2014 Llandyfaelog Show cup winners
Members and officials of the Llandyfaelog show will long bless the day that an agreement
was reached to locate this increasingly popular event at the Ffos Las Racecourse facility.
Even allowing for the generosity and goodwill of committee members who had each year
found a new site for this annual attraction the venue for the past three years has shown itself
to be first class in every respect.
In weather conditions of the “Indian summer” category the 109th show probably enjoyed an
all time record attendance with breeders and exhibitors of all classes of livestock being well
pleased with the outcome as were the huge number of trades people whose stands turned out
to be a hive of activity.
From the horse section the supreme championship went to Anthony Szopa with his handsome
four year old bay Shire gelding, Cefn Machen Andy Bach, ahead of Chloe Jones with her 7
year old chestnut Hunter, Stradey Hanna, shown under saddle. Andrew Green was given the
Best Cob award for his Section D winner, the three year old chestnut filly, Edmor Manon
Heading the pony section was Debbie Jones with her Section B winner, the 11 year old
chestnut brood mare, Cadlan Valley Josephine followed by the John Davies partnership with
his daughter, Valmai Thomas, and their three year old bay filly, the Riding Pony Breeding
champion, Mount Pleasant Mountain Rose.
The prestigious champion of champions cattle award in the Holstein section went to the home
bred qualifier from Elwyn and Cheryl Thomas, Gatrog Serge Lavender, and the “other
breeds” were headed by the Wilson family with the Jersey third calver, Bluegrass Exitation
Prissy Polly.
Beef cattle prizewinners were the Griffiths of Llangain with their 18 month old Limousin
bull, Deri Ironman, and the commercial trophy went to Eddie Morgan and his son, Jack, of
Cilycwm with a superb black pair comprising a 18 month old British Blue x Limousin steer
matched with a 17 month old Limousin x heifer.
Successful young handler, Tomos Griffiths, was delighted to collect his first championship
from the well supported sheep section with his Suffolk ewe lamb and best from the busy
companion dog show was given to Sandra Williams with Shannon, her 13 month old
Burmese Mountain Dog.
The Show Ambassadors were Bethan Phillips and Harry Millin, both of St Ismaels YFC and
this year’s President was a former chairman and long time supporter of the show, Mr Idris
Morgan, who expressed his most sincere appreciation to everyone who had contributed in any
way to the remarkable success of the occasion.
Main award winners:
Supreme horse and Shire, Anthony Szopa.
Reserve supreme and Hunter, under saddle, Chloe Jones.
Supreme pony and Welsh Pony, Section B, Debbie Jones.
Reserve supreme pony and Riding Pony Breeding, Davies & Thomas.
Hunter, in hand, Richard and Delyth Thomas.
Welsh Cob, Section D, Andrew Green, Local, Hannah John.
Welsh Pony (Cob type), Section C, Benjamin Bowler.
Welsh Mountain Pony, Section A, Heather and Stan Strelley.
Welsh part- bred, Jane Williams.
Mountain and Moorland, Samantha Pursey.
Arab, Alan Hackley.
Palomino, Ffion Randall.
Coloured, Claire Edwards.
Children’s Riding Pony, Ruth Williams.
Shetland, Howell Thomas.
Veteran, Sophie Radnedge.
Donkey, Lillie Jones.
Hereford, Alun Thomas.
Limousin, Terry, Dawn and Richard Griffiths.
British Blue, Jade Phillips.
Commercial, Eddie Morgan, Local, Clive Thomas.
Best pair and group of three, Eddie Morgan.
Holstein, also Local and Home-bred, Eifion and Mary Jones. Champion of champions, cow,
Elwyn and Cheryl Thomas, heifer, Thomas and Staples.
Other Dairy breed, Hefin Wilson, Home bred, Huw and Jennifer Evans.Champion of
champions, cow, Hefin Wilson, heifer, Huw and Jennifer Evans.
Supreme, Suffolk and YFC, Tomos Griffiths.
Reserve supreme and Other Hill breed, Ken and Julie Earle.
Other Lowland breed, Derek and Sandra Brigginshaw.
Welsh Mountain, Gethin Matthews.
Beulah/ Speckled Face, Iestyn Richards.
Balwen, Doris Jones.
Badger Face/ Torddu, Gwyn King
Texel, Rosie Davies.
Beltex, Adrian Evans.
Cross bred, R and B Thomas.
Young handler, Millie Hughes- Butterfield.
Best in show, Sandra Williams.
Vegetables and the Centenary trophy to a local exhibitor, Ray Wheatland.
Flowers, Andrew Davies, chrysanths, Eifion Gravell.
Floral Art and best exhibit, J Banner.
Cookery, Rose Morris.
Preserves, Helen Willets.
Wine, Keith Jones.
Craft, Jan Roberts.
Sticks and rural craft, Vic Thomas.
Photography, Jim Hine.
Best exhibit, Schools (under 16 years) and YFC, Caryl Jones.
Inter-schools, Llangunnor, under 13 years, Ffion Gibbon.

2014 Llandyfaelog Show Cup Winners