SOMERSET AREA ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS

advertisement
SOMERSET AREA ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS
* MAPLE RIDGE ELEMENTARY (K – 2) *
* EAGLE VIEW ELEMENTARY (3 – 5) *
TO PARENTS OF SOMERSET AREA ELEMENTARY SCHOOL CHILDREN
APRIL 2013
DATES TO REMEMBER
Monday, April 1
Tuesday, April 2
Tuesday, April 2
Wednesday, April 3
Wednesday, April 3
Wednesday, April 3
Thursday, April 4
Thursday, April 4
Friday, April 5
Friday, April 5
Monday, April 8
Monday, April 8
Tuesday, April 9
Wednesday, April 10
Thursday, April 11
Friday, April 12
Tuesday, April 16
Wednesday, April 17
Wednesday, April 17
Thursday, April 18
Thursday, April 18
Friday, April 19
Friday, April 19
Monday, April 22
Tuesday, April 23
Wednesday, April 24
Wednesday, April 24
Friday, April 26
Spring Break – NO SCHOOL
CLASSES RESUME/SPIRIT WEEK
Hunting for great PSSA scores. Wear camo.
Taking tests are no sweat. Wear sweats.
Kindergarten Registration Packets Due Back to Maple Ridge Office
PTA Meeting – Maple Ridge All-Purpose Room – 6:00 p.m.
Students will soar on the tests. Wear ORANGE & BLACK.
Bookmobile Visit – Maple Ridge – 10:15 – 11:15 a.m.
Our scores will cause a blackout. Wear BLACK.
Report Cards Issued
Students will be successful on the tests. Dress for success;
wear your best clothes to school.
School Board Meeting – Administration Office – 7:30 p.m.
PSSA Testing – Math – Grades 3, 4 and 5
PSSA Testing – Reading – Grades 3, 4 and 5
PSSA Testing – Math – Grades 3, 4 and 5
PSSA Testing – Reading – Grades 3, 4 and 5
PSSA Testing – Math – Grades 3, 4 and 5
PSSA Testing – Reading – Grades 3, 4 and 5
Mobile Dentist Visit – Maple Ridge
Mobile Dentist Visit – Eagle View
Bookmobile Visit – Maple Ridge – 10:15 – 11:15 a.m.
Third grade Strings program – Eagle View gym – 9:45 a.m.
PTA Variety Show – EV Stage – 6:00 p.m.
Earth Day
PSSA Testing - Science – Grade 4
PSSA Testing – Science – Grade 4
Bookmobile Visit – Eagle View – 10:15 – 11:00 a.m.
Planned Early Student Dismissal – 12:35 p.m.
PSSA BREAKFAST
Being well-rested and eating a good breakfast is very important on testing days.
Free breakfast will be provided to all Eagle View students on April 9, 10, 11, 12, 16, and 17.
LOOKING AHEAD…
Tuesday, May 7
Wednesday, May 8
Friday, May 10
Friday, May 10
Friday, May 10
Monday, May 13 – May 17
Thursday, May 16
.
Friday, May 24
Maple Ridge 2nd graders to Eagle View for Orientation
Maple Ridge 2nd graders to Eagle View for Orientation
Act 80 Day – NO SCHOOL FOR STUDENTS
2013-14 Kindergarten Student Assessments – Maple Ridge
Last Names A–G – 8:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
Last Names H–R – 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Last Names S–Z – 1:00 p.m. to 2:30 p.m.
Songfest @ Rockwood– Select 5th grade participants
PTA Scholastic Book Fair – Eagle View Lobby
Eagle View 4th and 5th grade Band and Orchestra Concert –
Eagle View Gym – 7 p.m.
Planned Early Student Dismissal – 12:35 p.m.
Monday, May 27
Saturday, June 1
Monday, June 3
Tuesday, June 4
Wednesday, June 5
Memorial Day Holiday – NO SCHOOL
Somerset Schools Picnic Day @ IDLEWILD & SOAKZONE
Kindergarten Graduation (rms. 102, 112, 114, 117) – 12:30 p.m.
Maple Ridge All-Purpose Room
Kindergarten Graduation (rms. 110, 111, 113, 116) – 12:30 p.m.
Maple Ridge All-Purpose Room
Last Student Day
FROM THE PRINCIPALS’ DESKS:
With spring time, it can be challenging to keep children focused on learning. What can you do to make school
a top priority for your children? Keep these simple ideas in mind – they’re useful at any time of the year.
Make attendance job #1. Let your youngsters know that unless they’re sick, they must go to school. Try to
schedule routine dentist and doctor appointments before or after school hours. If possible, take family
vacations during school breaks. Tip: Give awards for perfect attendance each month. Try a “Job Well Done”
certificate or a coupon good for a night of bowling, movie or something special.
Show you care. Want your children to know that you’re interested in their learning? Talk about their school
activities and projects. Attend as many school events as you can. If homework and after-school activities
conflict, speak up: “I know you have baseball or soccer practice this evening, but homework comes first. After
you finish, I’ll take you to practice.”
Keep it upbeat. Try to set a positive example for your children, even when your own day has been difficult.
Instead of saying, “I had a hard day at work. I’ll never get my project done,” try, “Work was hard today, but I
made some progress on my project.” If you show a positive attitude about your work, your children may feel
better about their own.
Beat the morning rush. A calm and happy school morning begins the night before. Go to bed knowing
everything is in order with these tips: Check the weather forecast and help your child choose appropriate
clothing and shoes. Have him/her place the book bag by the door. Be sure they have their homework, lunch
money, musical instruments and any signed notes. Together, plan breakfast, and pack a healthy snack or
lunch. Quiz your child for an upcoming test one last time. Note: In the morning, set the oven timer to go off
five minutes before your child has to leave. That will be the signal to put on shoes and jackets and head out
the door.
Classroom Placement for the 2013-2014 School Year:
Requests for specific classroom placements will not be accepted. Parents may explain the
learning needs of their children in writing to Mr. Curry or Mr. Fish by June 5, 2013. The
principals, counselors and other school team members will consider this information as
student placements for the 2013-14 school year are finalized. Requests for a specific
teacher or correspondence received after the deadline will not be considered.
Sincerely,
Eric Curry
Erick Fish
Download
Related flashcards
Create Flashcards