping conversions.
Labeling Options
Automatically generated on date impression served.
Example
MM/DD/YYYY
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
For GMI’s Marketing Mix Model, individual run
dates should be rolled up into weeks, beginning on
Sunday [MM/DD/YYYY] and ending on Saturday.
[Nielsen weeks.]
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #16: MARKET
Definition
Report on activity by standard DFA-defined DMAs.
Labeling Options
Automatically tracked by DFA
Example
New York, Los Angeles, etc.
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• DFA tracks market data in City, State, Zip
or DMA. GMI reporting should include
impressions, cost, CPM, Effective CPM,
Clicks and Click-through Rate by DMA.
• Analytic Partners is OK converting DMAs
[which are available in DFA] to Scantrack
Markets which the Marketing Mix Model
uses.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #17: IMPRESSIONS
Definition
An impression is one ad served to one ad slot in a webpage.
Labeling Options
Automatically tracked in DFA. Expressed in numbers.
Example
417,504 impressions served in NYC DMA for 1 week for
HNC campaign.
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
In Doubleclick for Advertisers and DART for Publishers, one
ad served to one ad slot in a webpage. (If the same ad is
displayed in two separate ad slots in a webpage, two
impressions are counted.) DART filters robotic activity and
records an impression when the ad servers determine
which ad to send. If the delivery is not successful due to an
interruption in the transaction, the impression is still
counted. An impression is recorded whether the user clicks
on the ad or not. Browser and proxy caching can, however,
lead to undercounting of impressions.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #18: MEDIA COST
Definition
Media cost is the total dollar amount paid for the actual impressions/clicks that have run in a
given time period.
Labeling Options
Media Costs tracked in DFA are not always exactly accurate [especially for over delivery [unpaid] and fixed
pricing media buys, for example]. Currently DFA data is appended with actual cost data from the agency. We
are testing the flighting and cap costs check boxes in DFA to see if those help deliver more accurate cost data
automatically. If so, we may be able to discontinue the time consuming append practice.
Example
A placement is booked to receive 1 million impressions at $3 CPM. The actual number of impressions
served for week 1 is 1,004,296 so the actual media cost is $3,012.89, based on the following formula:
(1,004,296 impressions ÷ 1000) × $3 = $3,012.89
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• The media cost for placements, based on the pricing
information entered for each placement, along with actual
performance.
• For example, a placement to receive 1 million impressions is
booked, and a CPM of $3 is set. The actual number of
impressions served is 1,004,296. The cost is $3012.89, based
on the following formula:
(1,004,296 impressions ÷ 1000) × $3 = $3012.89
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #19: CPM
Definition
CPM (Cost Per Thousand Impressions)
Labeling Options
CPM entered during campaign set up. Expressed in dollars per thousand impressions.
Example
$7 CPM means that $7 in media costs will be incurred
for each 1,000 impressions served.
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• Cost Per thousand impressions.
• The amount charged to the advertiser per 1,000
impressions.
• CPM is a standard pricing model for the web.
• M is the Roman numeral 1,000.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #20: EFFECTIVE CPM
Definition
eCPM: The cost per thousand impressions, based on the cost data that has been entered for each
placement.
Labeling Options
eCPM calculated. Expressed in dollars per thousand impressions. Media Costs affect eCPM
calculations, too so accuracy depends on accurate cost data.
Example
$7 eCPM means that $7 in media costs were incurred
for each 1,000 impressions served in that time period.
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• The cost per thousand impressions, based on the cost data that
has been entered for each placement, calculated as: Cost ÷
Impressions × 1000
• Effective CPM is relevant for placements with capped costs or a
fixed rate. If a placement has a fixed rate of $10,000 per month
and receives 500,000 impressions in a month, the effective CPM is
$20. If the placement receives 2 million impressions, effective CPM
is $5.
• Because DFA cannot accurately account for over delivery [unpaid]
of impressions and fixed price placements, the solution for getting
accurate Media Costs will affect eCPM.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #21: CLICKS
Definition
The number of times that users clicked on a creative during the specified date range.
Labeling Options
Automatically recorded and tracked in DFA.
Example
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
A click is recorded even if the user does not actually reach the landing page. For example, if a
user clicks on an ad, then closes the browser before the landing page loads, a click is still
recorded.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #22: CLICK THROUGH RATE
Definition
The percentage of impressions that result in users clicking an ad.
Labeling Options
Automatically calculated, recorded and tracked in DFA.
Example
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• Calculated as: (Clicks ÷ Impressions) × 100%. For example, if an ad delivers 500,000 impressions
and receives 6000 clicks, the click rate is 1.2%.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #23: Conversion (Post click/Post impression Action)
Definition
Floodlight tags in DFA allows advertisers to track and report on the actions of users
who visit their website after viewing or clicking on one of the advertiser's ads.
Features
De-dupes conversions across Network , container
tag for other tags, enable to optimize based on
creative’s ability to generate conversions, able to
pass values, look-back window on cookie and
remarketing.
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• Floodlight tags are optional and are used on
some campaigns based on campaign
objectives.
• Floodlight tags are shared across the network
and specific to the creative.
• Automatically reported on.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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Attribute #24: 4th Party Appends
Definition
Digital media is tagged with a variety of 4th party appends.
4th Party Appends at GMI
comScore, Nielsen, Compete, Quantcast, MaxPoint, Campaign tag for WebTrends/Unica
[conversion happening now], Google Analytics, etc.
Doubleclick Labeling Instructions
• Each 4th party append is different. See specific
instructions/agreements with each partner.
• Future: A universal tagging strategy to help manage
all tags.
Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.
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GMI Project Graffiti Contact Information
For questions, call:

