THE ANIMAL KINGDOM Chapter 2 – Study Guide

Chapter 2 – Study Guide
Animals without a backbone are called invertebrates. The largest animal group is
made up of the invertebrates.
A sponge is the simplest kind of invertebrate, and its body does not have
Animals with a backbone are vertebrates. Amphibians, reptiles, birds, and
mammals are all different examples of vertebrates.
Animals, such as snakes, that warm their bodies in the sun are called coldblooded.
The job of the muscular system is to move a body’s bones.
The nervous system is made up of the brain, spinal cord, nerves, and sense
organs. The five senses (sight, hearing, taste, touch, and smell) are all part of the
nervous system.
A life cycle is an organism’s birth, growth, reproduction, and death.
A life span is how long an organism is expected to live.
Animals that have hollow bones and are warm-blooded vertebrates are called
An endoskeleton is an internal supporting structure.
An amphibian is an example of a vertebrate.
A shark is an example of a cartilaginous fish.
The respiratory system helps to put oxygen in blood cells and remove waste gas.
A sea star reproduces through regeneration.
A jellyfish is an example of a cnidarians.
Animals are divided into two main groups – vertebrates or invertebrates.
If a vertebrate’s muscular system stopped working it would no longer be able to
use its bones or move its body parts. The animal would die.
The five stages of a butterfly’s complete metamorphosis are:
They lay eggs
Eggs hatches into larva
Larva eats
Larva forms a pupa
Adult butterfly hatches
The circulatory system moves blood through the body.
The penguin reproduces through the development of hatching eggs.
An echinoderm is an example of an invertebrate.
A shark and a gold fish have a backbone in common.
Budding is a process in which an animal reproduces by growing offspring on its
body that later break off.
If a vertebrate animal’s digestive system stopped working it would no long be
able to digest food for energy and it would die.