REQUIRED FIRST-YEAR TEACHERS MEETINGS
2015-2016
Secondary Teachers
Genesis Education Center, Room 601
Tues. August 4
Wed. August 5
8:30 – 2:30
Tuesday, August 11
3:00-4:00 (NSD)
Wednesday, August 26
4:00 – 7:00
District Orientation – Getting Started
New Teacher Welcome
APS 1: Long-Range Planning
APS 10: Fulfilling Professional Responsibilities
Instructional Practices/Other Topics:
 Student Learning Objectives (SLOs)
 Long-Range Planning Template
Required Reading
 Teach Like a Champion-Chapters 1-2
Wednesday, September 2
4:00 – 7:00
Classroom Management
APS 8: Maintaining an Environment
that Promotes Learning
APS 9: Managing the Classroom
Instructional Practices/Other Topics:
 Student Learning Objectives (SLOs)
 Positive Behavior Interventions
Required Reading
 Teach Like a Champion Chapter 5-7
Wednesday, September 23
4:00 – 7:00
APS 2: Short Range Planning (Unit Work Sample)
APS 3: Planning Assessments and Using Data
Instructional Practices/Other Topics:
 Student Learning Objectives (SLOs)
 Analysis of Assessments
 State Assessments/District Assessments
Required Reading
 Teach Like a Champion Chapter 9
Wednesday, October 21
4:00 – 7:00
APS 4 – 7: Classroom Instruction
Instructional Practices/Other Topics:
 Student Learning Objectives (SLOs)
 Building Relationships with Parents and Students
 Effective Communication
Required Reading
 Teach Like a Champion Chapter 3-4
Wednesday, November 18
4:00 – 7:00
APS 4 – 7: Classroom Instruction
Instructional Practices/Other Topics:
 Student Learning Objectives (SLOs)
Required Reading
 Teach Like a Champion Chapter 3-4
Wednesday, December 9
4:00 – 7:00
Instructional Practices
 Differentiated Instruction
 Additional topics
Required Reading
 Teach Like a Champion Chapter 8
Wednesday, January 20
4:00 – 7:00
Contextual Teaching and Learning
Project-Based Learning
Wednesday, February 17
4:00 – 7:00
Wednesday, March 16
4:00 – 7:00
Professional Learning Communities (PLCs)
 Protocols
Teaching the Exceptional Child
 Special Education-Laws/Procedures
 Gifted/Talented
 Guest Speakers
Wednesday, April 20
4:00 – 7:00
Text-based discussions/presentations on assigned readings
Wednesday, May 4
4:00 – 7:00
Portfolio Sharing
End of Year Celebration
Download

REQUIRED FIRST-YEAR TEACHERS MEETINGS