Project Graffiti point people
Naomi Alford
Senior Media Planner
Naomi.Alford@genmills.com
763-764-2894

Melody Lentsch
Digital Strategist, GMI contract
Melody.Lentsch@genmills.com
612-207-1515
Media lead
Vanessa Reed
Media Content & Buying Director
Vanessa.Reed@genmills.com
763-764-2719

Relationship Marketing lead
Geoff Johnson
Director, Relationship Marketing
Geoff.Johnson@genmills.com
763-764-3384

CI/Marketing Mix Model lead
Todd Curtis
Senior Consumer Insights Manager
Todd.Curtis@genmills.com
763-764-6303
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Key to GMI Divisions > Business Units > Brands
See latest listing in companion Excel file: Graffiti_Labeling_DIVISION_BU_BRAND_DATE.xlsx
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GMI Data Flow for Marketing Mix Model
Project Graffiti
Updated November 1, 2011
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Purpose:
Establish and execute digital media data and reporting
requirements for the GMI Marketing Mix Model
Benefit:
Enable digital media data to flow into,
and actionable results to flow out of the Marketing Mix
Model .
Outcome:
Better understanding of digital media ROI and increased
knowledge of digital media impact.
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Data Flow & Reporting Priorities
GMI Marketing Mix Model



Automate and standardize data flow to minimize resources
required. Complete: October 1, 2011, DCLK now delivering
automated report on the 1st of every month for AP/CI download via
FTP.
Add market-level performance to Marketing Mix data. Complete
October 1, 2011
Ensure that Analytic Partners/CI receives digital media reporting by
week, by market. Currently comparing automated report to
Modem’s reports created by hand.
• For each:
Division|BusinessUnit|Brand|CampaignName|Creative Goal|CreativeVersion|AdType
• Of these metrics:
• Impressions
• Clicks
• Media Cost
• Effective CPM
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File layout for Marketing Mix Model
See Excel file: Graffiti_FileLayout_For_MMM _2011_08 _10.xlsx
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Project Graffiti Background
Updated November 1, 2011
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Today
Meeting objectives
 Endorsement of Project Graffiti goals, labeling guidelines and data
flow approach
 Input and ideas on improving labeling and data flow
 Agreement to begin Graffiti labeling immediately
Agenda
 What is Project Graffiti?
 Labeling Guidelines
• List of GMI attributes
• Labeling details for each attribute


