psych218 ind2

find more resources at
Psych 218
Day 11 –
Death and the Individual 2: Personality
- Individual differences (everyone responds to things differently)
Enneagram – personality system based on 9 different personality types
- Maps onto cross cultural works on culture (can relate the 9 core values to the
9 main personality types)
9 Personality types – Know the types by their numbers for exam
- Type 1 relates to question 1 on the sheet, type 2 to question 2, ect… (study
- Death can take any of these forms in anyone, but there is one form prominent
in each type
Type 1: Perfectionist - Death is a mistake
- Good at details (advanced care directives) – planners
- Order is important
- Hard time dealing with anger (complicates the grief process – control is
important but anger is uncontrollable and messy)
- Hard time dealing with diversity and variation of how people deal with
death/grief/mourning (there is a certain way to do things – mourn, grief)
- The messiness of death is the problem
Type 2: Helper – Death is a need to be met
- Good at supporting others
- Focused on relationships
- Hard time taking care of themselves (can burn out)
- At risk of guilt tripping others if not feeling appreciated (appreciation is very
Type 3: Performer – Death is a failure
- Good at leaving a legacy for the survivors (people will remember me when
I’m gone – want to be remembered)
- Goals, honours, achievements are the main theme
- Hard time getting older, weaker, slower etc… You start to decline from your
peak (decline is an issue)
- At what price do they risk excellence? Spend so much time achieving
greatness (relationships may suffer)
find more resources at
find more resources at
Type 4: Romantic – Death is abandonment
- Good at going into emotional depth (appear as a safe space for grievers –
perception that 4’s are not scared by emotion and understand sadness)
- Focus is all about feelings
- Can become obsessibly consumed by emotion (no longer feel the emotion,
but become it – at risk for self harm)
Type 5: Observer – Death is a mystery
- Relatively emotionally stable (good at providing perspective – can remain
emotionally detached from the situation)
- Focus is on ideas
- Shy away from all feeling, and try to intellectualize their own loss (defense
- Want time alone to think (grief may lead them to be more isolated then
- At their best they can provide great perspective but if the emotion gets to
high they become detached because they cant deal with it
Type 6: Questioner/Loyalist – Death is a betrayal
- Like a sense of allies (posies)
- Focus on security and feeling safe
- Not risk takers, not doing dangerous things, safety is important (may live
longer as a result)
- Loyalist aspect tends to hang in there (if you have their back they got you –
hang in through tougher times)
- Death of someone in their group is a big hit (leads to vulnerability – the
world feels unsafe – survivors are untrustworthy)
o May become even more reluctant to take risk (the world feels unsafe)
Type 7: Enthusiast – Death is a lack of fun
- Good at making the most of life (have the fewest regrets)
- Focus on possibility (opportunity)
- Genuine optimism in their world views (good at helping others “unstick”
from their struggles)
- Negative emotion makes them uncomfortable, avoid negative emotions (they
don’t get it)
- More likely to take risks (opposite of 6’s)
Type 8: Asserter – Death is an opponent
- Like being in charge (delegate the duties – they know how to do it right –
o Good if people are incapacitated and decisions need to be made
- Focus on control
- Easily express anger, can come off as blunt and offensive (can attack people
they blame – hold grudges)
find more resources at
find more resources at
Grief is hard for them because they’ll feel weak so they express anger instead
(anger feels more dominant, controlled)
Type 9: Peacemaker – Death is a disharmony
- Want harmony and to ensure that people have to get along (invest energy to
do so)
- Focus on comfort
- Often perceived as good listeners (see all say nothing – just take things in)
- Have a tendency to dissociate (remove their mind from the situation when
conflicts get to high)
- Don’t give grief or anger directly (because it disrupts the harmony)
find more resources at
Related flashcards
Create Flashcards