Uploaded by Manohar. K.M

2019 - MGMT-6087 - MODULE 12 - CHAPTER 13 - 10 QUESTIONS - SIX SIGMA1

MGMT-6087 - Quality Management
Student Name
Manohar Kota Muralidhar
Student Number
In-Class/Hand-in Assignment
Module 12 – Chapter 13
Six Sigma
Note: (This assignment contains 10 questions; the first 3 are to be answered in
detail and the other 7 can be answered briefly in the given spaces.)
What distinguishes Six Sigma from traditional continuous improvement?
Six sigma mainly focuses on the on loss of the company. It is famous for being well
ordered and data driven mainly deals with the defects and failures of the company. The
main aim of the six sigma in any operation is to remove any defect occurred. Defect in
the manufacturing or the operational process Finlay leads to the loss of the company. The
main reason for these defects is the lack of training and knowledge with the employees.
This can be avoided by proper training of the employees with green belt in six sigma
which will eventually improve service and the quality of the product. But traditional
continues improvements manly focuses on gradual improvement here till the full
improvement is done their will be loss for the company.
Describe the ‘define’ phase of the DMAIC process. What are the four parts of the
‘define’ phase?
DMAIC refers to Design, Measure, Act, Improve and control. This is the six-sigma tool
with mainly focuses on tracking and identifying the areas of improvements. The first
component in DMAIC deals with the design, which aims to identify the clearly defines the
problem. The main goal of this design is to obtain customers quality satisfaction. And full
fill thir expectations.
The four parts of the define process are as follows: 
Project charter
Critical to quality issues
Defining project boundaries
Process mapping
MGMT-6087 - Quality Management
What are the titles and roles of the key players in Six Sigma efforts?
Executive- The most senior and the experienced person in the six sigma hirrarchy. With
the most training and experience.
Champion- the next senior level after the executive is the champion this is the critical role
at a senior or the middle executive level.
Mater black belt- the experts in methodology, resource and practices is called as the
master black belt. They are responsible for training the black belts.
Black Belt- they are the full-time professionals the main responsibility of them is to lead
the team in the six sigma projects.
Green Belt - there are mainly the pert time professionals who have a limited knowledge
of six sigma. They are trained to solve the problems using the techniques of DMAIC
Yellow belt - these are the basic matrix certifications and improvement methods of six
sigma. they can implement the tactics of six sigma in the organization in which they are
1) What is the name of the person, the company name, and the decade in which
Six Sigma was made a registered trademark?
a. – Bill Smith
b. - Motorola
c. - 1993
2) What is another term or comparison for Six Sigma?
a. – Lean six sigma
3) How many PPM defects is Six Sigma level?
a. – 3.4 defects per PPM
4) What are the 4/5 key roles in Six Sigma?
a. – Executive
b. – Champion
c. – Black belt
d. – Master Black Belt
5) What are the 5 stages described to implementing Six Sigma?
a. – Defining the problem
b. – Measuring the process
c. – Analyzing the reason for issues
MGMT-6087 - Quality Management
d. – Improve the process
e. – Control the process
6) What are the 3/4 phases of the ‘Define’ stage?
a. – Project map
b. – Process scope
c. – Identifying stakeholders
7) What are 3/6 reasons listed for failure in Six Sigma?
a. – Wrong Scope statements
b. – Wrong project selection
c. – lack of training to the employees