Enabling data flow into the Marketing Mix Model
Discussion & next steps
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Project Graffiti
Objective:
Gain a better understanding of
digital media/creative ROI
and an increased knowledge of
digital marketing impact.
Strategy:
Enable more actionable and timely
digital results.
Tactic:
Establish a standard labeling protocol and
efficient data flow for all digital media.
Start with paid display advertising
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Graffiti: Project Charter
Project Graffiti definition
A collaborative effort to establish a standard labeling protocol and efficient data flow for all digital
media, enabling more actionable and timely digital results, which will result in better understanding of
digital creative/media ROI and an increased knowledge of digital marketing impact.
.
Benefits
 Higher-quality, more consistent data fed into Marketing Mix and other measurement tools
 Easier, faster data transfer into Marketing Mix and other measurement tools
 More actionable insights coming out of Marketing Mix and other measurement tools
 Shared learning and faster speed to market
 Time-savings at every point in the process; elimination of duplicated efforts
Key workstreams
1. Standard labeling protocol: Single set of labeling standards & processes that work for the
Marketing Mix model and other analytics streams and with many formats and partners.
2. Insight automation: Enable efficient and effective data flow from GMI digital media into
various analytics and reporting tools.
3. Labeling compliance: Incentives, communication and auditing progress.
4. Rollout: Labeling protocol and insight automation to extend beyond display to search, owned
and earned digital media.
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Framing the labeling and data flow issues
Steering committee considerations
Currently…
1.
What digital media attributes do we want to
capture?
Comprehensive list of attributes
proposed, most already being tracked
2.
How do we ensure and manage labeling
consistency?
Multiple approaches, inconsistency
across ad types, partners
3.
How do we automate data flow from where it
is captured to the analysis tools around the
enterprise? And immediately, to Analytics
Partners?
Manual, difficult send and manipulate
Multiple options on the table,
resources, funding required?
Immediate
Out of scope for now
4.
How and where should the data be stored?
5.
What reporting tools/analysis engines should
be available?
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Offsite, decentralized, some attributes
not stored long-term
Marketing Mix top priority, but many
others want to use the data
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Today’s display landscape
Partner agencies: Modem, Zenith, FRWD, Zeus Jones, others
Inputs
Flash Banners
Video Pre-roll
Rich Media
Other
Multiple tags needed to capture: 1) Delivery verification & media properties, 2) Audience analysis, 3) Post-view activity
Data collection
Doubleclick, Marin, PointRoll, Vindico, comScore, Quantcast, Webtrends, others
Data flow
Analysis
Attributes not collected in a
consistent GMI format
Data transfer not automated
and timing not synchronized
Marketing Mix Model
CBU
Other brands
Relationship
Marketing
Insights
Metrics and reporting not easy
to access
Analysis, trailing indicators
Results of past events for future decision-making
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Reporting, leading indicators
Actionable insights for real-time optimization
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So far…
Input from:
Findings:
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Graffiti steering committee
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GMI Finance
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CI
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IS
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Sourcing
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Analytic Partners
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Google
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Modem
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Zenith
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FRWD
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Christina Alm

Matt Wilson
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Kelly Ask
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Everyone is working on aspects of the labeling
and data flow issues
General consensus on objectives & strategies,
differing tactical approaches and time horizons
Alignment on attributes that should be tracked
Lack of clarity about what is already being labeled
and tracked
Multiple partners running digital media
Lack of alignment on whether single solutions can
work for all
Getting data from ad servers into analysis tools is
arduous
Access to actionable reporting desired, none
currently utilized
More GMI access to data desired
Partners looking to GMI for labeling guidance
Agreement that data for Marketing Mix is highest
priority
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Project Graffiti Steering Committee
Established March 2011
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Vanessa Reed
Jim Cuene
Geoff Johnson
Todd Curtis
Tim Robinson
Brad Hiranaga
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Christina Alm
Naomi Alford
Christine Eaton
Matt Wilson
Melody Lentsch
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What happens next
Project Graffiti follow-up
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Future considerations and discussions
Project Graffiti
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Quarterly agency meetings to optimize labeling and data flow
Implementing labeling incentives, audit process and compliance
Applying labeling guidelines to search, video, earned and owned
media
Requirements to deepen insights from the Marketing Mix Model
• Volume differences require sophisticated test matrix: market variation,
enough impressions, different timeframes
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Digital media data flow into the GMI household level database
Communicating digital refinements to the brands
Flow of insights from GMI analysis tools back to digital partners
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