News Release FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: John Fougere

News Release
Monday, November 19, 2012
Contact: John Fougere
(573) 522-5058
Missouri Arts Council selects recipients of 2013
Missouri Arts Awards
JEFFERSON CITY – The Missouri Arts Council today announced its selection of the
recipients of the 2013 Missouri Arts Awards. The Missouri Arts Council is a division of the Missouri
Department of Economic Development (DED).
“This is the 30th annual honor for individuals and organizations that have made profound and
lasting contributions to the cultural and artistic climate of the state,” said Beverly Strohmeyer, executive
The winners by category are:
 Arts Education: St. Louis ArtWorks
Innovative program that provides work experience, arts education, and life skills training through
paid apprenticeships in the arts for underserved St. Louis-area teenagers
 Arts Organization: Mount Vernon Regional Arts Council
Volunteer group founded in 2007 to bring the arts to 271,000 people in Mount Vernon and five
surrounding counties through festivals, community theater, and a new arts and recreation center
 Creative Community: City of Webster Groves
116-year-old inner-ring St. Louis suburb that is home to public art, galleries, arts education
organizations, festivals, and performing groups including Opera Theatre of St. Louis
 Individual Artist: Vesta Johnson, Kirkwood
Master old-time fiddler born and reared in north central Missouri who has performed and taught in
Missouri and nationwide since she learned to play the fiddle at age 7 in 1929
 Leadership in the Arts: Pat Jordan, Kansas City
Advocate of the city’s African-American artistic heritage, a prime mover in the resurrection of the
1912 Gem Theater, currently a co-chair of the Mayor’s Task Force for the Arts
News Release
 Philanthropy: Arts and Education Council, St. Louis
The only umbrella arts organization in the St. Louis region that operates entirely on private funds,
having raised more than $100 million since it was founded in 1963
 Lifetime Achievement: Henry Bloch, Kansas City
Philanthropist and arts leader who for more than 30 years has supported with funds and personal
time institutions such as the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art and Kansas City Symphony
The awards will officially be presented in a ceremony on February 6, 2013 at the Capitol
Rotunda in Jefferson City. Awards recipients will receive original artwork created by
KennethMarineGlass of Hollister. Awards recipients are selected from public nominations by an
independent panel of Missouri citizens who are distinguished representatives of the arts community
throughout the state. 2013 panelists included:
Cynthia Cartwright, chair; vice chair of Missouri Arts Council and Cultural Trust Board
Gene Dobbs Bradford, St. Louis; executive director, Jazz St. Louis (2011 Arts Organization
Jo Anne Grey, St. Joseph; arts advocate
Marie Hunter, Columbia; arts advocate (2010 Leadership in the Arts Award)
Josie Mai, Carthage; associate professor, Missouri Southern State University
Ben Martin, Lee’s Summit; president, Summit Theatre Group
Betty Schaper, Farmington; retired executive director, Mineral Area Arts Council (2011
Leadership in the Arts Award)
About the Missouri Arts Council
The Missouri Arts Council provides support to nonprofit organizations through grants that meet our
strategic goals:
 Increase participation in the arts in Missouri
 Grow Missouri’s economy using the arts
 Strengthen Missouri education through the arts
The Missouri Arts Council awards grants to organizations to stimulate the growth, development, and
appreciation of the arts in Missouri. This funding makes possible quality arts programming to
communities throughout Missouri. In addition to financial assistance, the Missouri Arts Council
provides expertise in community development, fundraising, marketing, grant writing, arts education,
artistic disciplines (visual arts, music, literature, theater, dance, festivals, and film/media), and more.