Chairs Wisdom Collaborative

Chairs Wisdom Collaborative
Please suggest a different icon if you don’t like that one!!
Friday, September 10, 2010 Noon – 1:00 p.m.
Present: Orn Bodvarsson (Management), Tony Hansen (EAS), Patricia Hughes (Economics), Chris Inkster
(LRTS), Steve Wagner (Political Science), Gary Whitford (Social Work), Vicky Williams (Academic Learning
Center ), Dan Gregory (Interim Associate Provost, Sponsored Programs and Graduate Studies), Lalita
Subrahmanyan (CETL).
Discussion ensued around meeting with Provost and reorganization.
o The Chairs Wisdom Collaborative can help update each other about proactive actions
being taken by faculty to address the models and give input.
o The Chairs, as a group, with several groups of faculty behind them, can be instrumental
in moving the conversation forward.
o Chairs can help define what functions need to be performed regardless of the particular
model and the organizational structure needed for those functions to be successful.
Consensus emerged regarding the need to continue the conversation along two lines:
o Reorganization: Raise questions about process, about the models, provide feedback to
the Provost.
o Chair Functions: What chairs do, how they can do them best, what advise can we give to
new chairs, what is the nature of the unique role played by chairs at SCSU.
Need for another meeting with the Provost: Lalita will arrange this with the Provost’s office.
Announcement of an important CETL Workshop:
o Date and Time: Wednesday, October 13th, 2010 3:00 to 4:30 p.m.
o Topic: Policies and procedures for optimal departmental functioning and the Role of the
Chair including clarification of Article 20 of the IFO Contract.
o Facilitators: Todd DeVriese and Tom Hergert
o Location: Voyageurs South, Atwood Memorial Center
Respectfully Submitted,
Lalita Subrahmanyan